1. Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 16-17, 19, 22, 26, 29, 35, 37-39, 41, 43, 45, 60 & 61 filed 9/16/24 are present in this application.
2. Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 26, 29, 35, 37-39, 41, 43, 45 & 61); and the following species, without traverse in the reply filed on 3/22/2010 is acknowledged.
Species I: Claim 29, drawn to 20-42 serine repeats.
Species II: Claim 35, drawn to C-terminal portion of SRRM2 comprises a peptide
encoding amino acids 2458-2752 of SEQ ID NO. 1.
Species III: Claims 38-39, drawn to valosin-containing protein (VCP) according
to SEQ ID NO. 38.
3. Claims withdrawn:
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 16-17, 19, 22 & 60 and non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
4. Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), filed 3/16/22, is acknowledged.
5. Drawings
The drawings filed on 9/16/24 are acknowledged.
6. Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
7. IDS filed 9/16/24 is acknowledged. A signed copy of the IDS is provided with this Office Action.
8. Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 26, 29, 35, 37-39, 41, 43, 45, 60 & 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 26, 29, 35, 37-39, 41, 43, 45, 60 & 61 of the instant are drawn to the following genus claims.
26. A composition for targeting a tau aggregates comprising a fusion peptide having: a first domain comprising a tau targeting motif comprising an amino acid sequence encoding at least one polyserine repeat; a second domain encoding a heterologous peptide that inhibits tau aggregates.
27-28. (canceled)
29. The composition of claim 26, wherein said polyserine repeat comprises a polyserine repeat selected from: one or more domains containing between 10-20 consecutive serine residues one or more domains containing at least 20 consecutive serine residues; one or more domains between 20 and 42 consecutive serine residues; one or more domains between 20 and 50 consecutive serine residues; and one or more domains containing at least 50 or more consecutive serine residues; one or more domains containing a polyserine repeat between 20 and 42 consecutive serine residues; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domains; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domain comprising a peptide domain having at least 75% serine residues; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domain comprising a peptide domain having between 50-99% serine residues; at least one polyserine repeat and at least one non-consecutive serine repeat; and a polyserine repeat according to SEQ ID NO. 29.
30-34. (canceled)
35. The composition of claim 26, wherein said polyserine repeat comprises a polyserine repeat selected from: the C-terminal portion of SRRM2 according to the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO. 40, or 46; the C-terminal portion of PNN according to the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO. 27; a peptide or fragment containing a one or more polyserine repeats derived from SETDIA according to the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO. 25, or C-terminal portion of SRRM2 comprises a peptide encoding amino acids 2458-2752 of SEQ ID NO. 1.
36. (canceled)
37. The composition of claim 26, wherein the polyserine repeat comprises a polyserine repeat according to SEQ ID NO. 29.
38. The composition of claim 26, wherein said heterologous peptide is selected from: valosin-containing protein (VCP), transportin-3 (TNPO3), Fas associated factor family member 2 (FAF2), or a fragment or variant thereof.
39. The composition of claim 38, wherein the heterologous VCP comprises the amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO. 38, or a fragment or variant thereof.
40. (canceled)
41. The composition of claim 38, wherein the heterologous TNPO3 comprises the amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO. 39, or a fragment or variant thereof.
42. (canceled)
43. The composition of claim 38, wherein the heterologous FAF2 peptide comprises the amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO. 44, or a fragment or variant thereof.
44. (canceled)
45. The composition of claim 26, wherein said heterologous peptide comprises FAF2Min according to SEQ ID NO. 45, or a fragment or variant thereof.
46-59. (canceled)
61. The composition of claim 26, further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
“A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) (“In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus.”). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119, F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1405 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
MPEP § 2163 further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the biomolecule, it is "not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed biomolecule.”
“The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice …, reduction to drawings …, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” MPEP 2163.
Furthermore, a “‘representative number of species’ means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure ‘indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].’ See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) (‘[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.’). ‘A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.’ In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” MPEP 2163.
In University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has held that “A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials”. As indicated in MPEP § 2163, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In addition, MPEP § 2163 states that a representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The factors considered in the Written Description requirement are (1) level of skill and knowledge in the art, (2) partial structure, (3) physical and/or chemical properties, (4) functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the (5) method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient." MPEP § 2163.
In the instant case, there is no structure associated with function with regard to the members of genus of composition(s) for targeting a tau aggregates from any fusion peptide having: wherein the first domain with no apparent structure of tau targeting motif comprising any amino acid sequence encoding at least one polyserine repeat from any sequence; a second domain encoding any heterologous peptide that inhibits tau aggregates, without the clear definition of the inhibitor(s).
No information, beyond the characterization of a few species: A composition for targeting a tau aggregates comprising a fusion peptide having: a first domain comprising a tau targeting motif comprising an amino acid sequence encoding at least one polyserine repeat; a second domain encoding a heterologous peptide that inhibits tau aggregates, wherein the polyserine repeat of the first domain of the fusion peptide includes: the C-terminal portion of SRRM2 comprising a second domain having activity toward tau aggregates components comprising a valosin-containing protein (VCP) (SEQ ID NO. 38), transportin-3 (TNPO3) (SEQ ID NO. 39) or a Fas associated factor family member 2 (FAF2) (SEQ ID NO. 44) or FAF2Min of SEQ ID NO. 45. NO FRAGMENTS OR VARIANTS ARE DESCRIBED IN THE COMPOSITION CONSTRUCT(S).
The genus of compositions for targeting a tau aggregates comprising domains one and two and polyserine repeat(s) without the associated length and/or sequence required in the claimed invention is an extremely large structurally and functionally variable genus. While the argument can be made that the recited genus of polypeptides is adequately described by the disclosure of the structures of SEQ ID NO: 29, 38, 39, 44 & 45, with specific structures having the associated function/activity, since one could use structural homology to isolate those polypeptides and the encoding polynucleotides recited in the claims. The art clearly teaches the “Practical Limits of Function Prediction”:
(a) Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and (iv) conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that “Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Applicants’ are respectfully directed to the problems associated EC Classification in the section “Transferring the EC Classification enzyme to Non-Enzyme Comparisons”; pages 101-102 and Fig. 2a)-b), highlighting the structural and functional heterogeneity based on EC Classification numbers; as the stereo-specificity, substrate-specificity and catalytic properties vary widely.
(b) Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340) also highlight the difficulties associated with “Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure”; “To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground”, closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1).
(c) This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polynucleotides and encoded polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function. For example, Witkowski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999), teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a b-ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates b-ketoacyl synthase activity.
As stated above, no information, beyond the characterization of a few species: A composition for targeting a tau aggregates comprising a fusion peptide having: a first domain comprising a tau targeting motif comprising an amino acid sequence encoding at least one polyserine repeat; a second domain encoding a heterologous peptide that inhibits tau aggregates, wherein the polyserine repeat of the first domain of the fusion peptide includes: the C-terminal portion of SRRM2 comprising a second domain having activity toward tau aggregates components comprising a valosin-containing protein (VCP) (SEQ ID NO. 38), transportin-3 (TNPO3) (SEQ ID NO. 39) or a Fas associated factor family member 2 (FAF2) (SEQ ID NO. 44) or FAF2Min of SEQ ID NO. 45. NO FRAGMENTS OR VARIANTS ARE DESCRIBED IN THE COMPOSITION CONSTRUCT(S), which would indicate that they had possession of the claimed genus of polypeptides and the encoding polynucleotides in the composition(s). As the claimed genera of polypeptides having widely variable structures and associated function, since minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function and no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function has been provided. Furthermore, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features” (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895).
Therefore, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed. Applicants are referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov.
9. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (second paragraph)
Claims 26, 29, 35, 37-39, 41, 43, 45, 60 & 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 26 (lines 3-4) recites – “amino acid sequence encoding at least one polyserine repeat”.
Claim 35 (lines 8-9) recites – “a peptide encoding amino acids 2458-2752 of SEQ ID NO. 1.”
The claims are indefinite because a “DNA encodes a peptide or amino acid..”.
Claims 29, 37-39, 41, 43, 45, 60 & 61 are included in the rejection for failing to correct the defect present in the base claim(s). Correction is required.
10. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites: The composition of claim 26, wherein said polyserine repeat comprises a polyserine repeat selected from: one or more domains containing between 10-20 consecutive serine residues one or more domains containing at least 20 consecutive serine residues; one or more domains between 20 and 42 consecutive serine residues; one or more domains between 20 and 50 consecutive serine residues; and one or more domains containing at least 50 or more consecutive serine residues; one or more domains containing a polyserine repeat between 20 and 42 consecutive serine residues; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domains; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domain comprising a peptide domain having at least 75% serine residues; one or more non-consecutive serine repeat domain comprising a peptide domain having between 50-99% serine residues; at least one polyserine repeat and at least one non-consecutive serine repeat; and a polyserine repeat according to SEQ ID NO. 29.
The claim is unclear as no sequence is associated with the various “consecutive serine residues”. For example: one or more domains between 20 and 42 consecutive serine residues; one or more domains between 20 and 50 consecutive serine residues; and one or more domains containing at least 50 or more consecutive serine residues. Correction is required.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20210129616 A .
Catholic (KR 20210129616 A (CATHOLIC UNIV KOREA INDUSTRY ACADEMIC COOP FOUNDATION, as per ISR translation and paragraph citation from the Korean patent) 28 October 2021; Paragraph 74 discloses wherein the polyserine repeat comprises a polyserine repeat according to SEQ ID NO. 29 (SEQ ID NO: 29 of the instant PCT application is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 41 of Catholic; paragraph 74). Catholic discloses wherein said polyserine repeat comprises one or more nonconsecutive serine repeat domains (domain of SRRM2 comprises nonconsecutive multiple domains of 25 consecutive serine repeats within sequence; paragraph 74); where in the domain(s) first or second domain encoding a heterologous peptide would inherently inhibit tau aggregates. Catholic discloses wherein said non-consecutive serine repeat domain comprises a peptide domain having at least 75% serine residues (domain of SRRM2 comprises nonconsecutive multiple domains of 25 consecutive serine repeats (at least 75% serine residues) within sequence; paragraph 74). Catholic discloses wherein the C-terminal portion of SRRM2 comprises a peptide encoding amino acids 2458-2752 of SEQ ID NO. 1 (SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant PCT application is 100% identical to residues 1 to 2752 of SEQ ID NO: 41 of Catholic; paragraph 74).
12. No claim is allowed.
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TEKCHAND SAIDHA whose telephone number is (571)272-0940. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8.00-5.30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert B Mondesi can be reached on 408 918 7584. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TEKCHAND SAIDHA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Recombinant Enzymes, Hoteling
Telephone: (571) 272-0940
Fax: (571) 273-0940