DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were filed on 17 September 2024 and 18 September 2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and therefore are considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “LIGHT DETECTION DEVICE WITH NANOSTRUCTURES FOR LIGHT REDIRECTION TO SPECIFIC PIXELS” or something similar and sufficiently descriptive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “wherein a number of pixels in the first pixel group is greater than a sum of a number of pixels in the second pixel group and a number of pixels in the third pixel group”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 3 depends from claim 1 where a third pixel group has not been disclosed. Dependence of claim 3 should be changed to claim 2 or “the third pixel group” should be changed to “a third pixel group”. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that the claim depends from claim 2 where the third pixel group has been given antecedence.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “wherein a number of pixels in the first pixel group is three times greater than a sum a number of pixels in the second pixel group and a number of pixels in the third pixel group”. As with claim 3 above, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 4 depends from claim 1 where a third pixel group has not been disclosed. Dependence of claim 4 should be changed to claim 2 or “the third pixel group” should be changed to “a third pixel group”. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that the claim depends from claim 2 where the third pixel group has been given antecedence.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “wherein the first layer further comprises:”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no layer has been introduced within the claim tree stemming from claim 1. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that any layer of any components of a light detecting device will read on the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “a first material of the first layer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no layer has been introduced within the claim tree stemming from claim 1. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that any layer of any components of a light detecting device will read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/077357 A1 by Karsten Breuer et al. (herein after “Breuer”) in view of US 2016/0118430 A1 by Sunghyun Nam et al. (herein after “Nam”). Examiner notes the reference Nam was cited by applicant in the IDS filed 18 September 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Breuer discloses a light detecting device (Breuer title – image sensor [light detecting device]), comprising:
a plurality of pixels (Breuer fig. 1 and abstract, [0017] disclose image sensor 10 with a plurality of light-sensitive pixels 14 [plurality of pixels]) comprising:
a first pixel group that senses light in a first wavelength range (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses the image sensor divided into equally 4x4 pixel groups 18; the pixels G are considered as the first pixel group which detect light in green ([0019]));
a second pixel group that senses light in a second wavelength range different than the first wavelength range, the second pixel group being disposed amongst pixels of the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses within the pixel group 18 pixels B appear [second pixel group] which are disposed amongst the first pixel group G, where [0019] the second pixel group detects light in blue [different wavelength range from first wavelength range]).
Breuer is silent to a first layer comprising first nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light.
However, Nam does address this limitation. Breuer and Nam are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are both image sensors comprising a plurality of light sensitive pixels.
Nam discloses “a first layer comprising first nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light” (Nam fig. 1 and [0065] disclose an image sensor 400 which comprises a plurality of pixel groups PX1, PX2, and PX3; color separation element 132 [first nanostructures] are positioned over pixel groups PX2 and PX3 [first nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group – either PX2 or PX3 are considered analogous to the “first pixel group” disclosed in Breuer]; color separation elements 132 direct light [redirecting light]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate a first layer comprising first nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 1, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the plurality of pixels further comprise: a third pixel group that senses light in a third wavelength range different than the first and second wavelength ranges, the third pixel group being disposed amongst the pixels of the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 and [0022] discloses group 24 comprising R pixels which sense light in a different wavelength range than the first and second wavelength ranges and are disposed amongst the first pixel group, i.e. adjacent to G pixels)
Regarding claim 3, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 1, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein a number of pixels in the first pixel group is greater than a sum of a number of pixels in the second pixel group and a number of pixels in the third pixel group (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; within claim 1 above, Breuer has disclosed a first pixel group comprised of G pixels; within the first pixel group, 8G pixels appear, where 8 is greater than a sum of “a number of pixels in the second pixel group” and “a number of pixels in the third pixel group” – the number summed for each group can be a minimum of 2 i.e. 1B + 1B and 1R + 1R = 4 total pixels where 8G pixels are greater than 4 from the second and third pixel group).
Regarding claim 4, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 1 and Breuer further teaches the device wherein a number of pixels in the first pixel group is three times greater than a sum of a number of pixels in the second pixel group and a number of pixels in the third pixel group (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; within claim 1 above, Breuer has disclosed an image sensor comprised of a plurality of G pixels [the first pixel group]; there exists within the totality of the image sensor a case where a number of pixels in the first pixel group, i.e. 12G pixels is three times greater than the sum of pixels from the second and third pixel group demonstrated in claim 2 above – 13G pixels > 3*4 total 2nd and 3rd group pixels).
Regarding claim 5, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 1, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the second pixel group is surrounded by the pixels in the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 shows the pixel group comprised by B pixels which are surrounded by G pixels on all planar sides of the 2x2 array of B pixels [second pixel group surrounded by first pixel group]).
Regarding claim 6, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 5, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the second pixel group comprises four pixels in a 2x2 array (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020]-[0021] discloses pixels B [second pixel group] where the pixels are arranged in a 2x2 BBBB combination).
Regarding claim 7, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 2, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the third pixel group is surrounded by the pixels in the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 and [0022] discloses group 24 comprised of R pixels [third pixel group]; at the center of the image sensor of fig. 1, a 2x2 array of R pixels are shown, where G pixels [first pixel group] are found adjacent to each side of the 2x2 array of R pixels [third pixel group surrounded by pixels of first pixel group]).
Regarding claim 8, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 7, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the third pixel group comprises four pixels in a 2x2 array (Breuer fig. 1; as disclosed in claim 7 above, a 2x2 array of R pixels are formed in the center of the image sensor).
Regarding claim 9, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 2, and Breuer further teaches the device further comprising:
a first color filter for a pixel in the first pixel group and that transmits light in the first wavelength range (Breuer [0006] discloses that the image sensor incorporates a pixel-filter combination such that two pixels lying next to or one above each other are same color component sensitive [i.e. RR, GG, BB, etc.] and known reflecting filter patterns including RGGB accomplish said adjacent component sensitivity; the first pixel group comprise G pixels, and a GG pattern filter is incorporated into the image sensor [first color filter transmits light in the first wavelength range]; examiner notes that further embodiments of Breuer disclose pixels C which are unfiltered color components [i.e. any pixel RGB is tied to a corresponding filter, otherwise the pixel would be a C pixel]); and
a second color filter for a pixel in the second pixel group and that transmits light in the second wavelength range (Breuer [0006] discloses that the image sensor incorporates a pixel-filter combination such that two pixels lying next to or one above each other are same color-component sensitive [i.e. RR, GG, BB, etc.], and known reflecting filter patterns including RGGB accomplish said adjacent component sensitivity; the second pixel group comprise B pixels, and a B filter is incorporated into the image sensor via the RGGB filter pattern [second color filter transmits light in the second wavelength range]; as with above, examiner notes that further embodiments of Breuer disclose pixels C which are unfiltered color components [i.e. any pixel RGB is tied to a corresponding filter, otherwise the pixel would be a C pixel).
Regarding claim 10, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 9, and Breuer further teaches the device further comprising: a third color filter for a pixel in the third pixel group and that transmits light in the third wavelength range (Breuer [0006] discloses that the image sensor incorporates a pixel-filter combination such that two pixels lying next to or one above each other are same color component sensitive [i.e. RR, GG, BB, etc.] and known reflecting filter patterns including RGGB accomplish said adjacent component sensitivity; the third pixel group comprises R pixels, and an R filter is incorporated into the image sensor [third color filter transmits light in the third wavelength range]; as with above, examiner notes that further embodiments of Breuer disclose pixels C which are unfiltered color components [i.e. any pixel RGB is tied to a corresponding filter, otherwise the pixel would be a C pixel).
Regarding claim 11, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 9. Breuer is silent to the light detecting device of claim 9, wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the second wavelength range to the second color filter.HoweHowHofjdksla;fdsaFjfjfjdlk
However, Nam does address this limitation.
Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 9, “wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the second wavelength range to the second color filter” (Nam fig. 11 and [0065] discloses the color separation elements 132 [first nanostructures] first disclosed in claim 1; a redirection of C2 via the color separation elements 132 is shown in fig. 11 [first nanostructures redirect light in the second wavelength range to a pixel within the second pixel group]; Breuer has demonstrated the pixel-filter combination, such that light directed to a pixel within the second pixel group is equivalent to that light being directed to the second color filter associated with the second pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the second wavelength range to the second color filter as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 10. Breuer is silent to the light detecting device of claim 10, wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the third wavelength range to the third color filter.
However, Nam does address this limitation.
Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 10, “wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the third wavelength range to the third color filter” (Nam fig. 11 and [0065] discloses the color separation elements 132 [first nanostructures] first disclosed in claim 1; a redirection of C3 via the color separation elements 132 is shown in fig. 11 [first nanostructures redirect light in the third wavelength range to a pixel within the third pixel group]; Breuer has demonstrated the pixel-filter combination, such that light directed to a pixel within the third pixel group is equivalent to that light being directed to the third color filter associated with the third pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate wherein the first nanostructures redirect light in the third wavelength range to the third color filter as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 2. Breuer when modified by Nam is silent to the light detecting device of claim 2, wherein the first layer further comprises: second nanostructures positioned over the second pixel group; and third nanostructures positioned over the third pixel group (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; Nam fig. 11 shows color separation elements 132 [nanostructures] placed at an interface between the second PX2 and third PX3 pixel groups [i.e. equally positioned over the second pixel group and the third pixel group]; [0042] discloses dielectric layer 120 within which the color separation elements 132 are positioned [first layer]; the claim makes no distinction between “second” and “third nanostructures”, such that the left half of the nanostructure on the left side of the figure positioned over PX2 fulfills “second nanostructures positioned over the second pixel group” and the left half of the middle nanostructure in the center of the figure positioned over PX3 fulfills “third nanostructures over the third pixel group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate wherein the first layer further comprises: second nanostructures positioned over the second pixel group; and third nanostructures positioned over the third pixel group as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device according to claim 1. Breuer is silent to the light detection device according to claim 1, wherein the first nanostructures are disposed in a first material of the first layer, and wherein the first nanostructures have a higher refractive index than the first material.
However, Nam does address this limitation.
Nam discloses the light detection device according to claim 1, “wherein the first nanostructures are disposed in a first material of the first layer, and wherein the first nanostructures have a higher refractive index than the first material” (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; Nam [0046] discloses a transparent dielectric layer 120 which the color separation elements 130 (and 132 of fig. 11) are disposed within [first nanostructures disposed in a first material of the first layer], and discloses that the color separation elements 130/132 are formed from high refractive index material [higher refractive index than the first material]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nam to incorporate wherein the first nanostructures are disposed in a first material of the first layer, and wherein the first nanostructures have a higher refractive index than the first material as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Breuer discloses a light detecting device (Breuer title – image sensor [light detecting device]), comprising:
a plurality of pixels (Breuer fig. 1 and abstract, [0017] disclose image sensor 10 with a plurality of light-sensitive pixels 14 [plurality of pixels]) comprising:
a first pixel group that senses light in a first wavelength range (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses the image sensor divided into equally 4x4 pixel groups 18; the pixels G are considered as the first pixel group which detect light in green ([0019]));
a second pixel group that senses light in a second wavelength range different than the first wavelength range, the second pixel group being surrounded on all sides by pixels of the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses that within the pixel group 18 pixels B appear [second pixel group]; the B pixels are surrounded on all sides of their 2x2 array by the first pixel group members G; [0019] the second pixel group detects light in blue [different wavelength range from the first wavelength range]).
Breuer is silent to a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to direct light toward photoelectric conversion regions of the second pixel group.
However, Nam does address this limitation. Breuer and Nam are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are both image sensors comprising a plurality of light sensitive pixels.
Nam discloses “a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to direct light” (Nam fig. 1 and [0065] disclose an image sensor 400 which comprises a plurality of pixel groups PX1, PX2, and PX3; color separation element 132 [first nanostructures] are positioned over pixel groups PX2 and PX3 [first nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group – either PX2 or PX3 are considered analogous to the “first pixel group” disclosed in Breuer]; color separation elements 132 direct light [redirecting light]) “toward photoelectric conversion regions of the second pixel group” (Nam abstract discloses the use of pixels to absorb and detect light of various wavelength bands; while note explicitly disclosed in Nam, it is well known in the art that pixels only function due to photoelectric conversion regions which absorb a light signal and convert that optical light signal into a digital signal [i.e. pixels absorb and detect light]; the color separation element 132 above pixel group PX2 [first pixel group] and direct light to PX3 [second pixel group] – given the above reasoning, it is understood that the PX3 pixels comprise photoelectric conversion regions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to direct light toward photoelectric conversion regions of the second pixel group as suggested by Nam for the advantage of improving the color separation efficiency of the image sensor by minimizing light loss, enabling the efficient usage of any light detected by the image sensor and an improvement of the image sensor’s sensitivity (Nam [0055] and fig. 6).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer in view of Nam, and further in view of US 2020/0301053 A1 by Xingze Wang et al. (herein after “Wang”).
Regarding claim 12, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 11. Breuer when modified by Nam is silent to the light detecting device of claim 11, wherein the pixel in the second pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the second wavelength range passed through the second color filter.
However, Wang does address this limitation. Breuer, Nam, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are both image sensors comprising a plurality of light sensitive pixels.
Wang discloses the light detecting device of claim 11, “wherein the pixel in the second pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the second wavelength range passed through the second color filter” (Wang [0036] discloses that the structure of the sensing device uses detector pixels comprising a photodiode PD shown in at least fig. 1(a), and includes the associated circuitry with the detector pixel being incorporated in a CMOS image sensor; Breuer when modified by Nam has disclosed the device comprising a second pixel group with redirected light through a second color filter, and Breuer [0017] specifically discloses the image sensor taking the form of a CMOS image sensor as is disclosed by Wang; Wang explicitly discloses the sensing device taking the form of a photodiode and Breuer when modified by Nam and Wang therefore discloses the second pixel group comprising a photodiode receiving redirected light of the corresponding wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer when modified by Nam to incorporate wherein the pixel in the second pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the second wavelength range passed through the second color filter as suggested by Wang for the advantage of enabling multi-modal optical sensing, detecting multiple parameters of incident light i.e. spectral, polarization, angle, phase information (Wang [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detecting device of claim 13. Breuer when modified by Nam is silent to the light detecting device of claim 13 wherein the pixel in the third pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the third wavelength range passed through the third color filter.
However, Wang does address this limitation.
Wang discloses the light detecting device of claim 13, “wherein the pixel in the third pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the third wavelength range passed through the third color filter” (as with claim 12 above, Wang [0036] discloses that the structure of the sensing device uses detector pixels comprising a photodiode PD shown in at least fig. 1(a), and includes the associated circuitry with the detector pixel being incorporated in a CMOS image sensor; Breuer when modified by Nam has disclosed the device comprising a third pixel group with redirected light through a third color filter, and Breuer [0017] specifically discloses the image sensor taking the form of a CMOS image sensor as is disclosed by Wang; Wang explicitly discloses the sensing device taking the form of a photodiode and Breuer when modified by Nam and Wang therefore discloses the third pixel group comprising a photodiode receiving redirected light of the corresponding wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer when modified by Nam to incorporate wherein the pixel in the third pixel group comprises a photodiode that receives the redirected light in the third wavelength range passed through the third color filter as suggested by Wang for the advantage of enabling multi-modal optical sensing, detecting multiple parameters of incident light i.e. spectral, polarization, angle, phase information (Wang [0032]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer in view of Nam, and further in view of US 2021/0026164 A1 by Orit Skorka et al. (herein after “Skorka”).
Regarding claim 17 Breuer when modified by Nam discloses the light detection device of claim 1, and Breuer further teaches the device further comprising:
a first color filter for the first pixel group and that passes the first wavelength range (Breuer [0006] discloses that the image sensor incorporates a pixel-filter combination such that two pixels lying next to or one above each other are same color component sensitive [i.e. RR, GG, BB, etc.] and known reflecting filter patterns including RGGB accomplish said adjacent component sensitivity; the first pixel group comprise G pixels, and a GG pattern filter is incorporated into the image sensor [first color filter transmits light in the first wavelength range]; examiner notes that further embodiments of Breuer disclose pixels C which are unfiltered color components [i.e. any pixel RGB is tied to a corresponding filter, otherwise the pixel would be a C pixel]);
a second color filter for the second pixel group and that passes the second wavelength range (Breuer [0006] discloses that the image sensor incorporates a pixel-filter combination such that two pixels lying next to or one above each other are same color-component sensitive [i.e. RR, GG, BB, etc.], and known reflecting filter patterns including RGGB accomplish said adjacent component sensitivity; the second pixel group comprise B pixels, and a B filter is incorporated into the image sensor via the RGGB filter pattern [second color filter transmits light in the second wavelength range]; as with above, examiner notes that further embodiments of Breuer disclose pixels C which are unfiltered color components [i.e. any pixel RGB is tied to a corresponding filter, otherwise the pixel would be a C pixel).
Breuer when modified by Nam is silent to the light detection device of claim 1, further comprising a first on-chip lens disposed on the first color filter; and a second on-chip lens disposed on the second color filter.
However, Skorka does address this limitation. Breuer, Nam, and Skorka are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are image sensors comprising a plurality of light sensitive pixels.
Skorka discloses the light detection device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first on-chip lens disposed on the first color filter (Skorka fig. 4 and [0037] discloses an image sensor package 14 comprising an image sensor chip 122 comprising a plurality of pixels where microlenses 129 are each formed on a color filter element 128 on the sensor chip 122 [on-chip lens] – any of the microlenses are considered a first on-chip lens and the corresponding filter considered the first color filter [a first on-chip lens disposed on the first color filter]); and
a second on-chip lens disposed on the second color filter (Skorka fig. 4 and [0037] discloses the plurality of microlenses 129 each formed on a color filter element 128 – any of the microlenses not the first on-chip lens are considered the second on-chip lens, and the corresponding filter considered the second color filter [second on-chip lens disposed on the second color filter]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer in view of Nam to incorporate a first on-chip lens disposed on the first color filter and a second on-chip lens disposed on the second color filter as suggested by Skorka for the advantage of maximizing the angular acceptance of an image focused through a camera system comprising the image sensor, as desired (Skorka [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Breuer when modified by Nam and Skorka discloses the light detection device of claim 17, and Breuer further teaches the device wherein the second pixel group comprises four pixels in a 2x2 array (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020]-[0021] discloses pixels B [second pixel group] where the pixels are arranged in a 2x2 BBBB combination).
Breuer when modified by Nam is silent to the light detection device of claim 17, wherein the second on-chip lens covers the four pixels of the second pixel group.
However, Skorka does address this limitation.
Skorka discloses the light detection device of claim 17, “wherein the second on-chip lens covers the four pixels of the second pixel group” (Skorka [0037] and fig. 4 discloses that each color filter element 128 may cover more than one pixel of the image sensor chip 122, and a respective microlens 129 covers each color filter element – for a case where a color filter element may cover more than one pixel of the image sensor chip i.e. a 2x2 array of four pixels, a single microlens would respectively cover the corresponding pixels [second on-chip lens covers the four pixels of the second pixel group]; given the geometry of Breuer with the 2x2 array of pixels and the microlens of Skorka covering more than one pixel, a second on-chip lens covering four pixels of the second pixel group is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer when modified by Nam to incorporate wherein the second on-chip lens covers the four pixels of the second pixel group as suggested by Skorka for the advantage of maximizing the angular acceptance of an image focused through a camera system comprising the image sensor, as desired (Skorka [0047]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer in view of US 9,525,006 B2 by Sunghyun Nam and Sookyoung Roh et al. (herein after “Roh”).
Regarding claim 19, Breuer discloses an electronic apparatus (Breuer [0002] discloses a camera [electronic apparatus]), comprising:
a light detecting device (Breuer [0002] discloses an image sensor [light detection device]), comprising:
a plurality of pixels (Breuer fig. 1 and abstract, [0017] disclose image sensor 10 with a plurality of light-sensitive pixels 14 [plurality of pixels]), comprising:
a first pixel group that senses light in a first wavelength range (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses the image sensor divided into equally 4x4 pixel groups 18; the pixels G are considered as the first pixel group which detect light in green ([0019]), and
a second pixel group that senses light in a second wavelength range different than the first wavelength range, the second pixel group being disposed amongst pixels of the first pixel group (Breuer fig. 1 and [0020] discloses within the pixel group 18 pixels B [second pixel group] which are disposed amongst the first pixel group G, where [0019] the second pixel group detects light in blue [different wavelength range from first wavelength range]).
Breuer is silent to an electronic apparatus comprising a signal processor, and a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light.
However, Roh does address these limitations. Breuer and Roh are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are both image sensors comprising a plurality of light sensitive pixels.
Roh discloses “an electronic apparatus comprising: a signal processor” (Roh col 7 ll. 13-19 discloses an image sensor [part of electronic apparatus] including a driving circuit that can process data received by a light sensing layers 140 and 110 (see fig. 12)), and
“a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light” (Roh fig. 12 and col 10 ll. 20-50 discloses an image sensor comprising identical components to that of previous embodiments with the same labels (col 6 ll. 20 – col 7 ll. 23 disclose labels 120 and pixel groups PX2/PX3; label 130 for a type of color separation element also appears with different geometry of fig. 12 but providing the same function); transparent dielectric layer 120 [first layer] shows color separation elements 132 [first nanostructures] which are shown to redirect light; pixel groups PX2 and PX3 are shown to receive redirected light C2 and C3 [one of which is considered equivalent to the first pixel group of Breuer]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Breuer to incorporate a signal processor and a first layer comprising nanostructures positioned over the first pixel group to redirect light as suggested by Roh for the advantage of obtaining an image sensor with high light use efficiency and color reproducibility utilizing color separation elements (Roh col 10 ll. 43-50).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, 15-16, and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6, 14-15, and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/847,627 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by claim 1 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 2 are taught by claim 2 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by claim 1 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 7 are taught by claim 2 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 9 are taught by claim 5 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 10, all the limitations of claim 10 are taught by claim 6 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 11, all the limitations of claim 11 are taught by claim 9 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations of claim 12 are taught by claim 10 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by claim 11 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 14, all the limitations of claim 14 are taught by claim 12 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 15, all the limitations of claim 15 are taught by claim 14 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 16, all the limitations of claim 16 are taught by claim 15 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 19, all the limitations of claim 19 are taught by claim 19 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 20, all the limitations of claim 20 are taught by claim 20 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The following document(s) were considered but not relied up on for the rejection set forth in this action:
US 2021/0305332 A1 by Yawen Chen et al.
US 10,490,584 B2 by Seokho Yun et al.
US 2020/0227467 A1 by Sozo Yokogawa
Conclusion
/JOSHUA M CARLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877