DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-14, 16, 18-21, 23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nokia et al. “Nokia” “Time synchronization – procedure review” published October 2021 (Submitted in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Nokia teaches a method and a node (NEF or TSCTSF which would include a processor/memory) of Figure 4.15.9.3.2-1 and/or 4.15.9.2-1 configured to provide a time synchronization service, the node comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing computer program instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the one or more processors to: receive a request for time synchronization for a user equipment (UE) or a group of UEs, originated from an application function (AF) (the AF creates a time sync request with respect to UEs and is received by the NEF/TSCTSF (Figure .15.9.3.2-1, Page 7 note 1);
obtain subscription data for the UE or the group of UEs indicating whether the request for time synchronization from the AF is authorized to proceed (UE subscription information is received and used to authorize the request; Page 7 steps 1 and 2);
upon determining the subscription data for the UE or the group of UEs do not authorize the request for time synchronization from the AF, reject the request for time synchronization from the AF (The request may also be rejected based on UE identifies; Page 4, 2nd to last section of step 1); and
proceed with the time synchronization service upon determining the subscription data authorize the request for time synchronization service from the AF (The request is authorized and then synchronization responses are performed; Page 7 steps 2/3).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Nokia teaches the request includes a request for time synchronization with time resiliency service and the subscription data indicates if the request is authorized or not (the time synchronization request includes parameters from table 4.15.9.3.1 (see page 7 note 1). The table on page 6 (and description) discloses a validity condition which can be viewed as the resiliency for example. The request can be authorized or rejected (page 4 2nd to last section of step 1 and page 7 steps 2/3)).
Regarding claims 14 and 21, Nokia teaches the request includes timing resiliency services (the time synchronization request includes parameters from table 4.15.9.3.1 (see page 7 note 1). The table on page 6 (and description) discloses a validity condition and error budget which are related to the services for example. Thus the request includes timing resiliency services as claimed).
Regarding claims 16 and 23, Nokia teaches an indication that the time sync service or time sync with resiliency service is enabled or disabled (Table 4.15.9.4-1 on page 11 shows time distribution indications which can be enabled and disabled).
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Nokia teaches receiving a notification from the AF to disable time syn services and deactivating the service (Table 4.15.9.4-1 includes enable/disable information that cases the activation/deactivation with respect to the UEs. This information is sent from the AF; Page 11 note 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of Qiao et al. “Qiao” WO 2023/059615.
Regarding claims 15 and 22, Nokia teaches subscription information is used to authorize or reject requests as shown in claims 12 and 19. Nokia does not disclose sending a request to a UDM to request subscription related data for time resiliency services and receiving the information with respect to authorization; however, Qiao teaches a request is sent to the UDM in order to authenticate (i.e. authorize) a UE. This authentication is with respect to subscription information; Paragraph 142.The teachings of Qiao, as a whole, are with respect to time resiliency services for 5G systems as well as synchronization; Paragraphs 217 and 234. Thus one can see the authentication of a user would be with respect to the time resiliency.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Nokia to include sending a request to a UDM for user authorization as taught by Qiao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on user subscription information, authorization of the UE can be determined by a UDM as taught by Qiao; Paragraph 142.
Regarding claims 17 and 24, While Nokia teaches the subscription information of the UE is associated with time synchronization, Nokia does not disclose subscribing at the UDM node to receive any changes in subscription to the time sync/time sync resiliency information; however, Qiao teaches that the UDM will notify the network of subscription changes with respect to the UE; Paragraph 142. The system is tied to time synchronization and resiliency services; Paragraphs 217 and 234.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Nokia to include receiving updates from the UDM with respect to changes in subscription of the UE as taught by Qiao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on user subscription information, authorization of the UE can be determined by a UDM as taught by Qiao; Paragraph 142.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411