Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on April 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 30, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1 and 5-6. Claims 1-17, 20, and 38-39 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 17, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0064], “opening12” is improper and should read “opening 12”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 6, the reference character “120a” is missing a 1 at the beginning.
Figures 1A and 1B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 11, 13, 17, and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “the first and second dipoles” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the first and second orthogonal dipoles”
In claims 1 and 38, “first through fourth narrow sections” is improper and should read “a first narrow section, a second narrow section, a third narrow section, and a fourth narrow sections”
In claims 1 and 38, “respective first through fourth sides” is improper and should read “a respective first side, second side, third side, and fourth side”
In claim 4, “the stalk portion and radiating portion” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the stalk portion and the radiating portion”
In claim 11, “the first and second protrusions” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the first protrusion and the second protrusion”
In claims 13 and 17, “the third and fourth protrusions” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the third protrusion and the fourth protrusion”
In claim 17, “the first and second outer sides” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the first outer side and the second outer side”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 20, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dipole arms" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the open interior of the respective first square" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the radiating portions of the radiator assembly" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first square" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referencing the “a respective first square” in claim 1 or a new limitation.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first square" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referencing the “a respective first square” in claim 1 or a new limitation.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first square" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referencing the “a respective first square” in claim 1 or a new limitation.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the inside of the first square" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the inside of the first square" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the inside of the first square" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “these two wide sections” in line 2. It is unclear what “these” is referencing.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the first through fourth dipole arms" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the four first squares" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the radiating portions of the first through fourth dipole arms" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the radiating portion of the first through fourth dipole arms" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the open interior of the respective first square" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-5, 9, 11, 13-14, and 16-17 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim 39 inherits the deficiencies of claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 212571352 U), hereinafter known as Wang.
Regarding claim 38, Wang discloses (Fig. 1-2) A dual-polarized radiator assembly (100), comprising: a first dipole (top right 11, bottom left 11) that includes a first dipole arm (top right 11) and a second dipole arm (bottom left 11); and a second dipole (bottom right 11, top left 11) that includes a third dipole arm (bottom right 11) and a fourth dipole arm (top left 11), wherein each of the first through fourth dipole arms (11) includes a respective radiating portion (11) that comprises a metal pattern having an outer contour that defines a respective first square that has an open interior, wherein the four first squares (11) defined by the radiating portions of the first through fourth dipole arms (11) extend radially from a central location to define a second square (10 square), with each of the radiating portions of the first through fourth dipole arms (11) positioned in one of four quadrants of the second square (10 square), wherein the radiating portion of each of the first through fourth dipole arms (11) includes a plurality of wide sections (12) that are interconnected by at least first through fourth narrow sections (13) that extend inwardly into the open interior of the respective first square from respective first through fourth sides of the respective first square (11).
Regarding claim 39, Wang further discloses (Fig. 1-2) wherein the radiating portion of each of the first through fourth dipole arms (11) further includes a fifth narrow section (corner 113) that extends inwardly into the open interior of the respective first square (11) from an outer corner of the respective first square.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Varnoosfaderani et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0163486 A1), hereinafter known as Varnoosfaderani.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches (Fig. 1-2) A dual-polarized radiator assembly (100) for base station antennas, comprising: first and second orthogonal dipoles (11), each of the first and second dipoles including two dipole arms (11), each dipole arm including a radiating portion (11), and has an outer contour forming a respective first square (11 square), in which, two adjacent inner sides of every two adjacent first squares extend in parallel to each other, wherein the radiating portion of each of the dipole arms (11) includes a plurality of wide sections (12) that are interconnected by at least first through fourth narrow sections (13) that extend inwardly into the open interior of the respective first square from respective first through fourth sides of the respective first square (11)
but does not specifically teach wherein each radiating portion is a sheet metal component.
However, Varnoosfaderani teaches (Fig. 5A-5B) wherein each radiating portion (170) is a sheet metal component ([0052]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang with Varnoosfaderani to include “wherein each radiating portion is a sheet metal component,” as taught by Varnoosfaderani, for the purpose of reducing cost of manufacturing (see also [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein as a whole, all of the radiating portions (11) of the radiator assembly (100) have an outer contour that collectively form a second square.
Regarding claim 3, Wang does not specifically teach wherein each dipole arm has a sheet metal stalk portion, and the stalk portion extends orthogonally to the radiating portion.
However, Varnoosfaderani teaches (Fig. 5A-5B) wherein each dipole arm (170) has a sheet metal stalk portion (166), and the stalk portion extends orthogonally to the radiating portion (170).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang with Varnoosfaderani to include “wherein each dipole arm has a sheet metal stalk portion, and the stalk portion extends orthogonally to the radiating portion,” as taught by Varnoosfaderani, for the purpose of reducing cost of manufacturing (see also [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang does not specifically teach wherein the stalk portion and radiating portion of each dipole arm is a single sheet metal member.
However, Varnoosfaderani teaches (Fig. 5A-5B) wherein the stalk portion (166)and radiating portion of each dipole arm (170) is a single sheet metal member ([0052]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang with Varnoosfaderani to include “wherein the stalk portion and radiating portion of each dipole arm is a single sheet metal member,” as taught by Varnoosfaderani, for the purpose of reducing cost of manufacturing (see also [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein every two adjacent wide sections (12) are connected through one narrow section (13).
Regarding claim 6, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein each wide section (13) extends along a side of the first square and each narrow section (12) is bent in a zigzag shape to form a protrusion.
Regarding claim 7, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein a first wide section (inner corner 13) among all wide sections is angularly constructed, forming a part of two inner sides of the first square (11) and forming an inner corner of the first square (11).
Regarding claim 8, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein two second wide sections (inside 13 and adjacent 13) among all wide sections are angularly constructed, forming an inner side and a part of an outer side of the first square (11), respectively, and forming a corner of the first square (11), respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein two third wide sections (13 adjacent to outside corner) among all wide sections extend in a straight line, respectively, forming a part of an outer side of the first square (11), and together forming an outer corner of the first square (11).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein a first inner side of the first square includes a first narrow section (inner 13) that forms a first protrusion that extends from the first inner side of the first square to the inside of the first square (11), and a second inner side of the first square includes a second narrow section (inner 13) that forms a second protrusion that extends from the second inner side of the first square to the inside of the first square (11).
Regarding claim 11, Wang does not specifically teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first and second protrusions are colinear.
However, Varnoosfaderani teaches (Fig. 5B-5C) wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first and second protrusions (190) are colinear.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang with Varnoosfaderani to include “wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first and second protrusions are colinear,” as taught by Varnoosfaderani, for the purpose of achieving a desired capacitance (see also [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein a first outer side of the first square includes a third narrow section (13 on outer vertical side) that forms a third protrusion (13 on outer vertical side) that extends from the first outer side of the first square to the inside of the first square (11), and a second outer side of the first square includes a fourth narrow section (13 on outer horizontal side) that forms a fourth protrusion (13 on outer horizontal side) that extends from the second outer side of the first square to the inside of the first square (11).
Regarding claim 13, Wang does not specifically teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third and fourth protrusions are colinear.
However, Varnoosfaderani teaches (Fig. 5A-5B) wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third and fourth protrusions (193) are colinear.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang with Varnoosfaderani to include “wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third and fourth protrusions are colinear,” as taught by Varnoosfaderani, for the purpose of achieving a desired capacitance (see also [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein first and second outer sides of the first square are connected to each other through a fifth narrow section (corner 13) that forms a fifth protrusion (corner 13) that extends from an outer corner of the first square to the inside of the first square (11).
Regarding claim 15, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the fifth protrusion (corner 13) extends in a straight line.
Regarding claim 16, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the fifth protrusion (corner 13) extends in a diagonal line of the first square.
Regarding claim 17, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the first and second outer sides of the first square are connected to each other through a fifth narrow section (corner 13) that forms a fifth protrusion (corner 13) that extends from an outer corner of the first square to the inside of the first square (11) and a free end of the fifth protrusion (corner 13) is between free ends of the third and fourth protrusions (13 on outer sides).
Regarding claim 20, Wang further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein two adjacent ends of every two adjacent wide sections (12) and one narrow section (13) connecting these two wide sections are constructed as an LC circuit ([0051], the structure of 12 and 13 form a low pass filter by functioning as an LC circuit).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845