DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 9/15/2026 has been entered.
Applicants’ Amendments have overcome the Specification Objections, Drawing Objections, the rejections under 35 USC 112(a), 112(b) and 112(d). Applicants’ Statement of Common Ownership regarding previously applied prior art reference Sun et al
Claims 1,2, 5-14, 16, 17 and 38-40 remain pending in the application.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Correction of the following is required:
The recited limitations as set forth in claim 38 as follows lack antecedent basis in the Specification:
“wherein the first hook-shaped balun comprises a first metal segment that extends adjacent the first stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to fifth square, a third metal segment that extends adjacent the second stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square and a second metal segment that connects the first metal segment to the third metal segment, where the first and third metal segments are in between the first and second stalk portions, wherein the second hook-shaped balun comprises a fourth metal segment that extends adjacent the third stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square, a sixth metal segment that extends adjacent the fourth stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square and a fifth metal segment that connects the fourth metal segment to the sixth metal segment, where the fourth and sixth metal segments are in between the third and fourth stalk portions”.
Furthermore, the Specification would now need to include descriptive element numbers for the above structural limitations to illustrate that which is recited in the claims, as well as, the annotated Drawings submitted by Applicants in the remarks dated 9/15/2026.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2, 5-14, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al CN 212571352 in view of Boss et al US 20070080883 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al teaches (Fig. 1-2) A dual-polarized radiator assembly
(100) for base station antennas, comprising: a first dipole(11) and a second dipole(11) that is orthogonal to the first dipole (11), the first dipole including a first dipole arm that includes a first radiating portion that has a first outer contour that defines a first square(see square contour, Figs 1,2) and a first stalk portion(20) that that extends orthogonally to the first radiating portion, and a second dipole arm that includes a second radiating portion that has a second outer contour that defines a second square(see square contour, Figs 1,2) and a second stalk portion(20) that extends orthogonally to the second radiating portion, and the second dipole including a third dipole arm that includes a third radiating portion that has a third outer contour that defines a third square(see square contour, Figs 1,2) and a third stalk portion(20) that extends orthogonally to the third radiating portion, and a fourth dipole arm that includes a fourth radiating portion that has a fourth outer contour that defines a fourth square (see square contour, Figs 1,2) and a fourth stalk portion(20) that extends orthogonally to the fourth radiating portion wherein each of the first radiating portion, the second radiating portion, the third radiating portion and the fourth radiating portion includes a plurality of wide sections(12) that are interconnected by at least four inwardly-extending narrow sections(13),
Although Wang et al does not explicitly teach wherein the first radiating portion and the first stalk portion are a first single sheet metal member, the second radiating portion and the second stalk portion are a second single sheet metal member, the third radiating portion and the third stalk portion are a third single sheet metal member, and the fourth radiating portion and the fourth stalk portion are a fourth single sheet metal member, Wang et al does teach that the radiating portions and stalk portions are formed of sheet metal(Wang et al “the annular radiating arm 11 is preferably composed of a metal strip; the metal strip is preferably a metal copper foil;” “Balun 20 is composed of two orthogonal combination of the circuit board, the circuit board preferably adopts the PCB circuit board. each circuit board comprises a second dielectric plate 21, the second dielectric plate 21 is distributed on the front surface of the feeding line 22, the second dielectric plate 21 is covered with a second metal layer 23. The feed line 22 is coupled to the second metal layer 23. the bottom of the second metal layer 23 is connected with the bottom plate 30; the top part of the second metal layer 23 is connected with the radiator 10 feeding. The feed line 22 is preferably realized by a metal copper foil, such as a metal copper foil, and the second metal layer 23 is preferably made of a metal copper foil.”).
However, Boss et al teaches an antenna assembly(Figs 7-12) wherein the first radiating portion(9a) and the first stalk portion (21)are a first single sheet metal member(Abstract), the second radiating portion(9b)and the second stalk portion(21) are a second single sheet metal
member(Abstract), the third radiating portion (9a’)and the third stalk portion(21) are a third
single sheet metal member(Abstract), and the fourth radiating portion(9b’) and the fourth
stalk portion(40d) are a fourth single sheet metal member(Abstract)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the radiator portions and stalk portions of Wang et al as single sheet metal members as taught by Boss et al to produce and manufacture the antenna assembly in a cost effective way (Boss et al para 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al teaches wherein as a whole, the first radiating portion, the second
radiating portion, the third radiating portion and the fourth radiating portion have an outer contour that collectively form defines a fifth square shaped region(see outer contour of 10 Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al teaches wherein every two adjacent wide sections in the plurality of wide sections(12) of the first radiating portion are connected through a respective one of the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections(13) of the first radiating portion.
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al teaches wherein each inwardly-extending narrow section of the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections of the first radiating portion is bent in a zigzag shape to form a protrusion(13).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al teaches wherein a first wide section in the plurality of wide sections of the first radiating portion is angularly constructed, forming a part of each of first inner side and a second inner side of the first square and a first corner of the first square that is an inner corner of the first square(see inner corner 13, 11, Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al teaches wherein a second wide section in the plurality of wide sections of the first radiating portion is angularly constructed, forming a part of the first inner side of the first square, a part of a first outer side of the first square, and a second corner of the first square, and a third wide section in the plurality of wide sections of the first radiating portion is angularly constructed, forming a part of the second inner side of the first square and a part of the second outer side of the first square and a third corner of the first square(see arrangement of elements 13 in the squares 11 respectively, Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al teaches wherein a fourth wide section in the plurality of wide sections of the first radiating portion extends in a first straight line forming a part of a first outer side of the first square and a fifth wide section in the plurality of wide sections of the first radiating portion extends in a second straight line forming a part of a second outer side of the first square, and the fourth wide section and the fifth wide section together forming a fourth corner of the first square that is an outer corner of the first square(see arrangement of elements 13 in the squares 11 respectively, Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al teaches wherein a first of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections is part of a first inner side of the first square and forms a first protrusion that extends from the first inner side of the first square to the inside of the first square, and a second of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections is part of a second inner side of the first square and forms a second protrusion that extends from the second inner side of the first square to the inside of the first square(see arrangement of elements 12 in the squares 11 respectively, Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al does not explicitly teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first protrusion and the second protrusion are colinear.
Boss et al teaches teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first protrusion and the second protrusion are colinear(see Fig 7-12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang to include wherein respective longitudinal axes of the first and second protrusions are colinear , as taught by Boss et al, for the purpose of achieving a desired capacitance.
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al teaches wherein a third of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections is part of a first outer side of the first square and forms a third protrusion that extends from the first outer side of the first square to the inside of the first square, and a fourth of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections is part of a second outer side of the first square and forms a fourth protrusion that extends from the second outer side of the first square to the inside of the first square(see arrangement of elements 12 in the squares 11 respectively, Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al does not explicitly teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third protrusion and the fourth protrusion are colinear.
Boss et al teaches teach wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third protrusion and the fourth protrusion are colinear(see Figs 7-12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiator assembly of Wang to include
wherein respective longitudinal axes of the third and fourth protrusions are colinear , as taught by
Boss et al, for the purpose of achieving a desired capacitance.
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al teaches wherein a first outer side and a second outer side of the first square are connected to each other through a fifth of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections that forms a fifth protrusion that extends from an outer corner of the first square to the inside of the first square(see elements 13, 12,Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al teaches wherein the fifth protrusion extends along a diagonal of the first square(see elements 13, 12,Figs 1,2).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al teaches wherein the first outer side and the second outer side of the first square are connected to each other through a fifth of the inwardly-extending narrow sections in the plurality of inwardly-extending narrow sections that forms a fifth protrusion that extends from an outer corner of the first square to the inside of the first square and a free end of the fifth protrusion is between free ends of the third protrusion and the fourth protrusion(see arrangement of elements 13 respectively, Figs 1,2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,2, 5-14, 16, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-40 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding independent claim 38, the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in part, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the combination of elements and features of, “wherein the first hook-shaped balun comprises a first metal segment that extends adjacent the first stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to fifth square, a third metal segment that extends adjacent the second stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square and a second metal segment that connects the first metal segment to the third metal segment, where the first and third metal segments are in between the first and second stalk portions, wherein the second hook-shaped balun comprises a fourth metal segment that extends adjacent the third stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square, a sixth metal segment that extends adjacent the fourth stalk portion in a direction perpendicular to the fifth square and a fifth metal segment that connects the fourth metal segment to the sixth metal segment, where the fourth and sixth metal segments are in between the third and fourth stalk portions”.
Claims 39 and 40 depend therefrom and are included in the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider addition pertinent prior art listed in the PTOL 892 Notice of References Cited attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAMEON E. LEVI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845