DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract of dated 9/17/2024 includes multiple paragraphs, along with reference numerals (51,31,3). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama et al (US 2019/0035622) in view Murachi et al (US 2018/0071883).
With regards to claims 1 and 4, Shibayama et al disclose a substrate processing method that can efficiently clean the main surface of a substrate using a hydrofluoric acid ozone solution while inhibiting or preventing additional adhesion of foreign matter via a cleaning brush, and a substrate processing device (paragraphs [0007], [0008],[0009]), wherein a processing unit 2 includes a spin chuck (substrate holding unit) 5 that holds a single substrate W in a horizontal orientation and causes the substrate W to rotate around a perpendicular rotating axis A1 that passes through the center of the substrate W, an FOM nozzle 6 that selectively discharges an ozone-containing hydrofluoric acid solution (hereinafter "FOM") and ozone water toward the upper surface (back surface Wb) of the substrate W held by the spin chuck 5, an FOM supply device 7 for selectively supplying FOM and ozone water to the FOM nozzle 6, a water supply unit 8 for supplying water to the upper surface of the substrate W held by the spin chuck 5, a cleaning brush 10 for touching the upper surface of the substrate W and scrub cleaning that upper surface, and a cleaning brush drive unit 11 for driving the cleaning brush 10 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 2); the water supply unit 8 includes a water nozzle 41, and the water is deionized water (DIW), for example (see paragraph [0072] and fig. 2); the cleaning brush 10 is a sponge-like scrub member made of PVA (polyvinyl alcohol), for example (paragraph [0073]); the cleaning brush drive unit 11 includes an oscillating arm 47 that holds the cleaning brush 10 at the tip part thereof, and an arm drive unit 48 for driving the oscillating arm 47 (paragraph [0074]); the cleaning surface 10a of the cleaning brush 10 pushes against the upper surface (back surface Wb) of the substrate W [0075].
Shibayama et al also disclose that a control unit 3 controls the arm drive unit 48, and executes scrub cleaning (T9: brush cleaning step) of the back surface Wb of the substrate W using the cleaning brush 10 as shown in fig. 12F, scrub cleaning of the back surface Wb of the substrate W is performed by the cleaning brush 10 while water is supplied, the arm drive unit 48 is controlled, the oscillating arm 47 oscillates around oscillation axis A2, the cleaning brush 10 is moved from the home position to above the substrate W, the cleaning brush 10 is lowered, the cleaning surface 10a of the cleaning brush 10 pushes against the back surface Wb of the substrate W, the arm drive unit 48 is controlled, the position where the cleaning brush 10 pushes is moved (scanned) between the center part of the substrate W (the position indicated by the solid line in fig. 9) and the outer peripheral part of the substrate W (indicated by the two-dotted chain line in fig. 9), the position where the cleaning brush 10 pushes scans the entire region of the back surface Wb of the substrate W, and the entire region of the back surface Wb of the substrate W is scrubbed by the cleaning brush 10 (paragraphs [0117]; [0151]).
Shibayama et al fail to disclose the sponge-like scrub member is not a resin body with abrasive grains dispersed therein as requires in claims 1 and 4.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Murachi et al disclose a process and apparatus for cleaning a substrate surface, wherein forming a polishing head “ph” formed of a PVA (polyvinyl alcohol) sponge in which abrasive grains are dispersed, in order to clean and uniformly remove contaminants, adsorption marks, contact marks, etc. remaining at the back surface of a substrate [0052],[0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Murachi et al's teaching of using a polishing tool (cleaning brush) having abrasive grains dispersed into the cleaning brush into the teaching of Shibayama et al for uniformly removing contaminants, adsorption marks, contact marks, etc. remaining at the surface of a substrate as suggested by Murachi et al.
Regarding claims 2, performing a second chemical liquid mixture discharging step would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for effective cleaning of a substrate’s surface as repeating a cleaning step until a desired level of cleanness.
Claim(s) 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama et al (US 2019/0035622) in view Murachi et al (US 2018/0071883) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Tang et al (US 11,728,185).
Modified Shibayama et al disclose above for the claims 1-2 but fail to teach that the chemical liquid nozzle is moved between above the center of the substrate and above the perimeter of the substrate, while the chemical liquid nozzle is discharging the chemical liquid mixture.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tang et al disclose an apparatus and process of cleaning a substrate surface after polishing the substrate, wherein, after polishing the substrate, the substrate is disposed on a substrate support and is rotated thereon. A front side of the substrate is heated using steam through a front side nozzle assembly, and a back side of the substrate is heated using steam through a back side dispenser assembly. The method includes dispensing a heated chemical over the front side of the substrate. The front side and the back side of the substrate is rinsed using carbon dioxide dissolved DIW and steam. (col. 1, lines 50-57).
Tang et al also disclose that the dispensing nozzle 106 provides good surface coverage of the substrate to clean the substrate using low amounts of chemicals and is movable between a center of the back plate and an outer perimeter of the back plate (col.3, lines 14-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Tang et al's teaching of moving the dispensing nozzle between center to the perimeter of the substrate surface for good surface coverage into the teaching of modified Shibayama et al for good surface coverage of the dispensed chemicals with low amounts as suggested by Tang et al.
By doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reduce processing cost as suggested by Tang et al by reducing amount of the chemicals.
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Shibayama et al disclose above but fail to dislocse the cleaning is performed after polishing operation.
However, Tang et al disclose above that the back side cleaning of a substrate is performed using an apparatus (Figures 1,2) by supplying a cleaning chemical mixture (col.4, lines 39-54); and wherein, after polishing the substrate, the substrate is disposed on a substrate support and is rotated thereon. A front side of the substrate is heated using steam through a front side nozzle assembly, and a back side of the substrate is heated using steam through a back side dispenser assembly (col. 1, lines 50-57).
Tang et al also disclose that the dispensing nozzle 106 provides good surface coverage of the substrate to clean the substrate using low amounts of chemicals and is movable between a center of the back plate and an outer perimeter of the back plate (col.3, lines 14-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Tang et al's teaching of cleaning after polishing process into the teaching of modified Shibayama et al et al for achieving a cleaned surface by removing residual contaminants on the polished surface as suggested by Tang et al with reducing processing cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713