DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 02/05/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0273535 to Sato et al. (“Sato”).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a substrate treating method (abstract, para [0003], [0016], [0046] – [0049], Figs. 5A – 5D) for treating a substrate (para [0003]) on which a pattern is formed (para [0016]), the pattern including a plurality of projections and a plurality of recesses (para [0046], Fig. 5A), the substrate treating method comprising: a first application step of applying a first dry assistant liquid containing a thermosetting material and a solvent to the substrate (para [0047], Fig. 5B); a first curing step of heating the first dry assistant liquid on the substrate to form a first solidified film on the substrate (para [0048] – [0049], Fig. 5C); and a first thermal decomposition step of heating the first solidified film to thermally decompose the first solidified film and drying the substrate (para [0049], Fig. 5D), wherein, in the first curing step, at least a part of the first solidified film is formed above the pattern, the first solidified film is in contact with upper ends of the projections (Fig. 5C, the solidified element 11as is covering the top of the protrusions), and the entire first solidified film is located above bottoms of the recesses (Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses a method wherein, in the first curing step, the first solidified film (ref. 11as) bridges the upper ends of the projections (Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 3, Sato discloses a method wherein, in the first curing step, the entire first solidified film is located at a position equal to or higher than the upper ends of the projections (Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses a method wherein, in the first curing step, the first dry assistant liquid is heated at a first low temperature, and in the first thermal decomposition step, the first solidified film is heated at a first high temperature higher than the first low temperature (para [0056], temperature increased between the first heating and the second heating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0273535 to Sato et al. (“Sato”).
Regarding claim 4, Sato does not explicitly teach the method wherein, in the first curing step, the first solidified film has a lower surface, the lower surface of the first solidified film is in contact with the upper ends of the projections and curves convexly upward between the projections adjacent to each other. However, since the Sato process of solidification is progressive and starts from the upper part of the thermosetting material, it can be reasonably expected that there is a moment in the process wherein the upper part of the material is solidified and not yet the lower part, and the lower surface of the solidified film is in contact with the upper end of the projections. At this moment, it can be reasonably expected that the liquid below curves convexly upward.
Regarding claim 8, Sato does not explicitly teach a method wherein, in the first curing step, the solvent in the first dry assistant liquid further evaporates. However, since the dry assistant liquid solidifies, it can be reasonably expected that the solvent evaporates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art reference is US 2015/0273535 to Sato et al. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of wherein, in the first curing step, the thermosetting material becomes a polymer, the first solidified film includes the polymer, and the polymer has a length larger than a width of the recesses (as in claim 5), or wherein, in the first curing step, a heating temperature of the first dry assistant liquid is adjusted based on a width of the recesses (as in claim 6), in combination with the other method steps as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714