DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1- objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the fin group” (line 6) which should be replaced with “a fin group of the one or the plurality of fin groups”, to avoid antecedent basis issue.
Claim 1 recites “the fin” (line 9) which should be replaced with “a fin of the plurality of fins”, to avoid antecedent basis issue.
Claim 3 (claim 4) recites “the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion” which should be replaced with “the plurality of first recessed portions and the plurality of second recessed portions”, to avoid antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 1 recites limitation “can be”. The phrase “can” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0279761 to Hori et al. (hereinafter Hori) in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2014/0196871, hereinafter Otsuka).
With respect to claim 1, Hori discloses a heat dissipation member (e.g., fin-integrated substrate including a metal base 20 with heat radiating fins 20a) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0001, ¶0020, ¶0033-¶0062) installable in a liquid cooling jacket (e.g., a box-shaped liquid cooling type jacket 30), the heat dissipation member (20/20a) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0033-¶0039, ¶0058-¶0062) comprising:
a plate-shaped base portion (20) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0033, ¶0035, ¶0040-¶0044, ¶0058-¶0059) that extends in a first direction (e.g., Y-direction) along a direction in which a refrigerant (e.g., colling liquid A flows in a vertical (Y) direction in Fig. 6(a) ) flows and a second direction (e.g., X-direction) orthogonal to the first direction, and has thickness in a third direction (e.g., a vertical direction in Figs. 6(b) and 6(c)) orthogonal to the first direction (e.g., Y-direction) and the second direction (e.g., X-direction);
one or a plurality of fin groups (e.g., the plurality of fins 20a formed at each of a plurality of positions) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0033, ¶0040-¶0044, ¶0058-¶0059) arranged side by side in the first direction (e.g., Y-direction), the fin group including a plurality of fins projecting from the base portion to one side in the third direction and arranged side by side in the second direction; and
a top plate portion (e.g., a tip portion of the fin 20a facing the liquid cooling jacket 30 in Figs. 6(b)-6(c)) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0059) provided at an end portion on one side in the third direction of the fin (20a), wherein
a gap (e.g., a space between the tip portions of the fins 20a and a top surface of the liquid cooling jacket 30) in the third direction (e.g., the vertical direction in Figs. 6(b) and 6(c)) is provided between the top plate portion and a top surface of the liquid cooling jacket (30) that can be arranged on one side in the third direction of the top plate portion.
Further, Hori does not specifically disclose that the top plate portion has a plurality of first recessed portions that are recessed from a surface on one side in the third direction of the top plate portion to another side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction.
However, Otsuka teaches forming a semiconductor module cooler comprising a plate-shaped base portion (e.g., fin base 2B) (Otsuka, Figs. 1-4, 7-10, ¶0002, ¶0013, ¶0035, ¶0053-¶0084) including a plurality of fins (2C) (Otsuka, Figs. 2-4, 7-10, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0058-¶0060) projecting from the base portion (2B) as a heat sink in the water jacket (2A) and having a top plate portion (e.g., a tip portion of the fin 2C facing the liquid cooling jacket 2A in Figs. 2 and 7-10) (Otsuka, Figs. 2 and 7-10) provided at an end portion on one side in the third direction (e.g., vertical direction in Figs. 2-4 and 7-10) of the fin (2C), wherein a gap (e.g., a clearance C between the tip portions of the fins 2C and a top surface of the liquid cooling jacket 2A) (Otsuka, Figs. 2, 7-10, ¶0060-¶0061) in the third direction is provided between the top plate portion and a top surface of the liquid cooling jacket (2A), and the top plate portion has a plurality of first recessed portions (e.g., upper portions of notches n1-n6 having sloped sidewalls in the fins 2C-1) (Otsuka, Figs. 4, 7-10, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0071-¶0084) that are recessed from a surface on one side in the third direction (e.g., vertical direction in Figs. 4 and 7) of the top plate portion to another side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction (e.g., longitudinal direction) in which a refrigerant flows (e.g., colling flow path 23), to prevent the coolant from escaping from the gap/clearance to improve cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori by forming a plurality of fin groups including a plurality of fins of Hori each having a plurality of first recesses as a plurality of notches of Otsuka, wherein the plurality of notches extends in a longitudinal direction of the fin and has upper portions with sloped sidewalls as taught by Otsuka to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion has a plurality of first recessed portions that are recessed from a surface on one side in the third direction of the top plate portion to another side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction, in order to prevent the coolant from escaping from the gap/clearance to improve cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 1. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion includes a plurality of second recessed portions that are recessed from a surface on another side in the third direction of the top plate portion to one side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction (as claimed in claim 2); wherein the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion are coupled in a third direction (as claimed in claim 3).
However, Otsuka teaches forming a plurality of second recessed portions (e.g., lower portions of notches n1-n6 having vertical sidewalls in the fins 2C-1) (Otsuka, Figs. 4, 7-10, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0071-¶0084) that are recessed from a surface on another side in the third direction of the top plate portion to one side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction (e.g., longitudinal direction) in which a refrigerant flows (e.g., colling flow path 23), wherein the first recessed portion (e.g., the upper portions of notches n1-n6 having sloped sidewalls in the fins 2C-1) (Otsuka, Figs. 4, 7-10, ¶0079) and the second recessed portion (e.g., the lower portions of notches n1-n6 having vertical sidewalls in the fins 2C-1) are coupled in a third direction, to prevent the coolant from escaping from the gap/clearance to improve cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka by forming a plurality of fin groups including a plurality of fins of Hori each having a plurality of second recesses as a plurality of notches of Otsuka, wherein the plurality of notches extends in a longitudinal direction of the fin and has lower portions with vertical sidewalls as taught by Otsuka to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion includes a plurality of second recessed portions that are recessed from a surface on another side in the third direction of the top plate portion to one side in the third direction and are arranged side by side in the first direction (as claimed in claim 2); wherein the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion are coupled in a third direction (as claimed in claim 3), in order to prevent the coolant from escaping from the gap/clearance to improve cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084).
Regarding claim 9, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 1. Further, Hori discloses a cooling device (e.g., fin-integrated substrate including a metal base 20 with heat radiating fins 20a) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0033-¶0044, ¶0058-¶0059) comprising: the heat dissipation member (e.g., the metal base 20 with heat radiating fins 20a) according to claim 1; and a liquid cooling jacket (30) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0034) that accommodates the heat dissipation member (20/20a).
Regarding claim 10, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 1. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose a semiconductor module comprising: at least one semiconductor device arranged on another side in the third direction of the base portion.
However, Hori teaches that the fin-integrated substrate including a metal base with heat radiating fins (20a) (Hori, Figs. 6(a)-6(c), ¶0014, ¶0020, ¶0033-¶0062) has excellent assembly ability of electronic components.
Further, Otsuka teaches forming a semiconductor module (Otsuka, Figs. 1-4, 19A, 24, ¶0013, ¶0035, ¶0053-¶0084, ¶0128-¶0130, ¶0133-¶0135, ¶0141, ¶0171-¶0174, ¶0247) comprising: at least one semiconductor device (e.g., circuit elements 3A-3C in Fig. 1 or 3D-3I in Fig. 19A including power semiconductor elements 32/33, such as, IGBT and FWD) arranged on another side in the third direction of the base portion (2B), to provide a semiconductor module with improved cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084, ¶0128-¶0130, ¶0141, ¶0171).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka by forming a plurality of semiconductor devices of Otsuka on the fin-integrated substrate of Hori, wherein the plurality of semiconductor devices includes power semiconductor elements as taught by Otsuka to have a semiconductor module comprising: at least one semiconductor device arranged on another side in the third direction of the base portion, in order to provide a semiconductor module with improved cooling efficiency by effectively utilizing the coolant for cooling the semiconductor elements (Otsuka, ¶0002-¶0004, ¶0066, ¶0084, ¶0128-¶0130, ¶0141, ¶0171).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0279761 to Hori in view of Otsuka (US 2014/0196871) as applied to claim 3 (claim 1), and further in view of Miyahara (US 2005/0193559).
Regarding claim 4, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 3. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion includes a bent portion that is bent toward another side in the third direction in at least one of an end portion on one side in the first direction and an end portion on another side in the first direction of the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion.
However, Miyahara teaches forming thin-plate heat-radiating fin structure (Miyahara, Figs. 1, 20, ¶0002, ¶0011, ¶0017-¶0020, ¶0057-¶0059, ¶0068, ¶0099) for efficiently dissipating heat produced by semiconductor integrated circuit (108), wherein the distal ends of the heat-radiating fins (3) are formed to bend and change direction such that the top plate portion of the thin-plate heat-radiating fin includes a bent portion that is bent toward another side in the third direction (e.g., vertical direction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka by forming a plurality of thin-plate heat-radiating fin having bended distal/top ends as taught by Miyahara to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion includes a bent portion that is bent toward another side in the third direction in at least one of an end portion on one side in the first direction and an end portion on another side in the first direction of the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion, in order to efficiently dissipate heat produced by semiconductor integrated circuit (Miyahara, ¶0002, ¶0011, ¶0059-¶0060, ¶0068, ¶0099).
Regarding claim 6, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 1. Further, Hori discloses the heat dissipation member, wherein the fin (20a) includes a side plate portion (e.g., extending in the Y-direction) (Hori, Figs. 6(a), 6(c), ¶0059) having a flat plate shape, the side plate portion extending in the first direction (e.g., the Y-direction) and the third direction (e.g., the vertical direction in Fig. 6(c)) and having thickness in the second direction (e.g., the X-direction in Fig. 6(b)), but does not specifically disclose that the top plate portion is bent in the second direction at an end portion on one side in the third direction of the side plate portion.
However, Miyahara teaches forming thin-plate heat-radiating fin structure (Miyahara, Figs. 1, 20, ¶0002, ¶0011, ¶0017-¶0020, ¶0057-¶0059, ¶0068, ¶0099) for efficiently dissipating heat produced by semiconductor integrated circuit (108), wherein the distal ends of the heat-radiating fins (3) are formed to bend and change direction such that the top plate portion (e.g., the top/distal portion of fin 3) is bent in the second direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular the extension direction of the fin 3) at an end portion on one side in the third direction (e.g., the vertical direction) of the side plate portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka by forming a plurality of thin-plate heat-radiating fin having bended distal/top ends as taught by Miyahara to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the top plate portion is bent in the second direction at an end portion on one side in the third direction of the side plate portion, in order to efficiently dissipate heat produced by semiconductor integrated circuit (Miyahara, ¶0002, ¶0011, ¶0059-¶0060, ¶0068, ¶0099).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0279761 to Hori in view of Otsuka (US 2014/0196871) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lin (US 2020/0149830).
Regarding claim 5, Hori in view of Otsuka discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 1. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose that a number of the plurality of first recessed portions arranged side by side with a same length in the first direction increases from an upstream side toward a downstream side.
However, Lin teaches the fin (100) (Lin, Figs. 1-4, ¶0002, ¶0007-¶0010, ¶0039-¶0047) including a through hole (P) (Lin, Figs. 1-2, ¶0040) formed in the side plate portion (111) of the fin (100) extending in the first direction and a minor structure (120) (Lin, Figs. 1-2, ¶0039-¶0041) projecting in the second direction from the side plate portion (111), to provide turbulent flow to increase the heat exchange efficiency of the heat dissipation device (Lin, ¶0002, ¶0010, ¶0044).
Further, Lin teaches an embodiment (Lin, Fig. 7, ¶0053), wherein the intervals (e.g., G1, G2, G3) between the holes (P) including the diversion parts (321) of the minor portions (320) of the fin structure (300) increase or decrease along a flow direction (F) which is defined as a direction from the inflow side to the outflow side, such that a number of the plurality of holes arranged side by side with a same length in the flow direction would increase from an upstream side toward a downstream side when the intervals decrease along a flow direction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka by forming a fin structure including side plate portions having a plurality of recesses to arrange minor structures protruding from the side plate portions as taught by Lin, wherein the intervals between plurality of recesses decrease along the flow direction to have the heat dissipation member, wherein a number of the plurality of first recessed portions arranged side by side with a same length in the first direction increases from an upstream side toward a downstream side, in order to provide turbulent flow to increase the heat exchange efficiency of the heat dissipation device (Lin, ¶0002, ¶0010, ¶0044, ¶0053).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0279761 to Hori in view of Otsuka (US 2014/0196871) and Miyahara (US 2005/0193559) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Lin (US 2020/0149830).
Regarding claim 7, Hori in view of Otsuka and Miyahara discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 6. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose that the side plate portion arranged at both ends in the second direction in the fin group has a plurality of third recessed portions recessed inward in the second direction and arranged side by side in the first direction.
However, Lin teaches forming the fin group (Lin, Figs. 1, 4, ¶0039-¶0041, ¶0044) including a plurality of fins (100) (Lin, Figs. 1-4, ¶0002, ¶0007-¶0010, ¶0039-¶0047), wherein the side plate portion (111) arranged at both ends in the second direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular the extension direction of the fins 100) in the fin group has a plurality of third recessed portions (e.g., a plurality of through holes P) recessed inward in the second direction and arranged side by side in the first direction (e.g., the extension direction of the fins 100) to arrange minor structures (120) (Lin, Figs. 1-2, ¶0039-¶0041) projecting in the second direction from the side plate portion (111), to provide turbulent flow to increase the heat exchange efficiency of the heat dissipation device (Lin, ¶0002, ¶0010, ¶0044).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka/Miyahara by forming a fin structure including side plate portions having a plurality of recesses to arrange minor structures protruding from the side plate portions as taught by Lin to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the side plate portion arranged at both ends in the second direction in the fin group has a plurality of third recessed portions recessed inward in the second direction and arranged side by side in the first direction, in order to provide turbulent flow to increase the heat exchange efficiency of the heat dissipation device (Lin, ¶0002, ¶0010, ¶0044).
Regarding claim 8, Hori in view of Otsuka and Miyahara discloses the heat dissipation member according to claim 6. Further, Hori does not specifically disclose that the fin includes a spoiler projecting in the second direction from the side plate portion.
However, Lin teaches forming the fin (100) (Lin, Figs. 1-4, ¶0002, ¶0007-¶0010, ¶0039-¶0047) including a through hole (P) (Lin, Figs. 1-2, ¶0040) formed in the main side plate portion (111) of the fin (100) extending in the first direction and a spoiler (e.g., minor structure 120) (Lin, Figs. 1-2, ¶0039-¶0041) projecting in the second direction from the side plate portion (111), to provide turbulent flow to increase the heat exchange efficiency of the heat dissipation device (Lin, ¶0002, ¶0010, ¶0044).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Hori/Otsuka/Miyahara by forming a fin structure including the side plate portion and a minor structure as a spoiler protruding from the side plate portion as taught by Lin to have the heat dissipation member, wherein the fin includes a spoiler projecting in the second direction from the side plate portion, in order to efficiently dissipate heat produced by semiconductor integrated circuit (Miyahara, ¶0002, ¶0011, ¶0059-¶0060, ¶0068, ¶0099).
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891