DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al (US 2006/0156971).
Kato et al teaches an apparatus for growing high-quality silicon carbide crystals 11, comprising a crucible 1, wherein a seed crystal 5 for growing silicon carbide crystals is arranged on a top wall 2 of the crucible; and an annular guide plate 6/7/8, wherein the annular guide plate is arranged in the crucible, a bottom end of the annular guide plate 8 is connected to a side wall of the crucible, a top end 6/7 of the annular guide plate extends toward the seed crystal 5, a gap 9 is formed between the top end 6/7 and an edge of the seed crystal 5, a first chamber is defined by the annular guide plate, the seed crystal, the side wall of the crucible and a bottom wall of the crucible jointly, a second chamber is defined by the annular guide plate, the seed crystal, the side wall of the crucible and the top wall of the crucible jointly, the first chamber is communicated with the second chamber through the gap 9, and a pressure equalizing structure 23 for balancing a pressure of the first chamber and a pressure of the second chamber is arranged on the annular guide plate; the pressure equalizing structure comprises air holes 23 formed in the annular guide plate, and the air holes 23 are communicated with the first chamber and the second chamber; and the annular guide plate comprises a first annular portion 8 and a second annular portion 6/7, the first annular portion 8 is connected with the second annular portion 6/7 at an angle, an end, away from the second annular portion, of the first annular portion 8 is connected with an inner wall of the crucible 2, an end, away from the first annular portion, of the second annular portion 6/7 extends toward the seed crystal, and the air holes 23 are formed in the first annular portion 8 (Fig 7; [0033]-[0067]).
Referring to claim 6, Kato et al teaches SiC powder 3 (Fig 7; [0066]).
Referring to claim 7, Kato et al teaches the hole 10, 23 located at an outer periphery (Fig 1-3, 7)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al (US 2006/0156971), as applied to claim 1, 6 and 7 above, and further in view of Gupta et al (US 2012/0285370).
Kato et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, except Kato et al does not explicitly teach a plurality of air holes are formed, and the plurality of air holes are formed into a circle or a plurality of circles around an axis of the crucible. Kato et al teaches a gas flow control member 6 with a hole 23 (Fig 7; [0064]), however does not explicitly teach a plurality of holes in a circle.
In an SiC sublimation apparatus, Gupta et al teaches a crucible 102, SiC source material 104; a seed crystal 106 and a baffle 114’/114’’ surrounding the seed crystal , and the baffle is perforated with a plurality of openings 132 that form pathways for vapor; the baffle is perforated by drilling twenty-four 2 mm in three rows of eight spaced uniformly around the circumference of the baffle , and the number of perforations can be between 4 and 40, and the diameter of each perforation can be between 1 and 3 mm ([0056]-[0080]; Fig 6-7), which clearly suggests a plurality of air holes are formed, and the plurality of air holes are formed into a circle or a plurality of circles around an axis of the crucible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kato et al by providing a plurality of holes in a circle, as taught by Gupta et al, to form pathways for vapor transport. Also, duplication of parts (holes) is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Kato et al and Gupta et al teaches the first annular portion is tabulated and perpendicular to an axis of the crucible, an outer peripheral wall of the first annular portion is connected with the side wall of the crucible, the second annular portion is a hollow cylinder or a hollow circular truncated cone, a bottom end of the second annular portion is connected with an inner peripheral wall of the first annular portion, and a top end of the second annular portion extends toward the seed crystal (Gupta Fig 7).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al (US 2006/0156971) in view of Gupta et al (US 2012/0285370), as applied to claim 1-2 above, and further in view of Brillhart et al (US 2016/0068955).
The combination of Kato et al and Gupta et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above, except the combination of Kato et al and Gupta et al does not explicitly teach the plurality of air holes are formed into the plurality of circles around the axis of the crucible, the plurality of circles of air holes are arranged in a radial direction of the crucible at intervals, and any two adjacent circles of air holes are staggered in the radial direction of the crucible.
In an apparatus for gas distribution, Brillhart et al teaches a gas distribution plate 128 and process gases flowing into and out of the blind holes 204; a pattern of the through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be configured so the process gases are evenly distributed; through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be formed in the gas distribution plate 128 in any suitable arrangement; the holes 202, 204 may have a hexagonal tiling arrangement; the holes 202, 204 may have any predetermined sizing and spacing; and a first plurality of the holes 202, 204 may have a first spacing, and a second plurality of the holes 202, 204 may have a second spacing different from the first spacing, wherein the through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be staggered; and a first plurality of through holes 202 may have a first dimension, while a second plurality of through holes 202 has a second dimension, first plurality of blind holes 204 may have a third dimension and a second plurality of blind holes 204 may have a fourth dimension; and the first, second, third, and fourth dimensions may be the same or different in any desired combination. ([0024]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Kato et al and Gupta et al by arranging the holes, as claimed, because the placement of holes is mere design choice and staggered holes is a known arrangement for gas distribution, as taught by Brillhart et al.
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Kato et al , Gupta et al and Brillhart et al does not explicitly teach the air holes incline toward the seed crystal, and hole diameters of the air holes are gradually reduced in a direction close to the seed crystal. Brillhart et al teaches holes 204 may have different dimensions and any shape ([0024]-[0034]); therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Kato et al, Gupta et al and Brillhart et al to have air holes incline toward the seed crystal, and hole diameters of the air holes are gradually reduced in a direction close to the seed crystal because different dimensions and shapes are mere design choice for desired air flow.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al (US 2006/0156971), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahane et al (JP 2011105524), an English computer translation (CT) is provided.
Kato et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, except the first annular portion comprises a plurality of layers of vertically-distributed sub annular portions, and the air holes are distributed in each of the plurality of layers of sub annular portions.
In a SiC sublimation apparatus, Takahane et al teaches a crucible 1; Container 10; seed crystal 23; Lid 20; SiC single crystal 22; and guide member 40 comprising a plurality of layers of vertically-distributed sub annular portions members 44b, 43b, 42b, 41b (Fig 1-9; CT [0030]-[0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kato et al by providing a plurality of layers of vertically-distributed sub annular portions, as taught by Takahane et al, to suppress the adhesion of polycrystals (CT [0011]). Also, Kato et al teaches holes in the annular portion; therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Kato et al and Takahane et al, to have holes in each of the sub annular portion because duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al (US 2006/0156971), in view of Takahane et al (JP 2011105524), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Brillhart et al (US 2016/0068955).
The combination of Kato et al and Takahane et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, as discussed above, except the air holes with the hole diameters gradually reduced are formed in the plurality of layers of sub annular portions in a transport direction of crystal growth components.
In an apparatus for gas distribution, Brillhart et al teaches a gas distribution plate 128 and process gases flowing into and out of the blind holes 204; a pattern of the through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be configured so the process gases are evenly distributed; through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be formed in the gas distribution plate 128 in any suitable arrangement; the holes 202, 204 may have a hexagonal tiling arrangement; the holes 202, 204 may have any predetermined sizing and spacing; and a first plurality of the holes 202, 204 may have a first spacing, and a second plurality of the holes 202, 204 may have a second spacing different from the first spacing, wherein the through holes 202 and the blind holes 204 may be staggered; and a first plurality of through holes 202 may have a first dimension, while a second plurality of through holes 202 has a second dimension, first plurality of blind holes 204 may have a third dimension and a second plurality of blind holes 204 may have a fourth dimension; and the first, second, third, and fourth dimensions may be the same or different in any desired combination. ([0024]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Kato et al and Takahane et al with air holes with the hole diameters gradually reduced are formed in the plurality of layers of sub annular portions in a transport direction of crystal growth components, because different dimensions and shapes are mere design choice for desired air flow, as taught by Brillhart et al.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al (US 2006/0156971), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loboda et al (US 2014/0220296).
Kato et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, as discussed above, except Kato et al does not explicitly teach the claimed pressure and temperatures for sublimation growth.
In a method of sublimation growth, Loboda et al teaches an interior of cell 40 and furnace 70 have been evacuated, the interior of furnace 70 is backfilled with a non oxidizing gas such as argon from argon source 88; the pressure is established near atmospheric pressure (500-700 torr) by controlling vacuum valve 90, and the container is heated to approximately 1,600-2,500°C; and the pressure is subsequently reduced to initiate the vapor transport process; the pressure is first reduced to the range of 10-100 torr; growth for 100 hrs and at the end of the growth process, the pressure is raised to approximately 600 torr, which suppresses any more vapor transport; and the furnace is then cooled to room temperature, which clearly suggests pumping air from the crucible and then filling inert gas into the crucible; heating the crucible so as to raise a temperature inside the crucible to 2,000-2,600°C; exhausting the crucible again so as to reduce a pressure inside the crucible to 0.01-4E3 Pa (0.075-30 Torr) ; sublimating the silicon carbide powder and starting to grow silicon carbide crystals on a seed crystal; after the silicon carbide crystals grow for 10-300 h, filling the inert gas into the crucible again to elevate the pressure inside the crucible to 5E3-1E5 Pa (37.5-750 Torr); and at the end of the growth of the silicon carbide crystals, stopping heating the crucible, and taking out the silicon carbide crystals from the crucible after the temperature inside the crucible is reduced to a room temperature. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kato et al by pumping air from the crucible and then filling inert gas into the crucible; heating the crucible so as to raise a temperature inside the crucible to 2,000-2,600°C; exhausting the crucible again so as to reduce a pressure inside the crucible to 0.01-4E3 Pa (0.075-30 Torr) ; sublimating the silicon carbide powder and starting to grow silicon carbide crystals on a seed crystal; after the silicon carbide crystals grow for 10-300 h, filling the inert gas into the crucible again to elevate the pressure inside the crucible to 5E3-1E5 Pa (37.5-750 Torr); and at the end of the growth of the silicon carbide crystals, stopping heating the crucible, and taking out the silicon carbide crystals from the crucible after the temperature inside the crucible is reduced to a room temperature, as taught by Loboda et al, to grow a SiC crystal by evacuating to remove impurities, and using conventional pressures and temperatures suitable for crystal growth.
Conclusion
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714