DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 09/18/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the method step of “generating an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold” appears to be a contingent limitation. The MPEP states that “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met” (see MPEP 2111.04). In this case, if the condition for generating an alert is not satisfied then the alert will not be generated. For examination purposes, the step of “generating an alert” does not need to occur if the threshold level is not exceeded.
The claim recites the method steps of “receiving an indication”, “comparing the moisture level”, and “generating an alert” without disclosing the devices for performing those steps. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted elements are: the devices for performing the functional steps of “receiving an indication”, “comparing the moisture level”, and “generating an alert.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claim 11, the claim does not disclose whether the phrase “a computer readable medium carrying processor executable instructions” refer to products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as computer programs per se; transitory forms of signal transmission; or non-transitory forms of signal transmission. Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Claims 7-10 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected base claim
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, the claim does not appear to further limit or define the method of claim 6. Rather, the claim further limits the medium carrying instructions for carrying out the method. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (Pat. No. US 10,096,215) (hereafter Lin) in view of Haverman et al. (Pat. No. US 7,231,887) (hereafter Haverman).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a monitoring system for a pneumatically operated door, the monitoring system comprising:
a sensor configured to monitor a pneumatic actuator (i.e., sensor 100) (see Fig. 4) of the pneumatically operated door (i.e., second test object 300) (see Fig. 4); and
a controller coupled to the sensor (i.e., monitoring module 200) (see Fig. 5) and configured to compare the level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator of the pneumatically operated door with a threshold (i.e., the control module 210 can determine that the first test object 400 and the second test object 300 are in the open state based on the logic-high electrical level, and that the second test object 300 has moved away from the first test object 400) (see Column 5, line 23, to Column 6, line 43) and to generate an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold (i.e., the second test object 300 may move relative to the first subject 400 to cause the non-electrical power operated 100 to make sound. The monitoring system senses the positional states the first test object 400 relative to the second test object 300 by the different frequencies, and send the positional states through the communication module 220 of the monitoring module 200 to the user's electronic device) (see Column 5, line 23, to Column 6, line 43);
but does not explicitly teach a dew point sensor configured to monitor a moisture level of an interior of a cylinder of a pneumatic actuator; and a controller coupled to the dew point sensor and configured to compare the moisture level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator with a threshold and to generate an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold.
Regarding the dew point sensor, Haverman teaches a dew point sensor (i.e., dew point sensor 20) (see Fig. 1) configured to monitor a moisture level of an interior of a cylinder of a pneumatic actuator (i.e., pneumatically controllable cylinder 5, 6, 7) (see Fig. 1); and
a controller coupled to the dew point sensor and configured to compare the moisture level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator with a threshold (i.e., the control unit first checks whether and how the compressed air system has to be set. To this end the dew point of the compressed air is determined by means of the dew point sensor 20. Then the temperature of the ambient air is determined. The dew point signal obtained from the dew point sensor 20 is expressed as a so-called dew point temperature. If the ambient temperature falls below said so-called dew point temperature, condensation occurs. A dew point limit is determined starting from the measured ambient temperature. Said limit may be equal to the ambient temperature but is preferably somewhat lower, so that an extra safety margin is incorporated) (see Column 4, lines 7-48) and to generate an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold (i.e., If the dew point is higher than the dew point limit, the counter is activated. This counter is deactivated and set to zero when the dew point has decreased to below the dew point limit. In case the counter reaches a predetermined limit of e.g. 2 hours, a time signal is emitted to the control unit 11 and measures have to be taken. The alarm light 21 is activated and a warning becomes visible on the control screen 22) (see Column 4, lines 7-48). In view of the teaching of Haverman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a dew point sensor in order to reduce or avoid condensation and to avoid damage or failure to the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a dew point of at least 12° C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 3, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a dew point of at least 15° C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 4, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a moisture content of at least 12,000 parts per million by volume. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 5, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a moisture content of at least 15,000 parts per million by volume. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches a method of monitoring a pneumatically operated door, the method comprising:
receiving an indication of an interior of a cylinder (i.e., monitoring module 200 includes a receiving module 260 for receiving sounds from the non-electrical power operated sensor 100 and sending a notification signal based on whether the first sound or the second sound is made) (see Column 5, line 23, to Column 6, line 43) of a pneumatic actuator (i.e., sensor 100) (see Fig. 4) of the pneumatically operated door (i.e., second test object 300) (see Fig. 4);
comparing the level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator of the pneumatically operated door with a threshold (i.e., the control module 210 can determine that the first test object 400 and the second test object 300 are in the open state based on the logic-high electrical level, and that the second test object 300 has moved away from the first test object 400) (see Column 5, line 23, to Column 6, line 43); and
generating an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold (i.e., the second test object 300 may move relative to the first subject 400 to cause the non-electrical power operated 100 to make sound. The monitoring system senses the positional states the first test object 400 relative to the second test object 300 by the different frequencies, and send the positional states through the communication module 220 of the monitoring module 200 to the user's electronic device) (see Column 5, line 23, to Column 6, line 43);
but does not explicitly teach an indication of a moisture level of an interior of a cylinder of a pneumatic actuator; comparing the moisture level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator of the pneumatically operated door with a threshold; and generating an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold.
Regarding the moisture level, Haverman teaches receiving an indication of a moisture level (i.e., dew point sensor 20) (see Fig. 1) of an interior of a cylinder of a pneumatic actuator (i.e., pneumatically controllable cylinder 5, 6, 7) (see Fig. 1);
comparing the moisture level of the interior of the cylinder of the pneumatic actuator with a threshold (i.e., the control unit first checks whether and how the compressed air system has to be set. To this end the dew point of the compressed air is determined by means of the dew point sensor 20. Then the temperature of the ambient air is determined. The dew point signal obtained from the dew point sensor 20 is expressed as a so-called dew point temperature. If the ambient temperature falls below said so-called dew point temperature, condensation occurs. A dew point limit is determined starting from the measured ambient temperature. Said limit may be equal to the ambient temperature but is preferably somewhat lower, so that an extra safety margin is incorporated) (see Column 4, lines 7-48); and
generating an alert if the moisture level exceeds the threshold (i.e., If the dew point is higher than the dew point limit, the counter is activated. This counter is deactivated and set to zero when the dew point has decreased to below the dew point limit. In case the counter reaches a predetermined limit of e.g. 2 hours, a time signal is emitted to the control unit 11 and measures have to be taken. The alarm light 21 is activated and a warning becomes visible on the control screen 22) (see Column 4, lines 7-48). In view of the teaching of Haverman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a dew point sensor in order to reduce or avoid condensation and to avoid damage or failure to the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a dew point of at least 12° C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 8, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a dew point of at least 15° C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 9, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a moisture content of at least 12,000 parts per million by volume. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 10, Lin as modified by Haverman as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the threshold is a moisture content of at least 15,000 parts per million by volume. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a tolerable threshold for the pneumatic device. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claim 11, Haverman teaches a computer readable medium carrying processor executable instructions which when executed on a processor cause the processor to carry out a method (i.e., the position state information of the first test object 400 relative to the second test object 300 is processed into a text, video, or audio form and stored in the storage module 250 before the control module 210 sends it to the user's electronic device. When it is necessary to send the position state information to the user, the control module 210 extracts the corresponding text, video, or audio from the storage module 250, and sends it to the user's electronic device in the form of a text message, video, or audio) (see Column 6, line 44, to Column 7, line 58).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892.
/Tran M. Tran/Examiner, Art Unit 2855