DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered as to the point that Kanbe et al. (US 2010/0308261, hereafter Kanbe ‘261) and Blakeney (US 2022/0170155, hereafter Blakeney ‘155) do not teach that the halogen compound comprises one or more selected from the claimed group but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barry et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0323008, hereafter Barry ‘008).
Claims 1-4: Barry ‘008 teaches an activator comprising a halogen compound comprising ethyl iodide for substituting a ligand in a precursor material ([0229]).
With respect to the limitations “wherein the activator activates a laminated film from one or more precursor compounds selected from” the claimed list, “wherein the thin film is prepared by using the precursor compound represented by Chemical Formula 1”, “wherein the thin film is applied to formation of the thin film for use as” one of the claimed uses, and, in Chemical Formula 1, L1, L2, L3, and L4 are the claimed structures, it is noted that these limitations are recitations of an intended use of the ethyl iodide, and there is no indication that said intended use requires a different structure than the ethyl iodide of Barry ‘008 or that the ethyl iodide of Barry ‘008 would be incapable of said intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02.II.
Claims 9, 12, and 14: Barry ‘008 teaches a method of forming a thin film for a semiconductor device (abstract, [0002], [0003]) comprising:
injecting a halogenated activator compound comprising ethyl iodide into a chamber to substitute a ligand of a precursor on a surface of a substrate ([0225], [0229]).
With respect to claim 12, Barry ‘008 also reads on the semiconductor substrate fabricated by this method.
With respect to claim 14, Barry ‘008 also reads on the semiconductor device fabricated by this method.
Claim 11: Barry ‘008 teaches that the thin film can comprise a tungsten film ([0230]).
Claim 13: Barry ‘008 teaches that the thin film can comprise two layers ([0230]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BG/
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713