DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 19, 2204 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34, 35, 37 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dinan, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180255538 A1.
Regarding Claim 34, Dinan discloses a method comprising: transmitting, by a user device to a network node, a first random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0121] [0122] wireless device transmits a random access preamble to a base station); receiving, by the user device from the network node, a random access procedure message that includes a random access preamble reception error indication (e.g., ¶ [0122] base station random access response may include a time alignment command; e.g. ¶ [0123] the indication is read as not containing the random access preamble identifier within the random access response); and performing, by the user device based on the received random access procedure message, at least one of a time adjustment (e.g., ¶ [0122] The wireless device may process the received time alignment command and may adjust its uplink transmission timing according the time alignment value in the command; e.g., ¶ [0123] random backoff time) or a frequency adjustment to improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0123] retransmit another random access preamble).
Regarding Claim 35, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan discloses further comprising: transmitting, by the user device to the network node based on the at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment, a second random access preamble as part of a second random access attempt by the user device (e.g., ¶ [0123] retransmit another random access preamble).
Regarding Claim 37, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan discloses wherein the random access procedure message comprises a random access preamble reception error indication that is indicated based on at least one of the following: a bit or a flag in the random access procedure message set to a value that indicates a random access preamble reception error indication; or an indicator provided at a location in the random access procedure message that indicates a random access preamble reception error indication (e.g., ¶ [0122] base station random access response may include a time alignment command; e.g. ¶ [0123] the indication is read as not containing the random access preamble identifier within the random access response).
Regarding Claim 48, Dinan discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0024] wireless device 406, processor 408, non-transitory memory 409); the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform operations that are functionally similar to the method of claim 34. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 34 shall be applied to claim 48.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan in view of Zhang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220338150 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 43, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the receiving, by the user device of the random access preamble reception error indication means that at least one of the following is true: at least one of an uplink time synchronization offset or an uplink frequency synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is greater than a threshold; the uplink time synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is greater than what can be adjusted by the network node via a Timing Advance field that can be received by the user device from the network node in a random access response within a message 2 or message B of a random access procedure; or the uplink time synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is in a direction that cannot be adjusted by the network node via a Timing Advance field that can be received by the user device from the network node in a random access response within a message 2 or message B of a random access procedure.
Zhang discloses wherein the receiving, by the user device of the random access preamble reception error indication means that at least one of the following is true: at least one of an uplink time synchronization offset or an uplink frequency synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is greater than a threshold; the uplink time synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is greater than what can be adjusted by the network node via a Timing Advance field that can be received by the user device from the network node in a random access response within a message 2 or message B of a random access procedure; or the uplink time synchronization offset for uplink communication between the user device and the network node is in a direction that cannot be adjusted by the network node via a Timing Advance field that can be received by the user device from the network node in a random access response within a message 2 or message B of a random access procedure (e.g., ¶ [0099] In this embodiment, the value(s) for synchronization (e.g., for UL synchronization) is obtained (e.g. determined, calculated) based on the self-calculation at the UE side. After acquiring the value(s) for synchronization (e.g. timing advanced (TA) value(s) and/or frequency offset(s)), the UE applies the calculated value for corresponding UL transmission. In an embodiment, the UL transmission may comprise physical random access channel (PRACH), physical UL control channel (PUCCH), sounding reference signal (SRS), physical UL shared channel (PUSCH), etc. For example, the UL transmission may include Msg-A of a 2-step random access procedure, the PUSCH scheduled by DL control information (DCI), the PUSCH scheduled by a RACH response, and/or pre-configured PUSCH (e.g. periodic PUSCH). In addition, the UE may report the calculated value for synchronization to the BS; e.g., ¶ [0100] In an embodiment, the UE may calculate (e.g. determine, obtain, acquire) the TA value(s) for synchronization based on timing information received from the BS. In an embodiment, the timing information may be related to transmissions from the BS to the UE. For example, the timing information may be an instant of either the beginning or ending of the sub-frame number (SFN), slot, half frame, or symbol carried in each transmission. In an embodiment, the timing information may be timing reference information (e.g., time stamp) or status information of the BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Ma; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Claims 36, 40 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan in view of Zhang in further view of Park et al, International Patent Application Publication No. 2007091810 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 36, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the random access procedure message comprises: a random access preamble reception error indication that indicates that the first random access preamble has been received by the network node and has been rejected because at least one of a time adjustment or a frequency adjustment is required by the user device to achieve at least one of a time synchronization and/or a frequency synchronization for uplink communication between the user device and the network node; and assistance information to assist or instruct the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node.
Park discloses wherein the random access procedure message comprises: a random access preamble reception error indication that indicates that the first random access preamble has been received by the network node and has been rejected because at least one of a time adjustment or a frequency adjustment is required by the user device to achieve at least one of a time synchronization and/or a frequency synchronization for uplink communication between the user device and the network node (e.g., ¶ [86] As described herein, a base station compares a received RACH preamble with preset particular criteria, such as an error rate for time synchronization and the number of times for the time synchronization, when a terminal transmits a RACH preamble to a base station in order to use a RACH. The base station requests retransmission of the RACH preamble to the terminal If the RACH preamble does not meet the criteria in order to reduce probability of data transmission failure due to inaccuracy of time synchronization and to decrease interference with transmissions by other terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improved time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of assistance information for the purpose of retransmitting the preamble, as disclosed by Park. The motivation to combine would have been to support a faster synchronization procedure (Park; e.g., ¶ [1]).
Dinan in view of Park does not expressly disclose assistance information to assist or instruct the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node.
Zhang discloses assistance information to assist or instruct the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node (e.g., ¶ [0099] In this embodiment, the value(s) for synchronization (e.g., for UL synchronization) is obtained (e.g. determined, calculated) based on the self-calculation at the UE side. After acquiring the value(s) for synchronization (e.g. timing advanced (TA) value(s) and/or frequency offset(s)), the UE applies the calculated value for corresponding UL transmission. In an embodiment, the UL transmission may comprise physical random access channel (PRACH), physical UL control channel (PUCCH), sounding reference signal (SRS), physical UL shared channel (PUSCH), etc. For example, the UL transmission may include Msg-A of a 2-step random access procedure, the PUSCH scheduled by DL control information (DCI), the PUSCH scheduled by a RACH response, and/or pre-configured PUSCH (e.g. periodic PUSCH). In addition, the UE may report the calculated value for synchronization to the BS; e.g., ¶ [0100] In an embodiment, the UE may calculate (e.g. determine, obtain, acquire) the TA value(s) for synchronization based on timing information received from the BS. In an embodiment, the timing information may be related to transmissions from the BS to the UE. For example, the timing information may be an instant of either the beginning or ending of the sub-frame number (SFN), slot, half frame, or symbol carried in each transmission. In an embodiment, the timing information may be timing reference information (e.g., time stamp) or status information of the BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Zhang; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 40, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the random access procedure message further comprises assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble.
Zhang discloses wherein the random access procedure message further comprises assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node (e.g., ¶ [0099] In this embodiment, the value(s) for synchronization (e.g., for UL synchronization) is obtained (e.g. determined, calculated) based on the self-calculation at the UE side. After acquiring the value(s) for synchronization (e.g. timing advanced (TA) value(s) and/or frequency offset(s)), the UE applies the calculated value for corresponding UL transmission. In an embodiment, the UL transmission may comprise physical random access channel (PRACH), physical UL control channel (PUCCH), sounding reference signal (SRS), physical UL shared channel (PUSCH), etc. For example, the UL transmission may include Msg-A of a 2-step random access procedure, the PUSCH scheduled by DL control information (DCI), the PUSCH scheduled by a RACH response, and/or pre-configured PUSCH (e.g. periodic PUSCH). In addition, the UE may report the calculated value for synchronization to the BS; e.g., ¶ [0100] In an embodiment, the UE may calculate (e.g. determine, obtain, acquire) the TA value(s) for synchronization based on timing information received from the BS. In an embodiment, the timing information may be related to transmissions from the BS to the UE. For example, the timing information may be an instant of either the beginning or ending of the sub-frame number (SFN), slot, half frame, or symbol carried in each transmission. In an embodiment, the timing information may be timing reference information (e.g., time stamp) or status information of the BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Zhang; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Dinan in view of Zhang does not expressly disclose the assistance information toward the goal of retransmitting the random access preamble.
Park discloses wherein the random access procedure message further comprises assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [86] As described herein, a base station compares a received RACH preamble with preset particular criteria, such as an error rate for time synchronization and the number of times for the time synchronization, when a terminal transmits a RACH preamble to a base station in order to use a RACH. The base station requests retransmission of the RACH preamble to the terminal If the RACH preamble does not meet the criteria in order to reduce probability of data transmission failure due to inaccuracy of time synchronization and to decrease interference with transmissions by other terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, improving synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Dinan in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of assistance information for the purpose of retransmitting the preamble, as disclosed by Park. The motivation to combine would have been to support a faster synchronization procedure (Park; e.g., ¶ [1]).
Regarding Claim 44, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the random access procedure message comprises assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a frequency correction indication or an additional frequency offset to be applied by the user device for an uplink transmission to improve a frequency synchronization offset; a time adjustment indication or time adjustment value, beyond or in addition to a Timing Advance, to be applied by the user device for an uplink transmission to improve a time synchronization offset; a command to the user device to perform another search or re-scan for more accurate satellite positioning signals received from positioning satellites in order for the user device to more accurately estimate its position; an indication of an additional time shift to be applied by the user device for a next or a second random access preamble transmission to reduce a likelihood of a collision with a transmission from another user device; information identifying a random access resource for the user device to transmit a second random access preamble via a contention free random access procedure; information identifying a random access procedure type, either 2-step or 4-step random access procedure type, to be used for a next or second transmission of a random access preamble; or a power command that instructs the user device to adjust its transmission power for a transmission of a next or second random access preamble.
Zhang discloses wherein the random access procedure message comprises assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node … wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a frequency correction indication or an additional frequency offset to be applied by the user device for an uplink transmission to improve a frequency synchronization offset; a time adjustment indication or time adjustment value, beyond or in addition to a Timing Advance, to be applied by the user device for an uplink transmission to improve a time synchronization offset; a command to the user device to perform another search or re-scan for more accurate satellite positioning signals received from positioning satellites in order for the user device to more accurately estimate its position; an indication of an additional time shift to be applied by the user device for a next or a second random access preamble transmission to reduce a likelihood of a collision with a transmission from another user device; information identifying a random access resource for the user device to transmit a second random access preamble via a contention free random access procedure; information identifying a random access procedure type, either 2-step or 4-step random access procedure type, to be used for a next or second transmission of a random access preamble; or a power command that instructs the user device to adjust its transmission power for a transmission of a next or second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0099] In this embodiment, the value(s) for synchronization (e.g., for UL synchronization) is obtained (e.g. determined, calculated) based on the self-calculation at the UE side. After acquiring the value(s) for synchronization (e.g. timing advanced (TA) value(s) and/or frequency offset(s)), the UE applies the calculated value for corresponding UL transmission. In an embodiment, the UL transmission may comprise physical random access channel (PRACH), physical UL control channel (PUCCH), sounding reference signal (SRS), physical UL shared channel (PUSCH), etc. For example, the UL transmission may include Msg-A of a 2-step random access procedure, the PUSCH scheduled by DL control information (DCI), the PUSCH scheduled by a RACH response, and/or pre-configured PUSCH (e.g. periodic PUSCH). In addition, the UE may report the calculated value for synchronization to the BS; e.g., ¶ [0100] In an embodiment, the UE may calculate (e.g. determine, obtain, acquire) the TA value(s) for synchronization based on timing information received from the BS. In an embodiment, the timing information may be related to transmissions from the BS to the UE. For example, the timing information may be an instant of either the beginning or ending of the sub-frame number (SFN), slot, half frame, or symbol carried in each transmission. In an embodiment, the timing information may be timing reference information (e.g., time stamp) or status information of the BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Zhang; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Dinan in view of Zhang does not expressly disclose the assistance information toward the goal of retransmitting the random access preamble.
Park discloses assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [86] As described herein, a base station compares a received RACH preamble with preset particular criteria, such as an error rate for time synchronization and the number of times for the time synchronization, when a terminal transmits a RACH preamble to a base station in order to use a RACH. The base station requests retransmission of the RACH preamble to the terminal If the RACH preamble does not meet the criteria in order to reduce probability of data transmission failure due to inaccuracy of time synchronization and to decrease interference with transmissions by other terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, improving synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Dinan in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of assistance information for the purpose of retransmitting the preamble, as disclosed by Park. The motivation to combine would have been to support a faster synchronization procedure (Park; e.g., ¶ [1]).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan in view of Zhang in further view of Qiu al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220183058 A1 (hereinafter Qiu).
Regarding Claim 41, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the random access procedure message comprises: a Type field that is either: 1) set to a value and/or is 2) provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit of the random access procedure message to provide a random access preamble reception error indication; a random access preamble identifier corresponding to or identifying the first random access preamble; assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble.
Zhang discloses wherein the random access procedure message comprises… assistance information that assists or instructs the user device in the performing at least one of the time adjustment or the frequency adjustment to improve time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0100] In an embodiment, the UE may calculate (e.g. determine, obtain, acquire) the TA value(s) for synchronization based on timing information received from the BS [i.e., the timing information is being interpreted as assistance information]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Zhang; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Dinan in view of Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the random access procedure message comprises: a Type field that is either: 1) set to a value and/or is 2) provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit of the random access procedure message to provide a random access preamble reception error indication; a random access preamble identifier corresponding to or identifying the first random access preamble
Kim discloses wherein the random access procedure message comprises: a Type field that is either: 1) set to a value and/or is 2) provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit of the random access procedure message to provide a random access preamble reception error indication; a random access preamble identifier corresponding to or identifying the first random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0048], Table 1, Format for a MAC subheader of Msg2 sent in response to a Msg1 in a two-step RACH: … T1: The Type 1 field is a flag indicating whether the MAC subheader contains a Random Access Preamble ID (RAPID, e.g., a preamble index), or a Type 2 field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, improving synchronization between the user device and the network node based on assistance information, as disclosed by Dinan in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of the RA response including identification of the RA requestor, as disclosed by Qiu. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient random access messaging (Qiu: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan in view of Ma et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210337598 A1 (hereinafter Ma).
Regarding Claim 45, Dinan discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 34.
Dinan does not expressly disclose wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting, by a user device to a network node via a serving satellite that is part of a non-terrestrial wireless network, a first random access preamble; and wherein the performing comprises performing, by the user device based on the received random access response message, at least one of a time adjustment or a frequency adjustment to improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node via the serving satellite for transmission of a second random access preamble.
Ma discloses wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting, by a user device to a network node via a serving satellite that is part of a non-terrestrial wireless network, a first random access preamble; and wherein the performing comprises performing, by the user device based on the received random access response message, at least one of a time adjustment or a frequency adjustment to improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node via the serving satellite for transmission of a second random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0135] UEs 115 in the wireless communications system 100 may perform initial access using a RACH procedure. The RACH procedure may allow a UE 115 to synchronize with the network for communication. In some cases, a UE 115 may perform a RACH procedure to initially access the network from a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode, re-establish an RRC connection, perform handover from one base station 105 to another, or perform any combination of these or other access procedures. A UE 115 may perform contention-based or contention-free RACH using a four-step or two-step RACH procedure. In a four-step RACH procedure, the UE 115 may transmit a RACH preamble (e.g., a RACH Msg1) to a base station 105 to initiate the RACH procedure. The RACH preamble may include a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) and may be transmitted on a PRACH. The base station 105 may respond with an RAR message (e.g., a RACH Msg2) carrying connection information for the UE 115. The UE 115 may transmit a RACH Msg3 based on the RAR message (e.g., in order to request an RRC connection), and the base station 105 may complete the RACH procedure by transmitting a RACH message 4 (Msg4) to the UE 115 for contention resolution. In a two-step RACH procedure, the UE 115 may combine the RACH preamble and the RACH Msg3 into a single transmission (e.g., referred to as a RACH MsgA, and the base station 105 may respond with a combination of the RAR message and the RACH Msg4 (e.g., referred to as a RACH MsgB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node for transmission of a second random access preamble, as disclosed by Dinan, with the disclosure of improve time and/or frequency synchronization between the user device and the network node via the serving satellite for transmission, as disclosed by Ma. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective random access procedure (Ma; e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 49 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent Claim 49, the prior art of record – namely Dinan, above -- discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0024] base station 401, processor 403, non-transitory memory 404); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, by a network node from a user device, a first random access preamble (e.g., ¶ [0122] wireless device transmits a random access preamble to a base station); and determine, by the network node, that at least… an improvement is required for at least one of a time adjustment for uplink communication between the user device and the network node (e.g., ¶ [0122] base station random access response may include a time alignment command) and/or a frequency adjustment.
The prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations transmit, by the network node to the user device based on the determining, a random access procedure message comprising: a random access preamble reception error indication that indicates that the first random access preamble is rejected based on at least one of a time synchronization offset and/or a frequency synchronization offset for the first random access preamble.
Claims 38, 39, 42, 46 and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 38, dependent form claim 34, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the random access preamble reception error indication comprises: an indicator provided within a sub protocol data unit, wherein the sub protocol data unit is located at a position within the random access procedure message that is not assigned to indicate a backoff indication, thereby the indicator indicating a random access preamble reception error indication.
Regarding Claim 39, dependent form claim 34, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein: the indicator provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit assigned for backoff indication of the random access procedure message provides a backoff indication; and the indicator provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit that is not the position or is not the protocol data unit assigned for backoff indication provides a random access preamble reception error indication.
Regarding Claim 42, dependent form claim 41, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the Type field comprises: a Type field set to a value and provided at a position or within a sub protocol data unit that is not a position or is not a sub protocol data unit assigned for backoff indication or is provided at a position assigned for random access preamble reception error indication, in order to provide a random access preamble reception error indication.
Regarding Claim 46, dependent form claim 45, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation determining, by the user device, pre-compensation that includes at least one of the frequency adjustment and the time adjustment based on the estimated user device location and the location and speed of the serving satellite, in attempt to provide or improve time and frequency synchronization for uplink communication between the user device and the network node via the serving satellite
Regarding Claim 47, dependent form claim 45, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the pre-compensation that includes at least one of the frequency adjustment and the time adjustment attempts to compensate for at least a portion of one or more of the following: a frequency synchronization offset due to a doppler effect based on movement of the serving satellite relative to the user device; and/or a time offset due to a radio wave propagation delay between the user device and the network node via the serving satellite.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471