Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 54 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 includes multiple periods. More specifically, there is an unnecessary period after “data collection coordination function” on lines 1/2 of claim 16 and an unnecessary period after “service communication proxy”.
Claim 54 is missing a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-15, 17 and 54-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US PGPUB 20220369145 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches a method for a network data analytics function, NWDAF, of a communication network, the method comprising (see sections [0067]- [0073], and FIGs. 6-7 “wireless network can be a consumer NF requesting the analytics result of the NWDAF, and the NWDAF is responsible for collecting and analyzing data from each NF to generate the analytics result requested from the consumer NF”),
receiving, from a data consumer network function, NF, of the communication network, (see section [0068], FIG. 7 “C consumer network function send request for analytics (Analytics ID, roaming, status…),
a request for an analytic or data associated with a user equipment, UE (see section [0068] FIGs. 6-7 “ a network analytics function receives an analytics result (subscription) request from a consumer NF to collect data and transmits the analytics result to the consumer NF requesting the analytics result. FIG. 7 illustrates a case in which a consumer NF belongs to a roaming network”),
in response to determining a need to collect the analytic or data from a first communication network (see section [0070], FIGs. 7 “the NWDAF having received the analytics request message determines data that needs to be collected to generate the analytics result, where the HPLMN corresponds to the first communication network”),
obtaining information identifying a gateway exposure function, cGEF, of the communication network (see section [0070] FIG.7 “in case of the roaming UE, the NWDAF queries the NRF to obtain information about the Home NWDAF (H-NWDAF) and other relevant NFs that store UE information. The NRF returns the requested NF information, including the H-NWDAF ID. The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”),
from a network repository function, NRF, of the communication network (see section [0070], FIG. 7 “The NF information request message requested from the NRF includes information for requesting information on the NF storing UE information in the roaming network”),
based on the obtained information, sending to the cGEF a request for the analytic or data associated with the UE (see section [0072], FIG. 7 715 “the NWDAF transmits a data collection request message for requesting data collection for the corresponding UE to the NWDAF of the home network using the NWDAF information of the home network The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”),
receiving the requested analytic or data from the cGEF (see section [0072] 719 FIG. 7 “the NWDAF of the home network transmits a data collection response message to transmit the data collected from the home network to the NWDAF of the roaming network that has requested the data collection”).
Regarding claim 2, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's visited public land mobile network, VPLMN (see section [0063], FIG. 5 “When a UE is in a roaming state, an AMF 103a-1, an SMF 130b-1, a PCF 130d-1, and an NWDAF 130g-1 belonging to a visited public land mobile network (V-PLMN) 501”),
the first communication network is the UE' s home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0063], FIG. 5 “UE addition, an SMF 130b-2, a PCF 130d-2, and an NWDAF 130g-2 belonging to a home public land mobile network (H-PLMN) 502”).
Regarding claim 3, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 2, In addition, PARK teaches determining the need to collect the analytic or data from the first communication network is based on one of the following included with the request: an analytic identifier, a Subscription Permanent Identifier, SUPI, of the UE (see section [0073], and FIG. 7 “The NWDAF of the roaming network comprehensively analyzes the data collected from the required NF of the roaming network and the home network to generate an analytics result. In operation 721, the network analytics function transmits analytics result with Analytics ID, subscription ID to the consumer NF”),
Or
an explicit indication that the requested analytic requires data from the first communication network (see section [0073] “The home NWDEF provides collected data to the Roaming NWDEF, which analyze data from both networks, generates an analytics result, send result to the consumer NF”).
Regarding claim 4, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0095] “NF information request message requested from the NRF includes at least one of information for requesting information on an NF storing UE information in the home network and serving PLMN”),
the first communication network is the UE's visited public land mobile network, VPLMN (see section [0095] “The NF information response message may include at least one of information on the corresponding NF and information (e.g., NWDAF ID2) on the NWDAF installed in the roaming network of the UE”).
Regarding claim 5, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 4, In addition, PARK teaches obtaining, from a unified data management function, UDM, of the communication network (see section [0092], FIG. 11 “ a network analytics function of a home network determines a roaming state of a UE using an NF or a user data management (UDM) and collects data through a data analytics function of a roaming network in a wireless communication system”),
an indication of consent by a user of the UE for collection of the analytic or data (see section [0094], FIG. 11 “the NWDAF transmits a subscription request message to a UDM that has stored subscriber state information to identify roaming network information”).
Regarding claim 6, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 5, In addition, PARK teaches determining the need to collect the analytic or data from a first communication network comprises obtaining, from the UDM, an indication that the UE is roaming outside of the HPLMN (see section [0094], FIG. 11 read as “The NWDAF determines required analytics data and when the UE is roaming, the UDM to obtain roaming information identifying the HPLMN (1105-1 and 1105-2)”).
Regarding claim 7, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 6, In addition, PARK teaches the indication that the UE is roaming outside of the HPLMN is an identifier associated with an access and mobility management function, AMF, serving the UE, (see section [0034] “The AMF 130a provides a function for access and mobility management in units of UEs. For example, the AMF 130a may support functions such as signaling between core network entities for mobility between 3GPP access networks”),
which includes an identifier of the VPLMN (see section [0063] “a UE is in a roaming state, an AMF 103a-1, an SMF 130b-1, a PCF 130d-1, and an NWDAF 130g-1 belonging to a visited public land mobile network (V-PLMN) 501 which is a roaming network to which a UE is currently connected in a roaming state may exist”).
Regarding claim 8, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, PARK teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions (see section [0110] “ the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs (software modules) provided”),
when executed by processing circuitry associated with a network data analytics function (see section [0054] and FIGs. 2-4 “hardware, the communication unit 310 may be constitute ed of a digital circuit “),
NWDAF, of a communication network (see section [0058], FIG. 4 “a core network device in a wireless communication system, that configuration of a device having the function of NWDAF”),
configure the NWDAF to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1 (see section [0039] “The NWDAF 130G provides a function for collecting and analyzing network data. The NWDAF 130G collects, from AFs and NFs, network data and local analytics information of each NF through a service-based interface”).
Regarding claim 10, PARK teaches a method for a gateway exposure function, cGEF, of a communication network, the method comprising (see sections [0067]- [0073] FIG. 7 “wireless network can be a consumer NF requesting the analytics result of the NWDAF, and the NWDAF is responsible for collecting and analyzing data from each NF to generate the analytics result requested from the consumer NF”),
receiving, from a network data analytics function, NWDAF, of the communication network (see section [0070] and FIG. 7 “the NWDAF having received the analytics request message determines data that needs to be collected to generate the analytics result”),
a request for an analytic or data that is generated by a data producer network function, NF, of a first communication network (see section [0071], FIG. 7 709 “the NWDAF transmits an analytics request response message to respond the fact that the request analytics of the consumer NF has been successfully received”),
sending the request for the analytic or data to a gateway exposure function, pGEF, of the first communication network (see sections [0072], [0073], FIG. 7 715 “the NWDAF transmits a data collection request message for requesting data collection for the corresponding UE to the NWDAF of the home network using the NWDAF information of the home network” (the procedure for analytics aggregation, where a NWDAF collects data/analytics from other NDWDAFs (pGEF) “Home NWDAF receive a data collection request from the roaming NWDAF. Then collect the data from home NFs, Home NWDEF sends the collected data back to the roaming NWDAF”),
receiving the requested analytic or data from the pGEF; and sending the received analytic or data to the NWDAF (see sections [0072], [0073], FIG. 7 715,719 “ The NWDAF of the roaming network comprehensively analyzes the data collected from the required NF of the roaming network and the home network to generate an analytics result. In operation 721, the network analytics function transmits an analytics result notification message to transmit the analyzed result to the consumer NF requesting the analytics result” behavior of a pGEF because it receive a request, gathers data and returns the requested information).
Regarding claim 11, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, PARK teaches the pGEF of the first communication network via a network repository function, NRF, of the communication network (see section [0070] and FIG. 7 “when a UE is roaming, the NWDAF discovers the home NWDAF and related NFs via the NRF so that it can collect the data needed for analytics (705 and 707) and receives the NWDAF information”).
Regarding claim 12, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, PARK teaches the cGEF is provisioned with policies and/or constraints for one or more of the following collecting analytics or data from other communication networks (see sections [0033], [0063] and FIG. 5 “when analytic/ data result received from the NWDAF in process of determining control parameters and operations, when a UE is in a roaming state, a PCF 130d-1 (Policy Control Function for creates policy rules to AMF and SMF) , and an NWDAF 130g-1 belonging to a visited public land mobile network (V-PLMN) 501 which is a roaming network”),
providing analytics or data to other communication networks (see section [0063] “an indirect collection model that collects roaming network and home network data between the NWDAFs of a roaming network and a home network, respectively, and transmits the collected data to a counterpart, and a direct collection model in which the NWDAF belonging to a roaming network or a home network collects data directly from a required NF through an inter-network interface”),
sending the request for the analytic or data to the pGEF is performed in accordance with the provisioned policies and/or constraints ((In roaming PCF Policy Control Function for creates policy rules) in both home and visited networks applies policy and QoS decisions based on analytics provided by NWDAF to transmits information on a data analytics function which is to request analytics data for a roaming UE or home”).
Regarding claim 13, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, PARK teaches the analytic or data is associated with a user equipment, UE, that is roaming in a visited public land mobile network, VPLMN (see section [0077] and FIG. 8 “813, each NF having received the data collection request message transmits a data collection response message to transmit the collected data to the NWDAF. In this case, the data collection response message may include at least one of home network information (e.g., HPLMN ID) for assisting the data collection of the NWDAF for the roaming UE, and related NF information (e.g., NF2 ID) in the home network”).
Regarding claim 14, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 13, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's VPLMN (see section [0063] and FIG. 5 “When a UE is in a roaming state, an AMF 103a-1, an SMF 130b-1, a PCF 130d-1, and an NWDAF 130g-1 belonging to a visited public land mobile network (V-PLMN) 501”),
the first communication network is the UE's home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0063], FIG. 5 “UE addition, an SMF 130b-2, a PCF 130d-2, and an NWDAF 130g-2 belonging to a home public land mobile network (H-PLMN) 502”).
Regarding claim 15, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 13, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0095] “NF information request message requested from the NRF includes at least one of information for requesting information on an NF storing UE information in the home network and serving PLMN”),
the first communication network is the UE's VPLMN (see section [0095] “The NF information response message may include at least one of information on the corresponding NF and information (e.g., NWDAF ID2) on the NWDAF installed in the roaming network of the UE”).
Regarding claim 17, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, PARK teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions(see section [0110] “ the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs (software modules) provided”),
that, when executed by processing circuitry associated with a gateway exposure function (see sections [0054], [0063], FIG. 5 “ a wireless network can be a consumer NF requesting the analytics result of the NWDAF, and the NWDAF is responsible for collecting and analyzing data from each NF to generate the analytics result requested from the consumer NF and the communication unit 310 may be constituted of a digital circuit”),
cGEF, of a communication network (see section [0063] “wireless network can be a consumer NF requesting the analytics result of the NWDAF”),
configure the cGEF to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 10 (see section [0070] FIG.7 “in case of the roaming UE, the NWDAF queries the NRF to obtain information about the Home NWDAF (H-NWDAF) and other relevant NFs that store UE information. The NRF returns the requested NF information, including the H-NWDAF ID. The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”).
Regarding claim 54, PARK teaches a network data analytics function (see section [0068] “a data collection procedure of a network analytics function to which an indirect subscription model is applied in a wireless communication system”),
NWDAF, of a communication network (see section [0039] “The NWDAF 130G provides a function for collecting and analyzing network data. The NWDAF 130G collects, from AFs and NFs, network data and local analytics information of each NF through a service-based interface”),
the NWDAF is implemented by communication interface circuitry (see sections [0054], [0057] and FIGs 2-4 “communication interface circuitry (Transceiver)”),
processing circuitry that are operably coupled and configured to communicate with a network repository function, NRF (see section [0054], [0057], FIGs 2-4 “processing circuitry (controller, CPU), a configuration of a device having the function of NRF (network repository function)”),
a gateway exposure function, cGEF, of the communication network (see section [0070] and FIG. 7 “The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”),
the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured (see section [0054], [0057], FIGs 2-4 “processing circuitry (controller, CPU) and communication interface circuitry (Transceiver)),
receive, from a data consumer network function, NF, of the communication network (see section [0068], FIG. 7 “C consumer network function send request for analytics (Analytics ID, roaming, status…),
a request for an analytic or data associated with a user equipment, UE (see section [0068] FIGs. 6-7 “ a network analytics function receives an analytics result (subscription) request from a consumer NF to collect data and transmits the analytics result to the consumer NF requesting the analytics result. FIG. 7 illustrates a case in which a consumer NF belongs to a roaming network”),
in response to determining a need to collect the analytic or data from a first communication network (see section [0070], FIGs. 7 “the NWDAF having received the analytics request message determines data that needs to be collected to generate the analytics result, where the HPLMN corresponds to the first communication network”), obtain information identifying a gateway exposure function, cGEF, of the communication network (see section [0070] FIG.7 “in case of the roaming UE, the NWDAF queries the NRF to obtain information about the Home NWDAF (H-NWDAF) and other relevant NFs that store UE information. The NRF returns the requested NF information, including the H-NWDAF ID. The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”),
from a network repository function, NRF, of the communication network (see section [0070], FIG. 7 “The NF information request message requested from the NRF includes information for requesting information on the NF storing UE information in the roaming network”),
based on the obtained information, send to the cGEF a request for the analytic or data associated with the UE (see section [0072] and FIG. 7 715 “the NWDAF transmits a data collection request message for requesting data collection for the corresponding UE to the NWDAF of the home network using the NWDAF information of the home network The “H-NWDAF” in the same figure, which corresponding to the cGEF”),
receive the requested analytic or data from the cGEF (see section [0072] 719 FIG. 7 “the NWDAF of the home network transmits a data collection response message to transmit the data collected from the home network to the NWDAF of the roaming network that has requested the data collection”).
Regarding claim 55, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 54, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's visited public land mobile network, VPLMN (see section [0063] and FIG. 5 “When a UE is in a roaming state, an AMF 103a-1, an SMF 130b-1, a PCF 130d-1, and an NWDAF 130g-1 belonging to a visited public land mobile network (V-PLMN) 501”),
the first communication network is the UE's home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0063] and FIG. 5 “UE addition, an SMF 130b-2, a PCF 130d-2, and an NWDAF 130g-2 belonging to a home public land mobile network (H-PLMN) 502”).
Regarding claim 56, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 55, In addition, PARK teaches the processing circuitry (see section [0054] and FIGs. 2-4 “hardware, the communication unit 310 may be constitute ed of a digital circuit “), and the communication interface circuitry (see sections [0054], [0057], FIGs 2-4 “communication interface circuitry (Transceiver) are configured to determine the need to collect the analytic or data from the first communication network based on one of the following included with the request: an analytic identifier, a Subscription Permanent Identifier, SUPI, of the UE (see section [0073] and FIG. 7 “The NWDAF of the roaming network comprehensively analyzes the data collected from the required NF of the roaming network and the home network to generate an analytics result. In operation 721, the network analytics function transmits analytics result with Analytics ID, subscription ID to the consumer NF”),
or
an explicit indication that the requested analytic requires data from the first communication network (see section [0073] “The home NWDEF provides collected data to the Roaming NWDEF, which analyze data from both networks, generates an analytics result, send result to the consumer NF”).
Regarding claim 57, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 54, In addition, PARK teaches the communication network is the UE's home public land mobile network, HPLMN (see section [0095] “NF information request message requested from the NRF includes at least one of information for requesting information on an NF storing UE information in the home network and serving PLMN”),
the first communication network is the UE's visited public land mobile network, VPLMN (see section [0095] “NF information response message may include at least one of information on the corresponding NF and information (e.g. NWDAF ID2) on the NWDAF installed in the roaming network of the UE”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US PGPUB 20220369145 A1) as applied to claim 10 above in view of Russell (US PGPUB 20220070674 A1).
Regarding claim 16, PARK teaches all the limitations of claim 10, However PARK fails to teaches the cGEF is part of one of the following in the communication network: the NWDAF, data collection coordination function. DCCF, network exposure function, NEF, service communication proxy. SCP, or security edge protection proxy, SEPP
Russell teaches cGEF is part of one of the following in the communication network: the NWDAF, data collection coordination function. DCCF, network exposure function, NEF (see section [0044] “A network exposure function (NEF) 118 provides application programming interfaces (APIs) for application functions seeking to obtain information”),
service communication proxy SCP (see section [0005] “Consumer NFs connect to the service communications proxy”), or
security edge protection proxy SEPP (see section [0053] and FIGs. 3 & 4 The NWDAF allows consumer NFs to subscribe to receive notification of events from the NWDAF and also to request for one time notification of an event. The request-response communications model is more applicable to the architecture in FIG. 3 where the SEPP requests a mobility pattern from aggregation node 300 in response to receiving a new UE registration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify PARK with Russell to include the cGEF is part of one of the following in the communication network: the NWDAF, data collection coordination function. DCCF, network exposure function, NEF, service communication proxy. SCP, or security edge protection proxy, SEPP thereby balances traffic among producer NF service instances that provide the required service or directly routes the traffic to the destination producer NF instance as taught by Russell (see section [0005]).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645