DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 4, 5 and 7, the phrase “based on total weight” is objected to grammatically. The objection can be overcome by changing the phrase to “based on the total weight”, which is how the claims will be interpreted.
In claim 11, the phrase “is a composite paste” is objected to grammatically as this phrase already appears in claim 10. The objection can be overcome by changing the phrase to “is the composite paste”, which is how the claims will be interpreted
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4, 5 and 7, the phrase “the paste” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. The rejection can be overcome by changing the phrase to “the composition” which is how the claims will be interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0263848).
The Examiner is interpreting the term “nanomaterial” using the definition in ISO/TS 80004 of a “material with any external dimension in the nanoscale or having internal structure or surface structure in the nanoscale”, wherein the nanoscale is a “length range of approximately from 1 nm to 100 nm”.
With regard to claims 1, 2, 4, 6-12, Kim et al. teach a piezoelectric composite 10, which reads on applicants’ piezoelectric ceramic material, that may be formed by curing a paste, which reads on applicants’ composition and form factor, wherein the paste comprises a polymer matrix 11, which reads on applicants’ polymer binder and carrier material, PZT piezoelectric particles 12, which reads on applicants’ suspended piezoelectric ceramic particles, and carbon nanotube conductive nanostructures 13, which read on applicants’ suspended carbon nanomaterial [0042]-[0045] and [0049]-[0052]. The piezoelectric particles can be present at 50 wt% to 90 wt% of the composition and the carbon nanotube conductive nanostructures can be present at 0.01 to 2 wt% of the composition [0044], [0045], [0050] and [0051].
Given the fact that the composition has the same form factor and the same materials present in the same preferred weight percentages, it will inherently be extrudable and have the viscosity as measured when printed at the specific shear rates as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0263848) in view of Lee et al. (US 2012/0133247).
Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 above; however, they do not specifically teach the form of the carbon nanotubes.
Lee et al. teach a flexible piezoelectric composite made from a composition that includes carbon nanotubes with piezoelectric particles, wherein the carbon nanotube structure may include graphene oxide [0033].
Since Kim et al. and Lee et al. are both drawn to carbon nanotubes in flexible piezoelectric composites, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the carbon nanotube structure of Kim et al. with graphene oxide type carbon nanotubes as taught in Lee et al. These are equivalent materials as they are both carbon nanotubes and there would been a reasonable expectation of success in forming a working piezoelectric composition.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0263848).
Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 above. It is noted that the graphene conductive nanostructures can be present at 0.01 to 2 wt% of the composition, which overlaps with the range claimed, and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists [0045].
It has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodkhe et al. (US 2019/0284423).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 6 and 8-11, Bodkhe et al. teach a piezoelectric composite that is formed as a suspension that can be extruded as a paste, which reads on applicants’ composition, and formed into a wire, which reads on applicants’ composite filament [0220]. The composite includes a filler and a piezoelectric polymer, which reads on applicants’ polymer binder and carrier medium [0213]. The filler can be lead zirconium titanate, which is PZT and reads on applicants’ piezoelectric ceramic particles [0201] and [0216]. The composite can also comprise graphene as an additive [0237]-[0240]; however, Bodkhe et al. do not specifically teach a composition having all of these materials.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the graphene, lead zirconium titanate and the polymer to form a piezoelectric composite as these materials are all taught in the reference as proper for this purpose. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in forming a proper piezoelectric composite paste from these materials as they are explicitly taught in the reference.
Given the fact that the composition has the same form factor and the same materials present, it will inherently have the viscosity as measured when printed at the specific shear rates as claimed.
With regard to claim 3, the filler can be a combination of graphene oxide and lead zirconium titanate [0201]; however, Bodkhe et al. do not teach an example with this combination of fillers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the graphene oxide with the lead zirconium titanate filler to form a piezoelectric composite as these materials are all taught in the reference as proper for this purpose. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in forming a proper piezoelectric composite paste from these materials as they are explicitly taught in the reference.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, Bodkhe et al. teach using additives of graphene in the composition [0240]; however, they do not specifically teach the amount to use.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used the additive in any amount, including from 0.05 to 1 wt% as claimed, in order to increase the conductivity of the piezoelectric composite to the amount desired while not adding so much that it affected the consistency of the composition.
With regard to claim 7, the filler is preferably present at a ratio of 10:90 relative to the polymer [0197]. This means the filler of lead zirconium titanate will necessarily be present at less than 90 wt% of the total composition as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 14 and 18 of copending Application No. 17/995921 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to compositions that include piezoelectric particles, carbon nanomaterials and a polymer material, which reads on the pending polymer binder and carrier medium. The pending claims are broad enough to include all of the limitations of the copending claims; however, the copending claims do not specifically teach what the piezoelectric particles and carbon nanomaterials are.
Applicant’s attention is drawn to MPEP 804 where it is disclosed that “the specification can always be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in a patent claim.” In re Boylan, 392 F.2d 1017, 157 USPQ 370 (CCPA 1968). Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. (underlining added by examiner for emphasis) In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438,164 USPQ 619,622 (CCPA 1970).
Consistent with the above underlined portion of the MPEP citation, attention is drawn to [0059] and [0063] of the specification of copending application 17/995921 which defines what is meant by piezoelectric particles and carbon nanomaterials in that they are PZT and graphene oxide; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the piezoelectric particles and carbon nanomaterials of the copending claims be PZT and graphene oxide as presently claimed. It would also have been obvious to have included these materials in any amount of the composition, including from 0.05-1 wt% of the graphene oxide and less than 90 wt% of PZT particles with the balance being the polymer material, such that the composition had the desired piezoelectric properties while also being coherently held together by the polymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Gerard Higgins/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785