DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WATANABE (JP2021021867 cited in the instant application IDS filed on and English translated document is filed).
As of Claim 1: WATANABE teaches an information processing apparatus (¶0039 and note that the image pickup apparatus 100) comprising:
a camera that captures an image of a target (¶0039 and note that image pickup apparatus 110 that takes an image from diagonally above the subject surface illuminates the object to be imaged); an illuminator that illuminates the target (¶0042 and note that the imaging device 100 selects an illumination unit to be turned on from a plurality of illumination units 121A and 121B based on the angle of view of the image pickup unit 110); at least one memory that is configured to store instructions (¶0045 and note that calculation unit 150 stores the association information in which the angle of view and the ratio of the irradiation intensities of the illumination units 121A and 121B are associated with each other. Also FIG. 4 exhibits a ROM 12, a RAM 13, an external memory 14); and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to:
change an illumination range of the illuminator based on with a position of the target (¶¶0029-0030 and note that using the height H calculated in S1, the distance D from the imaging unit 110 to the subject surface corresponding to each imaging angle theta within the imaging range is calculated. Here, the imaging angle theta is an
angle formed by a main ray corresponding to each object point on the subject surface and a perpendicular line drawn on the subject surface. The distance D is the distance from the imaging unit 110 to a point on the subject surface, and is expressed by the following equation (1). D = H / cos (theta)(1). As shown in FIG. 6, when
the tilt angle is 00 and the angle of view (total angle of view) is 01, the lower end of the
captured image is an object on the subject surface S.).
As of Claim 2: the at least one processor (¶0022 and exhibits the network processing unit 160 does the processing. Also, it should be noted that at least a part of the functions of each element of the image pickup apparatus 100 shown in FIG. 2 can be realized by the CPU 11 executing the program.) that is configured to execute the instructions to: change a capturing range of the camera based on the position of the target, and change the illumination range of the illuminator based on the change in the capturing range of the camera (¶¶0029-0030).
As of Claim 11: WATANABE further teaches the illuminator includes a first illuminator and a second illuminator, wherein the first illuminator is separated from the second illuminator (¶¶0015,0016), and wherein the illumination range of each of the first illuminator and the second illuminator is changed based on the position of the target (¶¶0016, 0029-0030 and note that the irradiation angle of the illumination
unit 121A is wider than the irradiation angle of the illumination unit 121B. Here, the irradiation angle is an irradiation angle that is half the peak value of the illuminance distribution. In the case of the illumination unit 121A, since the peak value of the illuminance distribution is 0.6 as shown in FIG. 3, the irradiation angle is
120 which is the irradiation angle at 0.3, which is half of the peak value. Similarly, in the case of the illumination unit 121B, the irradiation angle is 70 °, which is the irradiation angle at 0.5, which is the half value of the peak value.).
As of Claim 12: WATANABE further teaches the at least one processor (¶0022 and the functions of each element of the image pickup apparatus 100 shown in FIG. 2 can be realized by the CPU 11 executing the program) is configured to execute the instructions to: rotate the first illuminator by a first angle; and rotate the second illuminator by a second angle; wherein the first angle and second angle are different (¶¶0016, 0029-0030).
As of Claim 15: An information processing method for claim 1 and all the limitations are addressed in Claim 1.
As of Claim 16: All the limitations are addressed in Claim 1. Moreover, WATANABE teaches a non-transitory recording medium on which a computer program that allows at least one computer to execute an information processing method is recorded (¶0055).
Claims 13&14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE (JP2021021867 cited in the instant application IDS filed on and English translated document is filed) in view of TSUNEKAWA (JP2012247527A) cited in the instant application IDS filed on 09/20/24 and English translated document is filed).
As of Claim 13: WATANABE teaches the first illuminator and the second illuminator, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: rotate the first illuminator by a first angle (¶¶0052-0054); and rotate the second illuminator by a second angle (¶¶0037, 0053 and note that two lighting units 121A and 121B are provided, three or more lighting units may be provided. As long as the irradiation angle can be changed, the number of illumination units may be one. Further, if the irradiation angles are different, the number of irradiation portions may be three or more.).
WATANABE does not explicitly include a third illuminator that is separated from the first illuminator and the second illuminator.
TSUNEKAWA is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced TSUNEKAWA teaches an imaging apparatus 1 includes lights 41A and 41B capable of switching irradiation light between spot light and diffusion light that would have prompted a predictable variation of WATANABE by applying TSUNEKAWA’s known principal of a third illuminator that is separated from the first illuminator and the second illuminator, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: rotate the first illuminator by a first angle (¶¶0052-0056); and rotate the third illuminator by a third angle; wherein the first angle, second angle and third angle are different (¶¶0052, 0053 and note that 41A, 41B, 41C. Angles change in ¶0057).
In view of the motivations such as providing an imaging apparatus that contributes to realizing an appropriate illumination state as disclosed in ¶0006 thereby supporting various shooting environments (subjects). Therefore, it is possible to realize an appropriate lighting state and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of WATANABE.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 14: WATANABE in view of TSUNEKAWA further teaches the third illuminator includes a plurality of lighting units, and is configured to change its illumination range by separately changing respective illumination aspects of the plurality of lighting units (WATANABE ¶0037 and note that two lighting units 121A and 121B are provided, three or more lighting units may be provided. Also see TSUNEKAWA ¶¶0052-0057).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE (JP2021021867 cited in the instant application IDS filed on 09/20/24 and English translated document is filed) in view of TAKAHASHI (JP2003002137A) cited in the instant application IDS filed on 09/20/24 and English translated document is filed).
As of Claim 8: WATANABE does not explicitly teach a belt that moves when the mirror moves, wherein the illumination range of the illuminator changes based on the movement of the belt of the capturing range change unit transmitted through the belt.
TAKAHASHI is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced TAKAHASHI teaches a mechanical coupling mechanism provided
between light projecting range adjuster and the imaging range adjuster is provided that would have prompted a predictable variation of WATANABE by applying TAKAHASHI’s known principal of a belt that moves when the mirror moves, wherein the illumination range of the illuminator changes based on the movement of the belt of the capturing range change unit transmitted through the belt (¶¶0021,0026-0028 and note that The "imaging range adjuster" includes the infrared camera 2,
the shaft 23, the bearing 38, and the bearing 36f. The "connection mechanism" includes gears 24, 31, 32, 33, 34,a gear box 35, a shaft 37, and a belt B and ¶0028 discloses When the rotating shaft 41 of the motor 4 rotates clockwise by a predetermined amount, the power is transmitted to the movable reflector 12 via the gears 32, 33, and 34, the shaft 16 and the support 15, and the movable reflector 12 is Rotate clockwise horizontally. The power of the rotating shaft 41 of the motor 4 is transmitted to the infrared camera 2 via the gear 31, the belt B, the gear 24, and the shaft 23, and the infrared camera 2 rotates clockwise in the horizontal direction. At this time, the infrared camera 2 is rotated at a swing angle larger than the swing angle of the movable reflector 12 by the gears 24, 31, 32, 33, and 34 set at a predetermined gear ratio in advance.).
In view of the motivations such as providing better visibility by adjusting an imaging range of the camera according to an operation of the projection range adjuster as disclosed in ¶0005 thereby supporting safe driving during turn. Therefore, it is possible to realize an appropriate lighting state and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of WATANABE.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 9: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI further teaches a rack coupled to the illuminator; and a rack coupled with the holding unit; and a gear that moves the rack, wherein the illumination range of the illuminator changes in response to the gear moving the rack (TAKAHASHI ¶¶0021,0026-0028).
As of Claim 10: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI further teaches the at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to rotate the illuminator by a first angle; and rotate the camera by a second angle; wherein the first angle and second angel are different (TAKAHASHI ¶¶0021,0026-0028).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE (JP2021021867 cited in the instant application IDS filed on and English translated document is filed) in view of TAKAHASHI JP2001268416A cited in the instant application IDS filed on 09/20/24 and English translated document is filed).
As of Claim 3:WATANABE does not explicitly teach the capturing range of the camera is changed by moving a mirror based on the position of the target and wherein the illumination range of the illuminator based on the moving the mirror.
TAKAHASHI is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced TAKAHASHI teaches an imaging device that can image not
only in the front direction but also in the back direction, can simplify the structure of the rotating operation, and can eliminate the cause of failure due to the rotating operation. that would have prompted a predictable variation of WATANABE by applying TAKAHASHI’s known principal of the capturing range of the camera is changed by moving a mirror based on the position of the target and wherein the illumination range of the illuminator based on the moving the mirror (¶¶0023,0024,0044-0047,0056 and note that he reflection-type image pickup device 10 is provided on the front and back surfaces, and is made up of field windows 13a and 13b for inputting an incident optical axis C, that is, a field image, and mirrors on both the front and back sides).
In view of the motivations such as guiding the incident optical axis to
the image sensor by reflecting the incident optical axis, and rotates the reflector plate as disclosed in ¶0010 thereby the object to be imaged can be easily enlarged only by changing the reflecting surface to a concave mirror. Therefore, it is possible to realize an appropriate lighting state and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of WATANABE.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 4: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A) further teaches the mirror includes a planar and a concave surface (TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A) ¶¶0017,0025,0042,0044), and the camera captures the target via the planar surface in response to a distance to the target is a first distance, and captures the target via the concave surface in response to the distance to the target is a second distance that is less than the first distance (TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A ¶¶0023,0024,0044-0047,0056).
As of Claim 5: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A) further teaches the at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to a distortion correction unit that corrects correct a distortion of an image captured via the concave second surface TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A ¶¶0050-0056).
Claims 6&7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE (JP2021021867 cited in the instant application IDS filed on and English translated document is filed) in view of TAKAHASHI JP2001268416A cited in the instant application IDS filed on 09/20/24 and English translated document is filed) and further in view of NAGAI et al. (US 20210042401 A1; hereafter NAGAI).
As of Claim 7: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: perform authentication processing using a first image captured by the camera via the planar surface in the response to the target being at the first distance;
perform the authentication processing using a second image captured by the camera via the concave second surface in response to the distance to the target is the second distance; and perform the authentication processing using a third image captured by the second camera in response to the distance to the target being less than the second distance, and the authentication processing using the first image being unsuccessful.
NAGAI is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced NAGAI teaches an authentication unit configured so as to be capable of using the three-dimensional information for the face of the authentication subject as calculated by the three-dimensional information generation unit to execute a three-dimensional face authentication of the authentication subject that would have prompted a predictable variation of WATANABE by applying TAKAHASHI’s known principal of perform authentication processing using a first image captured by the camera via the planar surface in the response to the target being at the first distance;
perform the authentication processing using a second image captured by the camera via the concave second surface in response to the distance to the target is the second distance; and perform the authentication processing using a third image captured by the second camera in response to the distance to the target being less than the second distance, and the authentication processing using the first image being unsuccessful.
(¶¶0007,0030,0186 and note that calculate the distance to each of the plurality of portions of the face of the authentication target even if the two optical systems are arranged with being close to each other. With this configuration, as compared with the conventional stereo camera type authentication device, it is possible to more downsize the authentication device. Further, since the authentication device of the present invention does not use the parallel disparity for calculating the distance to each of the plurality of portions of the face of the authentication target).
In view of the motivations such as providing an authentication device which can create the three-dimensional information of the face of the authentication target without using any parallel disparity between the plurality of images and perform the three-dimensional face authentication using the created three-dimensional information of the face of the authentication target as disclosed in ¶0009 thereby an accuracy of the authentication increases due to the presence or absence of a direction of face, a difference of illumination or the like at the time of imaging the face and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of WATANABE.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 6: WATANABE in view of TAKAHASHI (JP2001268416A) in view of NAGAI further teaches the camera captures the target that is moving, and the information processing apparatus further comprises a second camera that captures the target that is stationary (¶0090 of NAGAI the first image sensor S1 of the first imaging system IS1 has a function of imaging the first optical image formed by the first optical system OS1 to obtain a first image (which is image data). Similarly, the second image sensor S2 of the second imaging system IS2 has a function of imaging the second optical image formed by the second optical system OS2 to obtain a second image (which is image data)).
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638