DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (WO2012102212 - see machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura, drawn also to the art of a resin composition sheet and a method of forming a laminate with a resin sheet (10) (insulating layer), metal foil (30) +wiring layer (40) (circuit pattern), metal substrate (20) (base substrate), and an electronic component (LED light source member) (Title; Abstract), discloses a method of providing a resin sheet and laminating a resin sheet with a metal wiring board with the insulating layer between a metal foil wiring layer and metal substrate, and further a step of an electronic component on the metal foil wiring layer ([0146 & 0155]). Essentially, Nishimura discloses a method of laminating 4 different layers, a resin sheet, a metal foil wiring layer, a metal substrate, and an electronic component, with the electronic component provided on the metal foil wiring layer and the resin sheet bonding the metal substrate and metal foil wiring layer, and being disposed between the two, akin to the instantly claimed method in instant claim 1 (see also [0152-0159]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura discloses that the resin sheet is semi-cured (B-stage) [0140] and applied to the metal substrate and then fully cured (C-stage) [0146] when laminating with the metal foil wiring layer [0176-0177].
Regarding claims 6 & 8 (both claims have same limitations but different dependencies), Nishimura has disclosed the resin sheet being a cured film of a latent curable resin composition i.e. a resin composition that is cured in stages (see claim 2 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (WO2012102212 - see machine translation attached).
Regarding claims 3-5 & 7 (claims recite similar limitations with different dependencies), Nishimura discloses a step of applying a resin composition to a base sheet (plastic film, PET – [0132 & 0165]), and heating a resin composition (drying) to form a semi-cured resin sheet [0165], and then applying the resin sheet (base sheet + semi-cured resin) to a base substrate and heating and pressurizing [0169], and peeling the PET film [0169], and then further heating and pressurizing a laminate of the resin sheet between a metal foil wiring layer and metal substrate to temporarily bond and fully cure the resin sheet [0176 & 0169 & 0155]. Nishimura discloses the temperature range for drying to be between 50oC to 110oC [0123], and discloses the temperature range for semi-curing to be between 70oC to 160oC [0126 & 0176] and a pressure to be 1MPa [0176 & 0132 & 0135], and further the temperature range for fully curing and temporarily bonding to be between 80oC to 250oC and a pressure to be between 0.5MPa to 8 MPa [0155 & 0169]. Thus the ranges for the temperatures and pressures as claimed in instant claims 3-5 & 7 are obviated as the ranges for the temperatures and pressures disclosed by Nishimura form overlapping and encompassing ranges with the instantly claimed ranges. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claims 9-11 (the claims have same limitations but different dependencies), Nishimura has disclosed the resin sheet being a cured film of a latent curable resin composition i.e. a resin composition that is cured in stages (see claim 2 rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S Patents 8518204B2 & 3240647A, and U.S PG Pubs 20130126081A1 & 20070141330A1.
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746