DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, drawn to the bone biopsy assembly of claims 10-13 and 30, in the reply filed on 7/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 17, 25-29, and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/17/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a lost motion receiver” in claim 30; and
“a drive connector” in claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 10 positively recites “…the trephine needle is being seated in the bone prior to boring”. The scope of the claimed invention necessarily requires the at least a portion of the human body when the trephine needle is seated “in the bone”, rendering the scope of the claim non-statutory subject matter for requiring the human body. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner respectfully recommends reciting “…the trephine needle is configured to be seated in a bone prior to boring”, or the like, which would appear to obviate the issue. Depending claims 11-13 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory issue.
Claim 13 positively recites “…whereby one is able to visually monitor a depth of the bone biopsy during bone boring”. The scope of the claimed invention necessarily requires the at least a portion of the human body when the trephine needle is seated “in the bone”, rendering the scope of the claim non-statutory subject matter for requiring the human body. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner respectfully recommends reciting “…wherein the indicia are configured to provide visual monitoring of a depth of a bone biopsy procedure (or assembly) during bone boring”, or the like, which would appear to obviate the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 positively recites the limitation "the bone" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Consistent with the instant Specification and as appears to be the intent, the Examiner respectfully recommends alternatively reciting “a bone”, or the like. Depending claims 11-13 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim 13 positively recites the limitation “the bone biopsy” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Consistent with the instant Specification and as appears to be the intent, the Examiner respectfully recommends alternatively reciting “a bone biopsy”, or the like.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peliks et al. (US 2021/0275154 A1, hereinafter Peliks).
For claim 30, Peliks discloses a bone biopsy assembly (100) (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]), comprising inter alia:
a lost motion receiver (110) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]);
a trephine needle (150) including an elongated shaft having a first end, a second end and a lumen extending from the first end to the second end (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]);
a stylet (160) received for sliding movement within the lumen and the lost motion receiver wherein the stylet includes an elongated body having a pointed tip (161) at a first terminus and a head (162) at a second terminus (Fig 2,7A,7B) ([0027-0063]);
a drive connector (117) at the proximal end of the lost motion receiver and a cutting edge (151) at the first end of the trephine needle (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]);
a coupler (158) releasably securing the lost motion receiver to the trephine needle wherein the coupler includes (a) a male connector (159) at the second end of the trephine needle, (b) a cooperating female connector (142) at the distal end of the lost motion receiver, (c) a locking ring (112) carried on the lost motion receiver and (d) a cooperating locking boss (128) carried on the trephine needle (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]); and
a stylet seat (117, 154) at the second end of the trephine needle adapted for receiving and holding said head of said stylet when the stylet is positioned within the trephine needle in a trephine needle seating position with the pointed tip projecting beyond the cutting edge wherein the stylet seat is provided in the male connector and the stylet seat is in the form of an acircular socket (154) and the head includes an acircular cross section (cross section of hub 154 includes protruding lugs 155) whereby when the stylet is in the trephine needle seating position, the head is received in the acircular socket and the stylet is locked for rotation with the trephine needle (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]).
For claim 10, Peliks discloses the bone biopsy assembly of claim 30, further including a removable stop (124) that is engaged in an opening in the lost motion receiver to secure the stylet in the trephine needle seating position when the trephine needle is being seated in the bone prior to boring (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]).
For claim 11, Peliks discloses the bone biopsy assembly of claim 10, wherein the lost motion receiver includes an outer wall (outside of 111) outlining a lost motion chamber adapted to accommodate sliding movement of the stylet during bone boring with the bone biopsy assembly (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]).
For claim 12, Peliks discloses the bone biopsy assembly of claim 11, further including at least one window (111 as polyethylene, known to be transparent) in the outer wall allowing one to view the stylet as it slides in the lost motion chamber of the lost motion receiver (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]).
For claim 13, Peliks discloses the bone biopsy assembly of claim 12, further including indicia (114) on (a) the trephine needle, (b) the lost motion receiver or (c) the trephine needle and the lost motion receiver whereby one is able to visually monitor a depth of the bone biopsy during bone boring (Fig 2) ([0027-0063]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring a bone biopsy retrieving device.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791