Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0054922, filed on 04/26/2023 and Application No. KR10-2023-0173343, filed on 12/04/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024, 08/15/2025, and 12/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by WEI; Zhengpeng et al. (US 20210215741 A1) (“WEI; Zhengpeng”).
5. Regarding claim 1, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches a test probe (Fig 1-3 discloses the spring test probe in Paragraph [0035-0042]) comprising:
a barrel (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the hollow needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]), comprising a tubular barrel main body (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the hollow needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]), and a plurality of skirt portions (Fig 1-3 item 5 discloses a plurality of elastic sheets 5 in Paragraph [0042]) separated from each other by a plurality of slits (Fig 1-3 item 6 discloses notches 6 divide the open end 4 into a plurality of elastic sheets 5 in Paragraph [0042]) formed in a first end portion of the barrel main body in a lengthwise direction (Fig 1-3 item 4 discloses the open end 4 of the needle tube 1 is provided with a plurality of elastic sheets 5in Paragraph [0042]); and
a plunger (Fig 1-3 item 2 discloses the needle 2 can move axially along the needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]), comprising
a sliding portion accommodated in the barrel main body and sliding along the lengthwise direction of the barrel (Fig 1-3 item 2 discloses movement of the needle 2 in Paragraph [0042]), and a terminal contact portion extending from the sliding portion beyond the skirt portion (Fig 1-3 item 5 discloses needle head 2 in Paragraph [0042]) along the lengthwise direction,
wherein the skirt portion (Fig 1-3 item 5) comprises a skirt main body extending in the lengthwise direction of the barrel main body (Fig 1-3 item 1), and a skirt diameter-reducing portion curved (Fig 3, & 6-8 item 9-10 discloses first inclined plane 9 is in contact with the second inclined plane 10 in Paragraph [0047]), reducing a diameter thereof in a fore-end area of the skirt main body in an axial-line direction of the barrel (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the needle 2 can move axially along the needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]), and comprising a facing end portion to face a surface of the terminal contact portion (Fig 1-3 item 7 discloses the inner sides of the elastic sheets 5 are provided with first flanges 7 in Paragraph [0036]),, and
a facing length of the facing end portion in the axial-line direction (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the needle 2 can move axially along the needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]), is greater than a thickness of the skirt diameter-reducing portion (Fig 3, & 6-8 item 9-10 discloses first inclined plane 9 is in contact with the second inclined plane 10 in Paragraph [0047]).
6. Regarding claim 2, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein the skirt diameter-reducing portion is thicker (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the needle tube 1 are arc-shaped, and the diameter of the inner edge is smaller than the outer diameter of the outer wall of the needle 2 in Paragraph [0040]) than the skirt main body (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the hollow needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]).
7. Regarding claim 3, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein the skirt diameter-reducing portion comprises
a thick portion having a thicker thickness in at least a partial lengthwise section thereof (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the needle tube 1 are arc-shaped, and the diameter of the inner edge is smaller than the outer diameter of the outer wall of the needle 2 in Paragraph [0040]).
8. Regarding claim 4, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the facing end portion is formed by cylindrical cutting (Fig 1-3 item 5 discloses the elastic sheets 5 are formed by
directly machining in Paragraph [0051]) along the axial-line direction of the barrel (Fig 1-3 item 1 discloses the needle 2 can move axially along the needle tube 1 in Paragraph [0036]).
9. Regarding claim 5, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein the skirt diameter-reducing portion comprises a chamfered portion at a fore-end edge thereof (Fig 3, & 6-8 item 9-10 discloses first inclined plane 9 is in contact with the second inclined plane 10 in Paragraph [0047]).
10. Regarding claim 6, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein the skirt portion (Fig 1-3 item 5) and the barrel main body have different outer diameters (Fig 1-3 item 1 & 2 show different outer diameters).
11. Regarding claim 7, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches the test probe of claim 1, wherein the slit is gradually widened along an open-end portion thereof (Fig 3, & 6-8 item 9-10 discloses first inclined plane 9 is in contact with the second inclined plane 10 in Paragraph [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12 Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI; Zhengpeng et al. (US 20210215741 A1) In view of Kim et al. (US 20200141980 A1).
13. Regarding claim 8, WEI; Zhengpeng teaches a test device comprising:
a test probe (Fig 1-3 item 1 & 2 discloses the spring test probe in Paragraph [0035-0042]) of claim 1; and
the test probe (Fig 1-3 item 1 & 2 discloses the spring test probe in Paragraph [0035-0042]) to make both end portions of the test probe partially protrude therefrom (Fig 1-3 item 1 & 2 partially protrude).
WEI; Zhengpeng does not explicitly teach a test socket supporting the test probe;
However, Kim teaches a test socket (Fig 5 item 20 includes a probe socket 20 for in Paragraph [0004]) supporting the test probe (Fig 5 item 22 includes a test probe in Paragraph [0004])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a spring probe is connected in the circuit to transmit electrical signals in WEI; Zhengpeng by substituting a probe socket for supporting a test probe by Kim to provide a probe socket for supporting a test probe for testing electric characteristics of an object to be tested in Paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858