DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2022/034937 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee).
U.S. 2023/0317669 A1 (hereinafter refer to Lee) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of WO 2022/034937 A1.
Regarding Claim 1: Lee discloses a display device (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown below and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
a substrate (1100) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above);
a first assembling wiring (1210 and 1220) on the substrate (1100) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above);
a second assembling wiring (1220, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) on the substrate (1100) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above);
an adjustment member (1210, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) under the second assembling wiring (1220) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above);
an insulation layer (1300) on the first assembling wiring (1220) and the second assembling wiring (1220) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above);
a partition wall comprising an assembly hole (1400) on the first assembling wiring (1220) and the second assembling wiring (1220) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above); and
a semiconductor light-emitting element (1500) in the assembly hole (1400) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above),
wherein the adjustment member (1210) comprises at least one or more conductive layer (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above and ¶ [0170]).
Regarding Claim 2: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein a thickness of the second assembling wiring (1220, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) is smaller than a thickness of the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein a thickness of the adjustment member (1210, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) is a difference value between a thickness of the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) and a thickness of the second assembling wiring (1220, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) and the adjustment member (1210, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) are disposed on the same layer (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) and the second assembling wiring (1220) are disposed on different layers (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 6: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein a lower surface of the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) and a lower surface of the adjustment member (1210, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) are positioned on a first horizontal surface (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above), and
wherein an upper surface of the first assembling wiring (1210/1220) and an upper surface of the second assembling wiring (1220, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) are positioned on a second horizontal surface parallel to the first horizontal surface (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Lee discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Lee further teaches wherein a width of the adjustment member (1210, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) is the same as a width of the second assembling wiring (1220, at opposite side of first assembling wiring) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2022/034937 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HEO et al. (U.S. 2021/0159268 A1, hereinafter refer to HEO).
U.S. 2023/0317669 A1 (hereinafter refer to Lee) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of WO 2022/034937 A1.
Regarding Claim 16: Lee discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a gap between the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring is 3.5 µm or less.
For support see HEO, which teaches wherein a gap between the first assembling wiring (210) and the second assembling wiring (220) is 3.5 µm or less (note: HEO teaches the diameter of the light emitting element 300 may be in the range of 300 nm to 700 nm. Hence, the gap between the first assembling wiring (210) and the second assembling wiring (220) necessarily less than the range of 300 nm to 700 nm) (see HEO, Fig.4 as shown below and ¶ [0172]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and HEO to enable the recited ranges of gap between the first assembling wiring and the second assembling wiring as taught by HEO in order to prevent a risk of an electrical short circuit.
Regarding Claim 17: Lee discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the semiconductor light-emitting element has a diameter of 5 µm or less.
For support see HEO, which teaches wherein the semiconductor light-emitting element has a diameter of 5 µm or less (300 nm to 700 nm) (see HEO, Fig.4 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0172]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and HEO to enable the recited ranges of diameter of the semiconductor light-emitting element as taught by HEO in order to improve efficiency of light emitted from light emitting elements.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2022/034937 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (U.S. 2020/0168777 A1, hereinafter refer to Kang).
U.S. 2023/0317669 A1 (hereinafter refer to Lee) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of WO 2022/034937 A1.
Regarding Claim 18: Lee discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a connection electrode in the assembly hole,
wherein the connection electrode is configured to connect a lower side of the semiconductor light-emitting element to at least one of the first assembling wiring or the second assembling wiring.
For support see Kang, which teaches a connection electrode (CE) in the assembly hole (115-1) (see Kang, Fig.6E as shown below and ¶ [0008]- ¶ [0009]),
wherein the connection electrode (CE) is configured to connect a lower side of the semiconductor light-emitting element (150) to at least one of the first assembling wiring (CPE) or the second assembling wiring (CPE) (see Kang, Fig.6E as shown below and ¶ [0008]- ¶ [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Kang to enable the connection electrode in the assembly hole, wherein the connection electrode is configured to connect a lower side of the semiconductor light-emitting element to at least one of the first assembling wiring or the second assembling wiring as taught by Kang in order to provide a display device including an LED element that may be installed in a panel in a short amount of time and reduce a process cost.
Regarding Claim 19: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Lee and Kang further teaches wherein an electrode wiring (1620) on the semiconductor light-emitting element (1500) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above),
wherein the electrode wiring (1620) is configured to be connected to an upper side of the semiconductor light-emitting element (1500) (see Lee, Fig.17F as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812