DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
A preliminary amendment was filed on the filing date of September 20, 2024, in which claims 1-7, 10, and 12-14 were amended. Claims 1-14 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
The instant application has a filing date of September 20, 2024. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The instant application is a national phase under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT International Application No. PCT/KR2022/018849 (filed on November 25, 2022), which claims for the benefit of a prior-filed foreign application number 2022-0034948 (KR – filed on March 21, 2022). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/20/24; 6/6/25; 12/16/25; and 10/19/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Examiner notes that only English translations of the abstracts were provided for each of the cited foreign patent documents, and therefore only the abstracts were considered.
35 U.S.C. § 112 (f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data obtaining unit configured to obtain battery information comprising at least one of voltage and current of a battery” recited in claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
v Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 14 is/are drawn to methods (i.e., a process), claim(s) 1-11 is/are drawn to apparatus (i.e., a machine/manufacture), claim(s) 12 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture), and claim(s) 13 is/are drawn to a battery pack (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1-14 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One:
In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Claim 1 (representative of independent claim(s) 12, 13, and 14) recites/describes the following steps;
obtain battery information comprising at least one of voltage and current of a battery;
estimate a state of health (SOH) of the battery based on the battery information,
calculate a SOH score for the battery based on a reference value corresponding to the SOH and the SOH in a plurality of reference profiles,
predict a plurality of SOH of the battery during a target period,
calculate a remaining useful life (RUL) score for the battery based on the plurality of SOH, and
determine a safety score of the battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information
These steps, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass a human manually (e.g., in their mind, or using paper and pen) performing various calculations and score determinations using obtained information (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), but for the recitation of generic computer components. If one or more claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Examiner notes that dependent claims 6 and 11 also each recite additional limitations that could both be performed mentally and that also amounts to one or more mathematical relationships, one or more mathematical formulas or equations, one or more mathematical calculations. These limitations therefore fall within the “mathematical concepts” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Independent claim(s) 12, 13, and 14 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Each of the depending claims likewise recite/describe these steps (by incorporation - and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Any element(s) recited in a dependent claim that are not specifically identified/addressed by the Examiner under step 2A (prong two) or step 2B of this analysis shall be understood to be an additional part of the abstract idea recited by that particular claim. The same reasoning is similarly applicable to the limitations in the remaining dependent claims, and their respective limitations are not reproduced here for the sake of brevity.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The claim(s) recite the additional elements/limitations of
“a battery management apparatus, comprising...a data obtaining unit configured to...a controller configured to...” (claim 1)
“...wherein the controller is further configured to...” (claims 3-7 and 9-11)
“a battery system comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 12)
“a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 13)
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a battery management apparatus, comprising...a data obtaining unit configured to...a controller configured to...” (claim 1) or “a battery system comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 12) and/or the recitation of “...wherein the controller is further configured to...” (claims 3-7 and 9-11) or “a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 13) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Applicant’s own disclosure explains that these “additional” elements (e.g., the battery management apparatus with data obtaining unit and controller) may be embodied as a general-purpose computer (e.g., the published specification at Fig 1 tag 100 and Fig 8 tag 100 and paragraphs [0155]-[0156] “may be included in server device, such as a cloud server...” and [0086]-[0089] “controller...a processor...ASIC...software...program modules...memory...” and [0187] “implemented through a program” – as such the Examiner understands these elements to be and/or be conventional components of a general-purpose computer). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The recited additional element(s) of “a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 13) additionally serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to a particular place where the general purpose computer and/or general-purpose computing components are located (i.e., comprised in/with a conventional battery pack). This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The recited element(s) of “obtain battery information comprising at least one of voltage and current of a battery” (claims 1, 12, 13, and 14), even if considered to be an “additional” element for the purpose of the eligibility analysis, would simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). The term “extra-solution activity” is understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. The recited additional element(s) do are deemed “extra-solution” because all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering t, and because such data gathering steps have long been held to be insignificant pre/post-solution activity. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h) and (g)).
Furthermore, although the claims recite a specific sequence of computer-implemented functions, and although the specification suggests certain functions may be advantageous for various reasons (e.g., business reasons), the Examiner has determined that the ordered combination of claim elements (i.e., the claims as a whole) are not directed to an improvement to computer functionality/capabilities, an improvement to a computer-related technology or technological environment, and do not amount to a technology-based solution to a technology-based problem. For example, Applicant’s published specification suggests that it is advantageous to implement the claimed business process because doing so can help provide information (e.g., the safety score, the RUL score, the SOH score) that are more intuitive for a human being that the battery information itself (or other types of scores/metrics) which may help them to better understand the status/health of their batter (see, for example, Applicant’s published disclosure at paragraphs [0005]-[0007] & [0025]). These are non-technical business advantages/improvements. At most, the ordered combination of claim elements is directed to a non-technical improvement to an abstract idea itself (e.g., improved score/metric determinations using obtained battery information information).
Independent claim 14 and dependent claims 2 and 8 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective claims 2, 8, and 14 is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). For example, claim 2 recites “wherein the plurality of reference profiles comprise a first reference profile indicating a maximum SOH per unit time for the battery and a second reference profile indicating a minimum SOH per unit time for the battery”. This is an abstract limitation which further sets forth the abstract idea encompassed by claim 2. This limitation is not an “additional element”, and therefore it is not subject to further analysis under Step 2A- Prong Two or Step 2B. The same logic applies to each of the other dependent claims, whose limitations are not being repeated here for the sake of brevity and clarity. With respect to the other dependent claims not specifically listed here - each of the limitations/elements recited in these dependent claims other than those identified as being “additional” elements above (at the beginning of the Prong One analysis), are further part of the abstract idea encompassed by each respective dependent claim (i.e. it should be understood that these limitations are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2355, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966)
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a battery management apparatus, comprising...a data obtaining unit configured to...a controller configured to...” (claim 1) or “a battery system comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 12) and/or the recitation of “...wherein the controller is further configured to...” (claims 3-7 and 9-11) or “a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 13) is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited additional element(s) of “a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus...” (claim 13) additionally serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more” (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited element(s) of “obtain battery information comprising at least one of voltage and current of a battery” (claims 1, 12, 13, and 14), even if considered to be an “additional” element for the purpose of the eligibility analysis, would simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea;). These element(s), taken individually or in combination, additionally amount to well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, appended to the judicial exception. These elements, taken individually or in combination, are well-understood, routine and conventional to those in the field of battery health monitoring/determination. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more”. (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). This conclusion is based on a factual determination. The determination that receiving data/messages over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional is supported by Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014), and MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), which note the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of receiving data/messages over a network. Furthermore, Examiner takes Official Notice that these steps were well-understood, routine, and conventional at the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Furthermore, the lack of technical detail/description in Applicant’s own specification provides implicit evidence that these steps were well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claim 14 and dependent claims 2 and 8 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claim 14 and dependent claims 2 and 8 is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea identified by the Examiner to which each respective claim is directed).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
v Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The requirement for an adequate disclosure ensures that the public receives something in return for the exclusionary rights that are granted to the inventor by a patent, and sets forth the minimum requirements for the quality and quantity of information that must be contained in the patent to justify the grant.
In accordance with section 2161.01 I. of the MPEP, “original claims may fail to satisfy the written description requirement when the invention is claimed and described in functional language but the specification does not sufficiently identify how the invention achieves the claimed function. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 (“[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.”) (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06). In Ariad, the court recognized the problem of using functional claim language without providing in the specification examples of species that achieve the claimed function. The problem is especially acute with genus claims that use functional language to define the boundaries of a claimed genus. In such a case, the functional claim may simply claim a desired result, and may do so without describing species that achieve that result. But the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus. Id.” This may include disclosure of the hardware and software required to perform a claimed function including the "necessary steps for implementing the claimed function" (e.g. an algorithm, description of steps, flowcharts, etc.) (MPEP; 2161.01 I.). “If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made.” (MPEP; 2161.01 I.).
v Claims 1, 12, 13, and 14 recite computer-implemented functional claim language with the claim element “predict a plurality of SOH of the battery during a target period”. However, the specification fails to indicate (i.e. fails to provide the necessary algorithm, description of steps, flowcharts, etc.) for how to actually predict a plurality of SOH (i.e., predicted future SOH values) of the battery during the target period.
The only paragraphs of the specification that attempt to discuss how the prediction takes place are paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and [0101]. Paragraphs [0065]-[0066] state “the controller 120 may be configured to predict a SOH for the future time point after the current time point TC based on the SOH of the battery estimated until the current time point TC. Herein, the target period TR may be a period in which SOH values for calculating an RUL score SCORE_RUL are selected, and may be a preset period. Details for the target period TR will be described later. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the SOH values for the SOH profile P after the current time point TC may be values predicted based on SOH of the battery estimated from the past to the present. That is, the controller 120 may predict the future SOH based on the SOH of the battery estimated from the past to the current. The controller 120 may generate the SOH profile P to include the SOH estimated in the past, the SOH estimated at the current time point TC, and the SOH predicted for the future time point.”. At most, this suggests the prediction of the future SOH values is in some way based on the estimated (i.e., calculated) SOH values for the current time point and/or previously estimated (i.e., calculated) SOH values. However, merely suggesting the prediction is based in some way on these past values does not amount to a necessary algorithm or sufficient description of the step-by-step instructions for actually predicting the future values. An indication of one type of information the prediction may be based on is insufficient, as there is no indication of what to do with this information. Paragraph [0101] states “the controller 120 may estimate a SOH SOH_P of the battery at each of the current time point TC, the first future time point TF1, the second future time point TF2, the third future time point TF3, and the target time point TT. The estimated SOH SOH_P may be 88%, 87%, 86%, 85%, and 84%”. However, there is no indication of how these future values are predicted.
As such, the specification fails to indicate (i.e. fails to provide the necessary algorithm, description of steps, flowcharts, etc.) for how to actually predict a plurality of SOH (i.e., predicted future SOH values) of the battery during the target period. In other words, the claims recite functional claim language without providing in the specification examples of at least one species that achieve the claimed function, and does not provide a disclosure of the algorithm/step-by-step instructions in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function.
Each of the dependent claims ultimately depend from one of these claims, inherit these limitations, and therefore similarly contain subject matter that lacks adequate written description support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 1-7, 9, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2018/0143257, May 24, 2018 - hereinafter "Garcia”) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2012/0143541, June 7, 2012 - hereinafter "Wu”)
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Garcia teaches a battery management apparatus (claim 1) and a battery management method (claim 14); comprising;
a data obtaining unit configured to obtain battery information comprising at least one of voltage and current of a battery; and (Fig 4 & [0025] & [0060]-[0061] “data obtaining unit” [0060]-[0061] “receives input data 102 (e.g., measurement signals)...input data 102 include impedance spectra, temperatures, offload/underload conditions, voltages, and currents...”
a controller configured to: Fig 4 & [0025] & [0060]-[0061] “controller”
estimate a state of health (SOH) of the battery based on the battery information, ([0097]-[0102] & [0057] & [0075] system determines SOH of the battery based on the input measurement data)
calculate a SOH score for the battery based on a reference value corresponding to the SOH and the SOH in a plurality of reference profiles, ([0103]-[0106] – determines SOH score/metric based on the SOH at particular time with respect to reference BOL and EOL value profiles (i.e., reference value in the SOH in a plurality of reference profiles)
predict a plurality of SOH of the battery during a target period, ([0076] & [0122]-[0123] & [0130]-[0131] forecasts plurality of SOH values for future time period before expected end of life (target period))
calculate a remaining useful life (RUL) score for the battery based on the plurality of SOH, and ([0077] & [0122]-[0125] & [0131] determines RUL of the battery based on the plurality of forecasted SOH for the battery)
Garcia does not appear to disclose,
determine a safety score of the battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information
However, Wu discloses
determine a safety score of the battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089] “Further, the techniques described herein support consideration of multiple battery characteristic profiles. Use of multiple characteristic profiles may be useful in...diagnosing particular kinds of defects” – suggests system compares profile/curve of battery against multiple reference characteristic profiles/curve of batteries having known kinds of defects and identifies similarity to reference characteristic profile/curve to classify whether or not the battery is defective and the type of defect (i.e., safety score according to safety class consistent with Applicants disclosure))
Wu suggests it is advantageous to determine a safety score of the battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Garcia to include wherein the controller is configured to determine a safety score of the battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information, as taught by Wu, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner.
With respect to claim 12, Garcia teaches a battery system comprising the battery management apparatus according to claim 1. (see apparatus above at 1, and per [0139] and [0052]-[0053] the apparatus may be part of server and/or BCM (i.e., systems with the apparatus))
With respect to claim 13, Garcia teaches a battery pack comprising the battery management apparatus according to claim 1 (see apparatus above, and per [0052]-[0053] the apparatus may be part of BCM (i.e., battery pack comprises the apparatus consistent with Applicant’s disclosure))
With respect to claim 2, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 1;
wherein the plurality of reference profiles comprise a first reference profile indicating a maximum SOH per unit time for the battery and a second reference profile indicating a minimum SOH per unit time for the battery ([0103]-[0106] – determines SOH score/metric based on the SOH at particular time with respect to reference BOL and EOL value profiles (i.e., a first reference profile indicating a maximum SOH per unit time for the battery and a second reference profile indicating a minimum SOH per unit time for the battery)
With respect to claim 3, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 2;
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a first reference value corresponding to the SOH in the first reference profile, determine a second reference value corresponding to the SOH in the second reference profile, and calculate the SOH score based on a rate of the SOH with respect to the first reference value and the second reference value (([0103]-[0106] – determines reference values at various points in time between the SOH at particular time with respect to reference BOL and EOL value profiles (i.e., a first/second reference values associated with the first/second reference profiles)
With respect to claim 4, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 3;
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a SOH reference section for the first reference value and the second reference value, calculate a rate of the SOH with respect to the SOH reference section, and score the calculated rate of the SOH to calculate the SOH score (([0103]-[0106] – determines reference values at various points in time between the SOH at particular time with respect to reference BOL and EOL value profiles (i.e., calculates a rate of the SOH with respect to the SOH reference section, and score the calculated rate of the SOH to calculate the SOH score)
With respect to claim 5, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 2;
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a plurality of first reference values during the target period in the first reference profile, determine a plurality of second reference values during the target period in the second reference profile, ([0076] & [0122]-[0123] & [0130]-[0131] forecasts plurality of SOH values for future time period before expected end of life (target period))
and calculate an RUL score based on a rate of the plurality of SOH with respect to the plurality of first reference values and the plurality of second reference values ([0077] & [0122]-[0125] & [0131] determines RUL of the battery based on the plurality of forecasted SOH for the battery)
With respect to claim 6, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 5;
wherein the controller is further configured to determine an RUL reference section for a sum of the plurality of first reference values and a sum of the plurality of second reference values, calculate a rate of a sum of the plurality of SOH with respect to the RUL reference section, and score the calculated rate of the sum to calculate the RUL score ([0077] & [0122]-[0125] & [0131] determine an RUL reference section for a sum of the plurality of first reference values and a sum of the plurality of second reference values, calculate a rate of a sum of the plurality of SOH with respect to the RUL reference section, and score the calculated rate of the sum to calculate the RUL score)
With respect to claim 7, Garcia teaches the apparatus of claim 2;
wherein the plurality of reference profiles comprise a third reference profile indicating an average SOH per unit time for the battery, and wherein the controller is further configured to determine a target time point corresponding to a preset threshold value in the third reference profile, and set a period from a current time point at which the SOH is estimated to the target time point as the target period ([0125] forecasted based on average, [0103]-[0106])
With respect to claim 9, Garcia and Wu teach the apparatus of claim 1. Garcia does not appear to disclose,
wherein the controller is further configured to calculate the safety score corresponding to the safety class based on a preset safety class table
However, Wu discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to calculate the safety score corresponding to the safety class based on a preset safety class table ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089] “Further, the techniques described herein support consideration of multiple battery characteristic profiles. Use of multiple characteristic profiles may be useful in...diagnosing particular kinds of defects” –multiple pre-stored reference characteristic profiles/curve of batteries and their associated defect types is equivalent to a table of these values)
Wu suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the controller is further configured to calculate the safety score corresponding to the safety class based on a preset safety class table, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Garcia to include wherein the controller is further configured to calculate the safety score corresponding to the safety class based on a preset safety class table, as taught by Wu, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner.
With respect to claim 10, Garcia and Wu teach teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Garcia does not appear to disclose,
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an abnormal behavior of the battery information, calculate a similarity between the determined abnormal behavior and a preset abnormal profile, and determine the safety class based on the calculated similarity
However, Wu discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an abnormal behavior of the battery information, calculate a similarity between the determined abnormal behavior and a preset abnormal profile, and determine the safety class based on the calculated similarity ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089] “Further, the techniques described herein support consideration of multiple battery characteristic profiles. Use of multiple characteristic profiles may be useful in...diagnosing particular kinds of defects” –– suggests system compares profile/curve of battery against multiple reference characteristic profiles/curve of batteries having known kinds of defects and identifies similarity to reference characteristic profile/curve to classify whether or not the battery is defective and the type of defect (i.e., safety score according to safety class consistent with Applicants disclosure)
Wu suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an abnormal behavior of the battery information, calculate a similarity between the determined abnormal behavior and a preset abnormal profile, and determine the safety class based on the calculated similarity, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner ([0022] & [0078]-[0080] & [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Garcia to include wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an abnormal behavior of the battery information, calculate a similarity between the determined abnormal behavior and a preset abnormal profile, and determine the safety class based on the calculated similarity, as taught by Wu, because doing so can provide an effective and efficient mechanism for detecting and classifying battery abnormalities which can be helpful for a battery owner.
v Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Wu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2017/0101027 , April 13, 2017- hereinafter "Zhou”)
With respect to claim 8, Garcia and Wu teach teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Garcia does not appear to disclose,
wherein the target period is set from the current time point at which the SOH is estimated to an expiration time point of a warranty period preset for the battery
However, Zhou discloses
wherein the target period is set from the current time point at which the SOH is estimated to an expiration time point of a warranty period preset for the battery ([0002] & [0010] life expectancy (i.e. target period of Garcia) may be based on or align with the battery warranty period)
Zhou suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the target period is set from the current time point at which the SOH is estimated to an expiration time point of a warranty period preset for the battery, because warranty periods may be indicative of a reasonable life expectancy of the battery ([0002] & [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Garcia in view of Wu to include wherein the target period is set from the current time point at which the SOH is estimated to an expiration time point of a warranty period preset for the battery, as taught by Zhou, because warranty periods may be indicative of a reasonable life expectancy of the battery.
Indication of Novel and Non-Obvious Subject Matter
Dependent claim 11 recites novel and non-obvious subject matter. Each of the dependent claims similarly recite novel and non-obvious subject matter by virtue of their dependency on one of these claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of novel and non-obvious subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is Garcia et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2018/0143257, May 24, 2018 - hereinafter "Garcia”); Wu et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2012/0143541, June 7, 2012 - hereinafter "Wu”), Zhou et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2017/0101027 , April 13, 2017- hereinafter "Zhou”); Desai et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2021/0247447 August 12, 2021 hereinafter "Desai”); Fahimi et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2011/0060538 March 10, 2011 - hereinafter "Fahimi”); and Adagouda Patil et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2016/0259014 September 8, 2016 - hereinafter "Adagouda Patil”)
Garcia discloses various SOC, SOH, SOH score, SOH forecasting, and RUL calculations for battery health/safety feedback.
Wu discloses determining a safety score of a battery according to a safety class of the battery based on the battery information by comparing profile/curve of battery against multiple reference characteristic profiles/curve of batteries having known kinds of defects and identifies similarity to reference characteristic profile/curve to classify whether or not the battery is defective and the type of defect (i.e., safety score according to safety class consistent with Applicants disclosure)).
Zhou discloses life expectancy based on the battery warranty period.
Desai discloses various SOC, SOH, SOH score, SOH forecasting, and RUL calculations for battery health/safety feedback.
Fahimi discloses comparing profile/curve of battery against multiple reference characteristic profiles/curve of batteries having known kinds of defects and identifies similarity to reference characteristic profile/curve to classify whether or not the battery is defective and the type of defect.
Adagouda Patil discloses various SOC, SOH, SOH score, SOH forecasting, and RUL calculations for battery health/safety feedback.
As per claim 11, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest "wherein the controller is further configured to determine a battery life score by applying a weight value preset to correspond to each of the SOH score, the RUL score, and the safety score and summing an application result"
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621