DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 7, 12 – 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sayed Hassan et al (US 2023/0344553).
Re claim 1, Sayed Hassan teaches of a terminal device (UE, #350, Fig.3 and #1504, Fig.15), comprising: at least one processor (#359, Fig.3); and at least one memory (#360, Fig.3) comprising computer program code (Paragraph 0100), the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform: receiving, from a network device (#1502, Fig.15), a configuration for transmission of an uplink channel (#1508 and DCI, #1520, Fig.15), the configuration comprising a repetition factor set (repetition factor list, {K1, . . . , Kn}, Fig.15) and at least one parameter for determining a repetition factor from the repetition factor set (PRB bundle granularity, bitmap, Fig.15); determining the repetition factor from the repetition factor set based on the at least one parameter (Paragraphs 0221 – 0222); and performing the transmission of the uplink channel (PUSCH, #1524, Fig.15) according to the determined repetition factor (#1522, Fig.15).
Re claim 15, Sayed Hassan teaches of a network device (Network Node, #310, Fig.3 and #1502, Fig.15), comprising: at least one processor (#375, Fig.3); and at least one memory (#376, Fig.3) comprising computer program code (Paragraph 0100), the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform: determining a configuration for transmission of an uplink channel (#1508 and DCI, #1520, Fig.15), the configuration comprising a repetition factor set (repetition factor list, {K1, . . . , Kn}, Fig.15) and at least one parameter for determining a repetition factor from the repetition factor set (PRB bundle granularity, bitmap, Fig.15); and transmitting, to a terminal device (UE, #350, Fig.3 and #1504, Fig.15), the configuration.
Re claims 2 and 16, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one duration value (repetition timer expires, Paragraph 0224).
Re claims 4 and 18, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the at least one duration value is one duration value corresponding to the repetition factor set (one duration value when n=1 in {K1, . . . , Kn}).
Re claims 6 and 20, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the repetition factor set is a vector of repetition factors ({K1, . . . , Kn}, Fig.15).
Re claim 7, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the repetition factor set comprises a single repetition factor (when n=1 in {K1, . . . , Kn} ).
Re claim 12, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the configuration is received via a radio resource control signaling or a system information block (Paragraphs 0101, 0202 and 0221).
Re claim 13, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the configuration is specific to the terminal device or specific to a cell the terminal device is associated with (Paragraphs 0214 – 0224 and Fig.15).
Re claim 14, Sayed Hassan teaches of wherein the uplink channel is at least one of the following: physical uplink control channel, physical uplink shared channel, physical random access channel, and sounding reference signal (PUSCH, Fig.15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed Hassan.
Re claims 3 and 17, Sayed Hassan teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 16 as well as a MIB that provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN) (Paragraph 0093). Sayed Hassan does not specifically mention of wherein the at least one duration value is in terms of system frame number. However, one skilled in the art would have needed information such as the system frame number to identify the PRB bundles for each frame that need to be retransmitted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one duration value be in terms of system frame number so as to accurately retransmit the PRB bundles having a corresponding repetition factor of an identified frame.
Re claims 5 and 19, Sayed Hassan teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 16 as well as wherein the at least one duration value is a plurality of duration values associated with the repetition factor set (each duration value is associated with a repetition factor, Paragraph 0224). Sayed Hassan does not specifically mention of a plurality of duration values being a vector of duration values. However, one skilled in the art would have known that placing the plurality of duration values into a vector form would optimize processing performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed the plurality of duration values into a vector form to optimize processing performance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed Hassan in view of Nammi et al (US 2019/0334660).
Re claim 10, Sayed Hassan teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as well as wherein the at least one parameter comprises a mapping between the repetition factor set and the at least one parameter (Paragraph 0222). However, Sayed Hassan does not specifically teach of the at least one parameter being at least one distance value between the terminal device and the network device.
Nammi teaches of a repetition factor being based on a distance of the user equipment device from the device (claim 2 of Nammi).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the at least one parameter being at least one distance value between the terminal device and the network device so as to further improve uplink transmissions.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed Hassan in view of Zheng et al (US 2023/0370222).
Re claim 11, Sayed Hassan teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as well as wherein the at least one parameter comprises a mapping between the repetition factor set and the at least one parameter (Paragraph 0222). However, Sayed Hassan does not specifically teach of the at least one parameter being at least one elevation angle value of the network device relative to the terminal device.
Zheng teaches of a mapping between the repetition factor set and at least one elevation angle value of the network device relative to the terminal device, and the repetition factor is determined based on an elevation angle value of the network device relative to the terminal device (Paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the at least one parameter being at least one elevation angle value of the network device relative to the terminal device so as to further improve uplink transmissions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633