DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites that the further piezoelectric material is dissimilar from the piezoelectric material of the piezoelectric material wafer, but then in claim 15 discloses the same materials as in claim 13 for the piezoelectric material, and claim 15 depends on claim 14. It is unclear how the materials can be same and dissimilar at the same time. For examination purposes, the materials are treated as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (U.S PG Pub 20110227068A1), and Lee (U.S PG Pub 20170200648A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 16, Akiyama, drawn also to the art of bonding a wafer with a semiconductor substrate (Abstract; Title), discloses bonding [0012] a semiconductor substrate with a handle substrate i.e. wafer, that can be silicon, silicon dioxide, or sapphire [0029]. Akiyama discloses steps of plasma activation in air and UV treatment in air and discloses that one or both of the plasma treatment and the ozone treatment can be carried out [0069]. Akiyama also discloses then thermally annealing the assembly [0012]. Akiyama has not explicitly disclosed applying a pressure or mechanical load, however, this step is known from Lee.
Lee, drawn also to the art of manufacturing or bonding a substrate comprising a handle substrate and a semiconductor surface (Abstract), discloses thermocompression bonding to be a method of bonding the substrates [0086], and discloses that this is a known method of bonding substrates. Lee also discloses performing the treatments at a reduced pressure [0080-0084].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Akiyama, with the step of thermocompression bonding, as disclosed by Lee, to arrive at the instant invention, since as such this would merely involve a combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and such is held to be obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2143 I(A)).
Regarding claim 2, Akiyama as modified by Lee, discloses the instant limitations. Lee discloses a planarization i.e. polishing step which reduces the surface roughness to less than 1nm (thus forming an overlapping range with the instant range and obviating the range – see MPEP 2144.05 (I)). [0085-0086]. Lee discloses that such a step facilitates fusion bonding [0085.
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of bonding the substrates with the step of polishing to reduce surface roughness, as disclosed by Lee, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to facilitate fusion bonding.
Regarding claim 3, Akiyama and Lee do not explicitly disclose the flow rate ratio of the oxygen to nitrogen, however, given that Akiyama discloses carrying out the treatments in air, and air is a ratio of approximately 70% nitrogen to 30% oxygen, it can be reasonably expected that the air in which the treatments are conducted would have the ratio of the flowrates as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Akiyama and Lee do not explicitly disclose the gas flow rate being the in the range claimed, however, the gas flow rate is a result effective variable, as the gas flow rate would have an effect on the surface treatments being performed, since both plasma treatment and UV ozone treatment require a flow of gas. As such, it would be within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan to routinely optimize the gas flow rate, in order to appropriately perform the surface treatments, and such is held to be obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 5, Akiyama discloses performing the treatments at a reduced pressure and so does Lee (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claims 6-9, Akiyama as modified by Lee discloses a rinsing process comprising megasonic DI water rinsing [0080-0082] of Lee. Regarding the order of the steps being performed as claimed in claims 8-9, such merely amounts to a rearrangement of method steps, and such is held to be obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 V (A)).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Akiyama, with the rinsing step as disclosed by Lee, to facilitate surface activation [0081].
Regarding claims 10-11, the wavelength range as claimed is a known UV wavelength range and both Akiyama and Lee disclose performing UV treatment. Further, Akiyama and Lee both disclose thermal annealing taking place after the surface activation steps (see claim 1 rejection above), and thus, it can be reasonably expected that the temperature of the surface of the wafers is below 100C, since they are not heated during surface activation.
Regarding claim 12, the mechanical load is a result effective variable, since the pressure would affect cracking of the wafers during bonding, and it is within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan to routinely optimize the mechanical load to achieve appropriate bonding (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (U.S PG Pub 20110227068A1), and Lee (U.S PG Pub 20170200648A1 and Akiyama (U.S Patent 10727396B2 - referred to as Akiyama (2) hereinafter).
Regarding claims 13-15, Akiyama and Lee have not explicitly disclosed the wafer being one of the materials, claimed, however, this is disclosed by Akiyama (2).
Akiyama (2), drawn also to a process of bonding wafers and substrates (Abstract), discloses the wafer being lithium niobate or lithium tantalate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the wafers to be as claimed, as disclosed by Akiyama (2), to arrive at the instant invention, since as such this would merely involve a simple substitution of known materials (MPEP 2143 I(B)).
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746