Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a manipulation part configured to receive a command from a user a battery configured to supply power are disposed in lines 2 of independent claims claim 1 and 11, according to the specification [0063], the manipulation part (160) may include a power button and one or more buttons, when the user presses the power button the manipulation part (160), the signal is transmitted from the manipulation part (160) to the controller (195) recognizes that the user intends to the drive the cleaning nozzle (200) by the signal received from the manipulation part (160). According to the specification at paragraph [0177]) the controller (195) may include all types of devices capable of processing data, such as a processor.
a connection module connected to an external power supply device for charging the battery in line 9 of independent claim 1, according to the paragraph [0099], the connection module (600) may be electrically connected to the power supply device (80).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation “a connection module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is not clear what the connection module is since it appears to the power adapter but the specification does not describe it as anything other than a connection module Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation a connection module has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it is not clear what the connection module is since it appears to the power adapter but the specification does not describe it as anything other than a connection module. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitation "the external power supply device" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication (111820805) to Conta (cited by Applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Conta discloses a main body (10) in which a manipulation part (trigger) configured to receive a command from a user and a battery (16) configured to supply power are disposed (See page 2 of English translation regarding the control unit (17));
a cleaning nozzle (11) connected to the main body (10) and placed on a target cleaning surface; an extension pipe (12) detachably connected to the cleaning nozzle (11) and having one end connected to the cleaning nozzle (11) and the other end connected to the main body (10);
a power supply line (22) whose at least a portion is installed on the extension pipe (12) and which transmits the power supplied from the battery to the cleaning nozzle (11); and a connection module (17, 21) connected to an external power supply device for charging the battery (16), wherein the connection module (17, 21) is electrically connected to the power supply line and provided so that charge power supplied from the external power supply device is transmitted to the battery (16) through the power supply line.
Regarding claim 3, Conta discloses that the connection module (17, 21) is installed on at least one of the cleaning nozzle, the extension pipe (12), and the main body.
Regarding independent claim 11, Conta discloses a main body (10) in which a manipulation part (trigger) configured to receive a command from a user and a battery (16) configured to supply power are disposed (See page 2 of English translation regarding the control unit (17));
a cleaning nozzle (11) connected to the main body (10) and placed on a target cleaning surface;
an extension pipe (12) detachably connected to the cleaning nozzle (11) and having one end connected to the cleaning nozzle (11) and the other end connected to the main body (10);
a power supply line (22) whose at least a portion is installed on the extension pipe (12) and which transmits the power supplied from the battery to the cleaning nozzle (11);
with the power supply line (22) is configured to have a charge current path from the external power supply device and a discharge current path from the battery (16) to the cleaning nozzle (11) depending on whether the user command is input from the manipulation part when disconnected to the power supply device
Regarding claim 12, Conta discloses a connection module (17, 21) connected to an external power supply device for charging the battery (16), wherein the connection module (17, 21) is electrically connected to the power supply line (22).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723