DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 9/23/24 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gocho et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2021/0400224).
Referring to figures 2-101, Gocho et al. teaches an imaging device comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (200) provided with a sensor pixel that performs photoelectric conversion(102);
a second semiconductor layer (300) disposed on one surface side of the first semiconductor layer and provided with a pixel transistor for outputting a pixel signal based on a charge output from the sensor pixel;
an insulating layer (240) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; and
a conductor layer (302) disposed between the sensor pixel and the pixel transistor in the insulating layer, wherein a potential of the conductor layer is fixed to a reference potential (see figures 24-28).
Regarding to claim 2, the conductor layer (302) is disposed between the sensor pixel and at least a channel region of the pixel transistor (see figure 25).
Regarding to claim 3, the sensor pixel includes: a photoelectric conversion element (102) provided in the first semiconductor layer; a floating diffusion (FD) provided in the first semiconductor layer; and transfer transistor (TR) that transfers a charge generated in the photoelectric conversion element to the floating diffusion, and the conductor layer (302) is disposed between the photoelectric conversion element and pixel transistor (see figures 24-25).
Regarding to claim 4, the sensor pixel includes a wiring layer (D1/D2/D3/D4) connected to a gate electrode of the transfer transistor, and the wiring layer is disposed between the photoelectric conversion element and the conductor layer (see figures 24-25).
Regarding to claim 5, the sensor pixel includes: a well contact region (201/202) provided in the first semiconductor layer; and a through wiring that is in contact with the well contact region and penetrates the insulating layer in a thickness direction, and the conductor layer is in contact with the through wiring (see figure 28).
Regarding to claim 6, the conductor layer is in contact with a side surface of the through wiring (see figure 24-28).
Regarding to claim 9, the pixel transistor is any one or more of an amplification transistor, a selection transistor, a reset transistor, and a switch transistor (see figures 2-5, 13).
Regarding to claim 12, the conductor layer includes a polycrystalline silicon film (363, see figures 56).
Regarding to claim 13, a semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (200);
a second semiconductor layer (300) disposed on one surface side of the first semiconductor layer and provided with a transistor;
an insulating layer (240) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; and
a conductor layer (302) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the transistor in the insulating layer, wherein a potential of the conductor layer is fixed to a reference potential (see figures 24-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gocho et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2021/0400224) as applied to claims 1-6, 9, 12-13 above, and further in view of MATSUMOTO (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0157876).
Referring to figures 2-101, Gocho et al. teaches an imaging device comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (200) provided with a sensor pixel that performs photoelectric conversion(102);
a second semiconductor layer (300) disposed on one surface side of the first semiconductor layer and provided with a pixel transistor for outputting a pixel signal based on a charge output from the sensor pixel;
an insulating layer (240) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; and
a conductor layer (302) disposed between the sensor pixel and the pixel transistor in the insulating layer, wherein a potential of the conductor layer is fixed to a reference potential (see figures 24-28).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the first semiconductor layer includes a plurality of the sensor pixels, and the conductor layer is continuously provided from one sensor pixel to another pixel among the plurality of sensor pixels (in claim 7), wherein a shape of the conductor layer in plan view is a linear shape extending in one direction or a grid frame shape (in claim 8).
MATSUMOTO teaches the first semiconductor layer includes a plurality of the sensor pixels, and the conductor layer is continuously provided from one sensor pixel to another pixel among the plurality of sensor pixels (see figures 21-25, meeting claim 7), wherein a shape of the conductor layer in plan view is a linear shape extending in one direction or a grid frame shape (see figures 21-25, meeting claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would form the first semiconductor layer includes a plurality of the sensor pixels, and the conductor layer is continuously provided from one sensor pixel to another pixel among the plurality of sensor pixels, wherein a shape of the conductor layer in plan view is a linear shape extending in one direction or a grid frame shape in Gocho et al. as taught by MATSUMOTO because it is known in the semiconductor art provide uniform electrostatic shielding across the array and reduce variations in electrical coupling between pixel regions.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gocho et al. (U.S Patent Publication No. 2021/0400224) as applied to claims 1-6, 9, 12-13 above, and further in view of Nakazawa et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0271070).
Referring to figures 2-101, Gocho et al. teaches an imaging device comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (200) provided with a sensor pixel that performs photoelectric conversion(102);
a second semiconductor layer (300) disposed on one surface side of the first semiconductor layer and provided with a pixel transistor for outputting a pixel signal based on a charge output from the sensor pixel;
an insulating layer (240) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; and
a conductor layer (302) disposed between the sensor pixel and the pixel transistor in the insulating layer, wherein a potential of the conductor layer is fixed to a reference potential (see figures 24-28).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the pixel transistor has an FD SOI Fin structure (in claim 10), wherein a gate electrode of the pixel transistor having the FD SOI Fin structure includes: a first portion facing an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer via a gate insulating film; a second portion facing a first side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film; and a third portion facing a second side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film, and a lower surface of the second semiconductor layer, the second portion, and the third portion are in contact with a bottom insulating film (in claim 11).
Nakazawa et al. teaches the pixel transistor has an FD SOI Fin structure (see paragraphs# 302, 304, figures 6, 16, meeting claim 10), wherein a gate electrode of the pixel transistor having the FD SOI Fin structure includes: a first portion facing an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer via a gate insulating film; a second portion facing a first side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film; and a third portion facing a second side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film, and a lower surface of the second semiconductor layer, the second portion, and the third portion are in contact with a bottom insulating film (see paragraphs# 302, 304, figures 6, 16, meeting claim 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would form a gate electrode of the pixel transistor having the FD SOI Fin structure includes: a first portion facing an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer via a gate insulating film; a second portion facing a first side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film; and a third portion facing a second side surface of the second semiconductor layer via the gate insulating film, and a lower surface of the second semiconductor layer, the second portion, and the third portion are in contact with a bottom insulating film in Gocho et al. as taught by Nakazawa et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to improve electrostatic control of the transistor channel and permit compact transistor integration.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893