DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sliced objects” recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are also objected to because the font used for labeling features in some of the figures of the drawing are illegible, for example, figures 4 and 10-14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “Figure 1” written below the abstract should be deleted from the page. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See
MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the specification page 5, line 1, “3. Is a top transparent prrping window” should be replaced with “3. Is a top transparent peeping window” .
In the specification page 6, line 18, “31. Is a buit platoform/bed which could be heated” should be replaced with “31. Is a build platform/bed which could be heated “.
In the specification page 12, lines 26-27, “stainoless steel 316 L” should be replaced with “stainless steel 316 L”. Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the plurality of sliced objects recited in claim 1, appears to have not been clearly defined or described in the specification as originally filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand what said objects are. Furthermore claim 9, recites a processor that is coupled to the controller for: (i) obtaining a plurality of sliced objects corresponding to a three-dimensional model of the three-dimensional object, (ii) obtaining printing information of the plurality of sliced objects, (ii) determining a top surface area of the three- dimensional object according to the printing information, (iv) obtaining first printing information of the top surface area in the printing information; however it appears said claimed processor has not been clearly described in the specification as originally filed so as to provide support claimed actions or capabilities of said processor as set forth in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 12-13, it is suggested to replace “integrating debinding, sintering and heat treatment of the three-dimensional object in a single heat equipment” with -- integrating debinding, sintering and heat treatment of the printed three-dimensional object in a single heating equipment--.
In claim 9, line 10, it suggested to replace “an top surface” with -- a top surface --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9, recite the limitation "a plurality of sliced object corresponding to a three-dimensional model of the three-dimensional object" in lines 4-5 and 5-7 respectively. It is unclear what constitutes “sliced objects” and also it is unclear if the structural relationship between the sliced objects and three-dimensional object, especially since said sliced objects have not been defined in the claim or any clear direction given in the specification as to what constitutes “sliced objects”; thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 recites in line 6, the limitation “obtaining printing information of the plurality of sliced objects” is vague in that the term “printing information” has not been defined in the claim nor described in the specification as to what aspects of the sliced objects is covered by said information, thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 recites in lines 4-6, the limitation “obtaining a plurality of sliced objects corresponding to a three-dimensional model of the three-dimensional object; obtaining printing information of the plurality of sliced objects”, without recited how and by what manner the plurality of sliced objects and the printing information of the plurality of sliced objects are obtained, especially since the specification as filed does not provide a clear description about these two “obtaining” steps, thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. There appears to be missing a step or steps and/or link between the plurality of sliced objects information gathering step and the driving of the nozzle module. For example, the claim as presented includes no particular design or a template generated of the expected 3D model based on the information prior to driving the nozzles.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "typically" which is interpreted as “for example”
renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the
phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 7, the terms “unique feedstock”, “unique composition” and “suitable fatty acid” recited in claims 1, 5 and 7, respectively, each is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “unique feedstock”, “unique composition” and “suitable fatty acid”, each is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are indefinite, in that each includes the term "a group comprising or" followed by a list of members in the group. However, A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group
"consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Also see MPEP 2173.05(h).I.
Claim 9 recites in lines 8-9, the limitation “obtain printing information of the plurality of sliced objects” is vague in that the term “printing information” has not been defined in the claim nor described in the specification as to what aspects of the sliced objects is covered by said information, thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the build platform or bed" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first layer" in at the beginning of line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fang et al. (US Patent No. 11,198,177).
Regarding claim 1, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing method (see abstract and column 1, line 65-column 2, line 27, also see figures 1 and 6) for a three-dimensional printing device (200, 300 and 500 see figures 2-5), the three- dimensional printing device being configured to print a three-dimensional object (201, 501, see figures 1 and 5, column 7, lines 60-65, and column 12, lines 24-30) the three-dimensional printing method comprising: obtaining or producing a 3D design model of the object(s) or the article(s) to be printed using a 3D modelling software such as computer aided (CAD) software (see column 8, lines 4-15) or obtaining or producing a plurality of sliced objects corresponding to a three-dimensional model of the three-dimensional object using a specialized software such as “slicer” software (see column 8, lines 15-20); obtaining printing information of the plurality of sliced objects for the 3D print system (200,300 and 500, see figures 2, 3 and 5) using a built-in controller capable of following a set of numerical control instruction such as G-code instruction (see column 7, line 66 -column 8, line 20); extrusion of a filament (see column 6, lines 42-52) made of a feedstock mixture comprising of metallic powder, reinforcement in a form of ceramic powder and a binder system with lubricating agents (see column 7, lines 15-26 and column 13, lines 9-25 and column 13, line 38 -column 14, line 10), through a heated nozzle (220,320 and 520, see figures 2, 3 and 5, column 7, lines 15-25, column 10, lines 20-30 and column 12, lines 17-25) heated by a heater (250,350 and 570, see figures 2, 3 and 5, column 7, lines 35-45, column 10, lines 24-35 and column 12, lines 15-26) and loaded in the 3D printer (see figures 2, 3, 5 and 6); and driving a nozzle module (i.e., the nozzle 220,320 and 520 and the corresponding gantry 225, 325, and 525, see figures 2, 3 and 5, see column 7, lines 20-26 and column 7, line 65-column 8, line 35 for example) according to the printing information to print the three- dimensional object controlled by an integrated software ( see column 7, lines 20-26 and column 7, line 65-column 8, line 35 for example).
Fang et al. also teaches a three-dimensional printing method that further comprises debinding the green 3D part or object produced by print system, followed by sintering and heat treatment, with all three process steps controlled by the system controller (see column 5, lines 43-52, column 13, lines 38-51, see column 15, lines 17-26, column 15, line 27-60 and column 15, line 55-column 16, line 16). Though, Fang et al. does not expressly state that all three steps of debinding, sintering and heat treatment of the three-dimensional object are performed in a single heat equipment, however in column 15, lines 40-59, Fang et al. explicitly describes the process sequence of debinding, sintering and then heat treatment with no teaching or suggestion that the sintering and the heat treatment steps are performed in separate heating equipment/s downstream from the debinding equipment, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art reading the disclosure Fang et al. would reasonably, absent any evidence to the contrary, come to the conclusion that the debinding, the sintering and the heat treatment of the three-dimensional object are all three conducted in the same heating equipment (see column 15, lines 17-26) in the same manner as in the instant claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing method in which the feedstock mixture comprises metal powder, a mixture of metal powder and reinforcement (i.e., ceramic or refractory powder), inorganic compounds and/or organic compounds (see column 7, lines 15-26 and column 13, lines 9-25 and column 13, line 38 -column 14, line 10).
Regarding claims 4, 6 and 7, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing method in which the organic compound comprises thermoplastic polymers and/ or thermoplastic elastomers as a binder(s), long chain fatty acids, and olefinic waxes, feedstock mixture further includes long-chain fatty acids to reduce friction and prevent wear and tear on the printer's nozzle, and long-chain fatty acids including calcium stearate, stearic acid, behenic acid or palmitic acid (see the polymeric binder material described column 14, lines 1-12 and encompasses the materials recited in claims 4, 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing method in which the composition of the feedstock is customized to meet specific design and engineering requirements, such as strength, durability and heat resistance (see column 1, lines 19-30, and column 8, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 8, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing method in which the heating equipment is a furnace (see column 15, lines 17-26).
Regarding claim 9, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing device (200, 300 and 500 see figures 2-5), for printing a three-dimensional object (201, 501, see figures 1 and 5, column 7, lines 60-65, and column 12, lines 24-30), the three- dimensional printing device comprising: a nozzle module (i.e., the nozzle 220,320 and 520 and the corresponding gantry 225, 325, and 525, see figures 2, 3 and 5, see column 7, lines 20-26 and column 7, line 65-column 8, line 35 for example) disposed on the three-dimensional printing device; a controller (i.e., a computer 380, see figure 3 and column 10, lines 25-35 or built-in controller capable of following a set of numerical control instruction such as G-code instruction (see column 7, line 66 -column 8, line 20) coupled to the nozzle module (see figure 3); and a processor (i.e., specialized software or “slicer “ software, see column 8, lines 1-20) coupled to the controller, the processor is configured to obtain or produced a plurality of sliced objects corresponding to a three-dimensional model of the three-dimensional object, (see column 8, lines 1-20) the processor is further configured to obtain printing information of the plurality of sliced objects, (see column 8, lines 1-20) the processor is further configured to determine an top surface area of the three- dimensional object according to the printing information (see figures 2, 3, 5 and 6, and column 8, lines 1-20, column 10, lines 15-47) the processor is further configured to obtain first printing information of the top surface area in the printing information, and the controller is configured to drive the nozzle module according to the printing information to print the three-dimensional object (and column 8, lines 1-20, column 10, lines 15-47), wherein in the process of printing the three-dimensional object, (see figures 2 , 5 and 6), the controller is further configured to drive the nozzle module to move above the top surface area again according to the first printing information to heat a plurality of printing materials located on the top surface area after the top surface area is printed (see figures 2, 5 and 6 and see column 7, lines 20-26 and column 7, line 65-column 8, line 35 for example).
Regarding claim 10, Fang et al. teaches a three-dimensional printing device (200, 300 and 500 see figures 2-5) for printing a three-dimensional object (201, 501, see figures 1 and 5, column 7, lines 60-65, and column 12, lines 24-30) that further comprises at least two print heads (i.e., multiple sprayer nozzles and/or sprayer assemblies, see column 11, lines 49-57) wherein one print head with a capability to deposit a primary metal material filament and the other print head with a ability to deposit graphite material layer by layer on the build platform or bed to create a support structure for 3D printing overhangs and/or a base support material for good bed adhesion of the first layer of primary metal material (see the teaching in column 11, lines 49-57) , and thereby allowing for easy removal of the base support after debinding and sintering stages without causing damage to the primary metal material in the same
way as the instant claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Albed Alhnan et al. (US 12,714,675), Albed Alhnan et al. (WO2018/020237), Haid et al. (US 2019/0070778), Klett et al. (US 11,090,726), HSU (US 10,710,353), Lundin et al. (US 11,633,786), Noorazar et al. (US 10,300,651), Linthicum et al. (US2015/0321419) and Zhang (US 10,569,472) are also cited in PTO-892.
/M.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759