DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 recite a method wherein data is stored in a database and a machine learning model is utilized to determine a combination of ingredients.
It is unclear what is required to meet the limitations of Claim 13. Claim 13 depends from Claim 7, which recites a method of mixing specific ingredients for a specific temperature. Claim 13 therefore does not further limit the method of Claim 7.
Claim 14 depends from Claim 13 and is therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurio (US 20060099324 A1)
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Aurio teaches a composition for food [0057]. Note that the limitation of a “gum replacement system” is directed towards intended use, and does not further limit the claim.
Aurio teaches that the composition comprises “viscous soluble fiber”, which may be e.g., a mixture of mucilage and pectin [0019] at 0.5-60% by weight [0042]. Note that the composition of Aurio is sufficient to provide for both the mucilage and pectin of the claim. Additionally, note that where Aurio teaches combinations of viscous soluble fibers, it would have been obvious to have utilized mucilage and pectin as the viscous soluble fiber of Aurio.
Aurio additionally teaches the addition of, e.g., soy hull fiber [0031]. Given that soy hulls are taught in instant Claim 2 as a source of plant-derived polysaccharides, and given that Aurio teaches that fibers are polysaccharides [0015], Aurio is interpreted to teach a plant-derived polysaccharide source as claimed. Aurio teaches that the ratio of soluble to insoluble fiber may be 0.1-10. Aurio therefore teaches the addition of 5.45%-54.5% of a plant-derived polysaccharide source, which encompasses the claimed range.
Aurio additionally teaches that a plant-derived protein source such as pea protein [0005] is present at 1-60% [0045]. Note that pea protein contains some amount of starch; the pea protein of Aurio is therefore interpreted to be a “starch and protein source” as claimed.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Aurio teaches a composition for food [0057]. Note that the limitation of a “gum replacement system” is directed towards intended use, and does not further limit the claim.
Aurio teaches that the composition comprises “viscous soluble fiber”, which may be e.g. a mixture of mucilage and pectin [0019] at 0.5-60% by weight [0042]. Note that the composition of Aurio is sufficient to provide for both the mucilage and pectin of the claim. Additionally, note that where Aurio teaches combinations of viscous soluble fibers, it would have been obvious to have utilized mucilage and pectin as the viscous soluble fiber of Aurio.
Aurio additionally teaches the addition of, e.g. soy hull fiber [0031]. Given that soy hulls are taught in instant Claim 8 as a source of plant-derived polysaccharides, and given that Aurio teaches that fibers are polysaccharides [0015], Aurio is interpreted to teach a plant-derived polysaccharide source as claimed. Aurio teaches that the ratio of soluble to insoluble fiber may be 0.1-10. Aurio therefore teaches the addition of 5.45%-54.5% of a plant-derived polysaccharide source, which encompasses the claimed range.
Aurio additionally teaches that a plant-derived protein source such as pea protein [0005] is present at 1-60% [0045]. Note that pea protein contains some amount of starch; the pea protein of Aurio is therefore interpreted to be a “starch and protein source” as claimed.
Aurio teaches that the mixture is heated from 20-60 degC [0090]. Aurio does not specifically address a time of heating. However, where Aurio speak to the effects imparted by incubation period i.e. viscosity [0090], one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the heating time to arrive at the time as claimed through no more than routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 4 and 10, Aurio teaches the use of apple and citrus pectin (which encompasses orange pectin) [0019].
Regarding Claim 6 and 12, Aurio teaches that the composition may be added to food products such as ice cream and cake [0065].
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, given that the methods of Claim 13 and 14 do not further limit the method of Claim 7, the limitations of Claim 13 and 14 are considered to have been met.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurio as applied to Claims 1 and 7, above, and in view of Tosif (DOI: 10.3390/polym13071066, March 2021)
Regarding Claims 3 and 9, Aurio teaches the use of plant-derived mucilage [0019] but does not specifically address the plant sources as claimed.
Tosif teaches that quince seed (Page 7, Paragraph 2), basil seed (Page 7, Paragraph 1), chia seed (Page 7, Paragraph 2), yellow mustard (Page 15, Paragraph 1), and okra (Page 16, Table 5) are known sources of plant mucilages suitable for use in food (Page 2, Paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the plant-derived mucilage sources as claimed in the composition of Aurio. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Aurio teaches the use of plant-derived mucilages, and Tosif teaches the claimed mucilages are appropriate for use in food.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurio as applied to Claims 1 and 7, above, and in view of Growing Naturals (https://growingnaturals.com/blogs/articles/14-myths-and-science-based-truths-about-pea-protein, March 2021)
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, Aurio teaches the use of pea protein but does not address the use of the claimed plant derived starch and protein source.
Growing Naturals teaches that both ground pea flour and pea protein contain protein (Page 2, Item 2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize pea flour as the protein source of Aurio. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Growing Naturals teaches that both pea flour and pea protein contain protein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references below were cited on the International Search Report of PCT/IB23/54924, to which the instant application claims priority.
Saha A, Tyagi S, Gupta RK, Tyagi YK. Natural gums of plant origin as edible coatings for food industry applications. Crit Rev Biotechnol. 2017 Dec;37(8):959-973. doi: 10.1080/07388551.2017.1286449. Epub 2017 Apr 20. PMID: 28423942.
CN 110791539 A
WO 2007112504 A1
US-10583097-B2
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791