DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 9/24/2024 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Great Britain on 3/25/2022.
Status of Application
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim 1 is the only independent claim.
Non-Final Office Action
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Office has found herein that the claims do not contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tibberts (United States Patent Publication 2017/0311768).
With respect to Claim 1: Tibberts discloses “A hard floor cleaner comprising a sweeper element and a mop element each being mounted for rotation about a respective axis” [Tibberts, ¶ 0002, 0020, 0026 and Figures 2-3];
“wherein the sweeper element and the mop element are arranged such that a lowermost portion of the sweeper element and a lowermost portion of the mop element contact a surface to be cleaned in use” [Tibberts, ¶ 0002, 0020, 0026 and Figures 2-3];
“and wherein the sweeper element is located in front of the mop element with respect to a first direction of travel of the hard floor cleaner in use” [Tibberts, ¶ 0002, 0020, 0022, 0026 and Figures 2-3].
With respect to Claim 8: Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in any preceding claim 1, wherein the mop element is substantially cylindrical” [Tibberts, ¶ 0025-0026 and Figures 2-3].
With respect to Claim 9: While Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in any preceding claim 1, wherein the mop element comprises a resilient material” [Tibberts, ¶ 0025-0026 and Figures 2-3 (the roller 34)].
With respect to Claim 10: Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in any preceding claim 1, comprising a bin for collecting debris swept from the floor in use by the sweeper element” [Tibberts, ¶ 0022 with Figures 1-3].
With respect to Claim 12: Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in claim 10, wherein the bin is located between the sweeping element and the mop element” [Tibberts, ¶ 0022 with Figures 1-3].
With respect to Claim 14: Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mop element is located between the sweeper element and an additional sweeper element, and wherein the additional sweeper element is located on the opposite side of the mop element to the sweeper element” [Tibberts, ¶ 0002, 0020, 0022, 0026 and Figures 2-3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (United States Patent Publication 2017/0311768) in view of Kalemba (WO 2005/055795).
With respect to Claims 11 and 13: While Tibberts discloses “The hard floor cleaner as claimed in any preceding claim 1, comprising a container” [Tibberts, ¶ 0022 with Figures 1-3];
Tibberts does not specifically state a container for laying liquid for the mope element and its towelette.
Kalemba, which is also a vacuum and mopping system with containers, teaches “comprising a container for holding liquid collected from the mop element when in use” [Kalemba, Abstract with Figure 4];
“wherein the container is located between the sweeping element or elements and the mop element” [Kalemba, Abstract with Figure 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kalemba into the invention of Tibberts to not only include using towelettes wrapped around a mop element as Tibberts discloses but to also have a chamber to add liquid to the floor to aid in mopping as taught by Kalemba with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Kalemba into Tibberts to create a more robust system that add more cleaning liquid when desired or needed by a valve to aid in cleaning. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such a vacuum and mops with moist aids and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
Conclusion
/JESS WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c