DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-16
Withdrawn claims: None
Canceled claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1-16
Currently rejected claims: 1-16
Allowed claims: None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “StStO” and “StOSt” but are presumed to be intended to recite “SatSatO” and “SatOSat”, respectively, in accordance with the limitation of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsumi et al. (U.S. 4,032,405) in view of Lidefelt (Lidefelt, J. O., “Handbook of vegetable oils and fats,” Chapter 5, Second Edition, ISBN 978-91-633-1420-9 (2007), pp. 64-98).
Regarding claim 1, Tatsumi et al. states: “there have been proposed various cacao butter substitutes having similar melting properties to those of the natural cacao butter. One of the cacao butter substitutes is S2U-rich fats and oils, such as vegetable butters (e.g. shea butter, illipe butter, Borneo tallow, phulwara butter, or kokum butter)” (C1, L35-L40). Tatsumi et al. thus effectively discloses a fat composition comprising a vegetable fat phase.
Tatsumi et al. does not disclose the fat composition as comprising the claimed fatty acid profile.
However, Lidefelt discloses: “Shea fat is rich in symmetrical monounsaturated triglycerides of the SOS type. If these are concentrated by means of fractionation, shea fat becomes a useful ingredient for cocoa butter equivalents.” (p. 86, ¶5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce a fat composition comprising the claimed fatty acid profile. As noted, Tatsumi et al. discloses shea butter and phulwara butter as being suited for cacao butter substitutes (C1, L35-L40). MPEP 2144.06 I states: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” Mixing shea butter and phulwara in any relative concentrations would thus be obvious to a skilled practitioner. Further, the instruction in Tatsumi et al. that S2U-rich fats/oils are preferred (C1, L37-L38) would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult Lidefelt for clarification regarding the fatty acid profile of shea butter. Lidefelt discloses that shea butter comprises primarily StOSt and StOO (p. 85, table). Considered together with the instruction that fractionation of shea butter is beneficial for its use as an ingredient in a cocoa butter equivalent (p. 86, ¶5), a skilled practitioner would find the use of a shea stearin fraction in a mixture with phulwara to be obvious.
MPEP 2112.01 I states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” The present specification indicates that a mixture of 54% phulwara oil and 46% shea stearin exhibits a fatty acid profile that aligns with the ranges claimed (pp. 11-12, Table 2, CBE I). Since a product produced according to Tatsumi et al. and Lidefelt comprising a mixture of phulwara oil and a shea stearin fraction in any relative amount was determined to be obvious and the claimed product may be produced by a substantially identical process, the claimed fat composition comprising the claimed fatty acid profile is considered obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for claims 2-9, the previous rationale detailed in relation to claim 1 likewise applies, such that each of the slightly narrowed concentration ranges would still be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for claims 10 and 11, the previous rationale detailed in relation to claim 1 likewise applies, such that a blend comprising phulwara oil and a shea oil would be obvious.
As for claims 12 and 13, the previous rationale detailed in relation to claim 1 likewise applies, such that any relative concentrations of the two noted oils would be obvious, including the claimed concentrations of 40-85% by weight phulwara oil (claim 12) and 15-60% by weight shea oil (claim 13).
As for claim 14, Tatsumi et al. discloses the composition as being a cocoa butter equivalent (C1, L35-L40).
As for claim 15, Tatsumi et al. discloses a method of making a fat composition comprising adding the vegetable fat phase to a confectionary product (C1, L12-L13, L45-L48).
As for claim 16, Tatsumi et al. discloses a confectionary product comprising from 10-60% by weight of a fat composition that is a cocoa butter equivalent (C1, L45-L48).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8, 15, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 10, 11 of copending Application No. 18/850,670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely narrower in scope than those of the ‘670 application. The scope of the co-pending claims encompasses the scope of the present claims, which would consequently be obvious in view of the ‘670 claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793