DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2015/0139017, “Kim”).
Re claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus for a terminal device (figure 3, element 300) of a wireless communication network, receiving from an access node (figure 3, element 305) of the wireless communication network, minimization of drive tests, MDT, measurement configuration for one or more multicast and broadcast services, MBS (figure 3, step 310); performing MDT measurements on broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS associated with one or more cells of the wireless communication network based on the received MDT measurement configuration (figure 3, step 315); and transmitting an MDT report, formed based on the received MDT measurement configuration, to the access node or to another access node of the wireless communication network, wherein the MDT report comprises at least information on results of the MDT measurements on the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS (figure 3, step 340), and wherein the results of the MDT measurements are indexed, in the MDT report, based on one or more cell identifiers of the one or more cells (paragraph [0020]).
Re claims 2 and 20, Kim discloses performing measurements of reference signal received power, RSRP, and/or reference signal received quality, RSRQ, based on the broadcast transmissions, wherein the broadcast transmissions comprise one or more reference signals of a pre-defined type (paragraph [0017]).
Re claim 3, Kim discloses the pre-defined type is a synchronization signal block or a tracking reference signal (paragraph [0021]).
Re claim 4, Kim discloses the MDT report comprises information on the pre-defined type of the one or more reference signals associated with the measurements of the RSRP and/or RSRQ (paragraph [0021]).
Re claim 9, Kim discloses the results of the MDT measurements on the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS are indexed, in the MDT report, based on MBS delivery mode used for the MDT measurements (paragraph [0054]; figure 3, measurement sample).
Re claim 15, Kim discloses the MDT measurement configuration is comprised in a radio resource control message (paragraph [0026]).
Re claim 16, Kim discloses performing the MDT measurements on the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS when the terminal device is operating in a radio resource control connected mode (paragraph [0027]; table 1).
Re claim 17, Kim discloses performing the MDT measurements on the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS when the terminal device is operating in a radio resource control idle or inactive mode; and transmit the MDT report following switching of the terminal device from the radio resource control idle or inactive mode to a radio resource control connected mode (paragraphs [0026] and [0027]; table 1).
Re claim 18, Kim discloses performing the transmitting of the MDT report in response to receiving an MDT information request from the access node or said another access node of the wireless communication network when the terminal device is operating in a radio resource control connected mode (paragraph [0027]).
Re claim 19, Kim discloses an apparatus for an access node (figure 3, element 305) of a wireless communication network, transmitting, to a terminal device (figure 3, element 300) of the wireless communication network, an MDT measurement configuration for one or more MBS (figure 3, step 310), wherein the MDT measurement configuration defines a configuration for the terminal device for performing MDT measurements on broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS associated with one or more cells of the wireless communication network (figure 3, step 315), and forming an MDT report for transmission to the access node or another access node of the wireless communication network, the MDT report comprising at least information on results of the MDT measurements of the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS (figure 3, step 340), the results of the MDT measurements being indexed, in the MDT report, based on one or more cell identifiers of the one or more cells (paragraph [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Krishnan et al (US 2023/0088234, “Krishnan”).
Re claim 10, Kim discloses performing the MDT measurements based on the received MDT measurement configuration figure 3, step 315); but fails to disclose determining block error rate after each received broadcast transmission. However, Krishnan discloses determining MBS-related BLER within the target MBS area according to the measurement configuration (paragraph [0133]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim with Krishnan for the benefit of providing reliable data communication by measuring network performance metric such as block level error rate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Balasubramanian et al (US 2013/0128768, “Balasubramanian”).
Re claim 13, Kim discloses performing the MDT measurements based on the received MDT measurement configuration figure 3, step 315); but fails to disclose determining modulation and coding scheme used in decoding of the broadcast transmissions for the one or more MBS. However, Balasubramanian discloses utilizing MCS to decode multicast broadcast control data (paragraph [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim with Balasubramanian for the benefit of providing reliable data communication by selecting MCS to decode broadcast transmissions successfully.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 11, 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467