Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Xiong et al. (US20220210755A1)(hereinafter “Xi”) in view of Kim et al. ( US20200337093A1)
Regarding Claim 22, Xi teaches, A method performed by a time synchronization entity (TSE), the method comprising: [59]- FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a time synchronization method according to an embodiment of this application, and the time synchronization method may be implemented by a network exposure function (NEF) entity, Fig 2 shows TSN time synchronization.(=TSE)
receiving a first request comprising i) an identifier (ID) associated with at least a first user equipment (UE) and ii) coverage area (CA) information specifying a CA; and
[60]- Fig 3 step S410 - Receiving a triggering delivery service request message transmitted by an application function (AF) entity, the triggering delivery service request message including an identifier of a target user equipment and a time sensitive network (TSN) trigger container, the TSN trigger container being used for indicating a TSN time synchronization trigger condition.
Xi does not teach, in response to receiving the create service request:
b) sending to a policy control function (PCF) a second request comprising the CA information, wherein the second requests is configured to cause the PCF to invoke the subscription service to receive a notification whenever the first UE moves into or moves out of an AoI, wherein the AoI is identical to the CA or the AoI is a subset of the CA.
Kim teaches, in response to receiving the create service request:
b) sending to a policy control function (PCF) a second request comprising the CA information, wherein the second requests is configured to cause the PCF to invoke the subscription service to receive a notification[277-279]- Where the AMF has not yet obtained the access and mobility policy for the UE or he AMF's access and mobility policy is no longer valid, the AMF requests the PCF to apply the operator's policy for the UE from the PCF by the Npcf_AMPolicyControl_(=second request)Get service operation (refer to Ch. 5.2.5.2.2). If possible, the AMF includes the GPSI. In the case of roaming, the interoperation between H(Home)-PCF and V (Visited)-PCF is needed for providing the access and mobility policy
whenever the first UE moves into or moves out of an AoI, wherein the AoI is identical to the CA or the AoI is a subset of the CA.[217]- When the AMF detects an entrance or exit of the UE, the AMF needs to notify the SMF of the new location of the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi, in response to receiving the create service request:b) sending to a policy control function (PCF) a second request comprising the CA information, wherein the second requests is configured to cause the PCF to invoke the subscription service to receive a notification whenever the first UE moves into or moves out of an AoI, wherein the AoI is identical to the CA or the AoI is a subset of the CA.
as taught by Kim to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 23,Xi does not teach, The method of claim 22, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas and/or a set of one or more geographical regions
Kim teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas and/or a set of one or more geographical regions [358]- When the UPF is relocated, this message includes the T-UPF SM N3 forwarding information list. In the case that the UPF is not relocated, this message includes the T-RAN SM N3 forwarding information list.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi, The method of claim 22, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas and/or a set of one or more geographical regions as taught by Kim to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 24, ,Xi does not teach, The method of claim 23, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas (TAs), and the CA information included in the first request comprises for each TA included in the set of TAs, a TA identifier (TAI) identifying the TA
Kim teaches,The method of claim 23, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas (TAs), and the CA information included in the first request comprises for each TA included in the set of TAs, a TA identifier (TAI) identifying the TA. [256]- The T-UPF SM N3 forwarding information list includes T-UPF N3 address, T-UPF N3 Tunnel identifiers for forwarding data
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi, The method of claim 23, wherein the CA comprises a set of one or more tracking areas (TAs), and the CA information included in the first request comprises for each TA included in the set of TAs, a TA identifier (TAI) identifying the TA as taught by Kim to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Claim(s) 25-27,28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Xiong et al. (US20220210755A1)(hereinafter “Xi”) in view of Kim et al. ( US20200337093A1)
In further view of Youn et al. (US20210120596A1)
Regarding Claim 25, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, , The method of claim 22, wherein the ID is associated with a group of UEs, and the method further comprises:the TSE sending to a network entity a query comprising the ID; andthe TSE receiving a response to the query, wherein the response comprises a set of one or more UE IDs (UIDs), wherein each UID included in the set of one more UIDs identifies a single subscriber.
Youn teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein the ID is associated with a group of UEs, and the method further comprises:the TSE sending to a network entity a query comprising the ID; andthe TSE receiving a response to the query, wherein the response comprises a set of one or more UE IDs (UIDs), wherein each UID included in the set of one more UIDs identifies a single subscriber. [296]- For each LADN DNN configured in the AMF, corresponding LADN service area information may include a set of tracking areas (i.e., a set of intersections of an allocated registration area and the LADN service area) which belong to a registration area (registration area which the AMF allocates to the UE)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 22, wherein the ID is associated with a group of UEs, and the method further comprises:the TSE sending to a network entity a query comprising the ID; andthe TSE receiving a response to the query, wherein the response comprises a set of one or more UE IDs (UIDs), wherein each UID included in the set of one more UIDs identifies a single subscriber. as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 26, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 22, wherein the method comprises the TSE invoking the subscription service, and invoking the subscription service comprises the TSE sending to a first network entity a first subscription request comprising AoI information specifying the AoI.
Youn teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein the method comprises the TSE invoking the subscription service, and invoking the subscription service comprises the TSE sending to a first network entity a first subscription request comprising AoI information specifying the AoI. [173-177]- The SMF transmits a Subscriber Data Request message to the UDM. The Subscriber Data Request message may include a subscriber permanent ID and DNN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 22, wherein the method comprises the TSE invoking the subscription service, and invoking the subscription service comprises the TSE sending to a first network entity a first subscription request comprising AoI information specifying the AoI as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 27, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 26, wherein invoking the subscription service comprises invoking a delegated subscription service, and the first network entity is a Unified Data Management (UDM) instance.
Youn teaches, The method of claim 26, wherein invoking the subscription service comprises invoking a delegated subscription service, and the first network entity is a Unified Data Management (UDM) instance. [113]- During the initial registration procedure, an ID of the UE may be obtained from the UE. The AMF may forward (or transfer) a PEI (IMEISV) to a UDM, SMF, and PCF.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 26, wherein invoking the subscription service comprises invoking a delegated subscription service, and the first network entity is a Unified Data Management (UDM) instance as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 28,Xi teaches, The method of claim 26, wherein the first network entity is a first Access and Mobility Management (AMF) instance. [143]- Step S714: The UE initiates a service request to establish a signaling connection with the AMF entity.
Regarding Claim 29, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 28, further comprising: prior to sending to the first AMF instance the first subscription request, the TSE discovering the first AMF instance
Youn teaches,The method of claim 28, further comprising: prior to sending to the first AMF instance the first subscription request, the TSE discovering the first AMF instance. [242]- When a valid route selection descriptor is discovered, the UE determines whether there is an existing PDU session matching all components of the selected route selection descriptor.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 28, further comprising: prior to sending to the first AMF instance the first subscription request, the TSE discovering the first AMF instance as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 30, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 29, wherein discovering the first AMF comprises: the TSE transmitting an AMF discovery request comprising the CA information; and the TSE receiving an AMF discovery response responsive to the request, wherein the AFM discovery response comprises an AMF ID that identifies the first AFM instance
Youn teaches The method of claim 29, wherein discovering the first AMF comprises: the TSE transmitting an AMF discovery request comprising the CA information; and the TSE receiving an AMF discovery response responsive to the request, wherein the AFM discovery response comprises an AMF ID that identifies the first AFM instance. [187]- And, the SMF may provide packet discovery, execution, and reporting rules of packets that are to be installed in the UPF for the PDU session. In case the SMF allocates CN tunnel information, the CN tunnel information may be provided to the UPF.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 29, wherein discovering the first AMF comprises: the TSE transmitting an AMF discovery request comprising the CA information; and the TSE receiving an AMF discovery response responsive to the request, wherein the AFM discovery response comprises an AMF ID that identifies the first AFM instance as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 31, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 26, wherein the subscription request further comprises a first UE ID (UID) associated with the first UE,or the subscription request further comprises the ID that was included in the create service request
Youn teaches, The method of claim 26, wherein the subscription request further comprises a first UE ID (UID) associated with the first UE,or the subscription request further comprises the ID that was included in the create service request.[211]- the SMF may call (or page or summon) a “UDM_Register UE serving NF service” including an SMF address and DNN. The UDM may store the ID, address, and DNN of the SMF.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 26, wherein the subscription request further comprises a first UE ID (UID) associated with the first UE,or the subscription request further comprises the ID that was included in the create service request as taught by Youn to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Claim(s) 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Xiong et al. (US20220210755A1)(hereinafter “Xi”) in view of Kim et al. ( US20200337093A1)
In further view of Kang et al. (US20220149964A1)
Regarding Claim 32, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 22, wherein activating the TS service for the UE comprises: initializing a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) instance in a Device-side Time-Sensitive Networking (TSN) Translator (DS-TT) associated with the first UE; and constructing for the DS-TT a port management information, PMI, container, PMIC, containing PMI.
Kang teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein activating the TS service for the UE comprises: initializing a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) instance in a Device-side Time-Sensitive Networking (TSN) Translator (DS-TT) associated with the first UE; and constructing for the DS-TT a port management information, PMI, container, PMIC, containing PMI. [21]- According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the port configuration information and the Announce information may be transmitted from the NEF to the DS-TT through a PMIC signaling.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 22, wherein activating the TS service for the UE comprises: initializing a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) instance in a Device-side Time-Sensitive Networking (TSN) Translator (DS-TT) associated with the first UE; and constructing for the DS-TT a port management information, PMI, container, PMIC, containing PMI as taught by Kang to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Regarding Claim 33, Xi in view of Kim does not teach, The method of claim 32, further comprising providing the PMIC to the first UE
Kang teaches, The method of claim 32, further comprising providing the PMIC to the first UE.[57]- In an embodiment, the port configuration information and the Announce information may be transmitted from the NEF 120 to the DS-TT 102 a through the PMIC signaling.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xi in view of Kim , The method of claim 32, further comprising providing the PMIC to the first UE as taught by Kang to send message to network of location change based on subscription.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478