DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on February 04, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/remarks filed February 04, 2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 8, and 10-20 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (NONAKA – EP 3299237 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited prior art fails to meet the limitations “…setting, at least when the difference ωmax−ωmin exceeds the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller, wherein the modified slip target is determined as μtrgt=μreq/K …”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that NONAKA discloses a wheel speed difference deriving portion 28 that derives a wheel speed difference which is a deviation between the maximum wheel speed and the minimum wheel speed of the wheels of the vehicle M. Further on, NONAKA discloses a target slip ratio setting portion 29 that sets the target slip ratio on the basis of at least one of the wheel speed difference, the vehicle body speed, and the request drive amount, or a combination thereof.
Moreover, the target slip ratio setting portion 29 inputs the selected mode selected by the mode selecting switch 17 and sets the slip ratio corresponding to the selected mode as the target slip ratio. For example, the target slip ratio setting portion 29 sets the slip ratio corresponding to the selected mode as the target slip ratio, when either one of the first to fifth modes is selected by the mode selecting switch 17. In this case, the driver of the vehicle M operates the mode selecting switch 17 to select a mode in accordance with the vehicle travelling road surface condition.
The target slip ratio setting portion 29 {{{lowers}}} [emphasis here] the target slip ratio when the wheel speed difference is large. For example, the target slip ratio setting portion 29 judges that the wheel speed difference is large when the wheel speed difference is larger than a first wheel speed difference threshold value.
Going back to claim 1, the claim language requires that the modified slip target is determined as μtrgt=μreq/K, where K≥1 is a {{{reduction factor}}} [emphasis here and above; i.e., lowering the target slip ratio] and wherein the reduction factor K is a function (i.e., when the wheel speed difference is large) of the difference ωmax−ωmin.
Accordingly, in view of the above, the Examiner respectfully maintains that NONAKA discloses the limitations “…setting, at least when the difference ωmax−ωmin exceeds the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller, wherein the modified slip target is determined as μtrgt=μreq/K …” as required in at least claims 1, 13 and 19.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 6-7 and 9 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-3, 8, and 10-20 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (NONAKA – EP 3299237 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NONAKA discloses:
A method for determining a modified slip target μtrgt for a vehicle engine speed controller, the method comprising:
comparing a difference between a maximum wheel speed ωmax and a minimum wheel speed ωmin for wheels of open differential and driven axles controlled by the vehicle engine speed controller to a preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS ([Abstract, 0059-0080]: “the vehicle control apparatus 20 includes a vehicle body speed deriving portion 23 which derives the vehicle body speed of the vehicle M, a wheel speed difference deriving portion 28 {{{which derives a wheel speed difference}}} that is {{{a deviation}}} between a {{{maximum wheel speed and a minimum wheel speed}}} among each wheel speed of wheels of the vehicle M, a request drive amount deriving portion 24 which derives a request drive amount to a drive source of the vehicle, a torque suppressing device 16 which suppresses torque of a drive wheel of the wheels of the vehicle M, a traction control portion 31 which controls the torque suppressing device 16 to suppress an acceleration slip of the drive wheel based on a target slip ratio that is a target value of a slip ratio that is an acceleration slip ratio of the drive wheel relative to the vehicle body speed and {{{a target slip ratio setting portion 29 which sets the target slip ratio based on at least one of the wheel speed difference}}}, the vehicle body speed and the request drive amount or any combination thereof”); and
setting, at least when the difference ωmax−ωmin exceeds the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller ([Abstract, 0059-0080]), wherein the modified slip target is determined as:
μtrgt=μreq/K
where K≥1 is a reduction factor and wherein the reduction factor K is a function of the difference ωmax−ωmin and the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS (Please see Examiner Comments below).
Examiner Comments:
NONAKA above discloses a reduction factor K that is a function of the maximum wheel speed ωmax and a minimum wheel speed ωmin and is at least a value of 1.
Regarding claim 13, NONAKA discloses:
A system for determining a modified slip target μtrgt for a vehicle engine speed controller, the system comprising:
processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the system to: compare a difference between a maximum wheel speed ωmax and a minimum wheel speed ωmin for wheels of open differential and driven axles controlled by the vehicle engine speed controller to a preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS ([Abstract, 0059-0080]: “the vehicle control apparatus 20 includes a vehicle body speed deriving portion 23 which derives the vehicle body speed of the vehicle M, a wheel speed difference deriving portion 28 {{{which derives a wheel speed difference}}} that is {{{a deviation}}} between a {{{maximum wheel speed and a minimum wheel speed}}} among each wheel speed of wheels of the vehicle M, a request drive amount deriving portion 24 which derives a request drive amount to a drive source of the vehicle, a torque suppressing device 16 which suppresses torque of a drive wheel of the wheels of the vehicle M, a traction control portion 31 which controls the torque suppressing device 16 to suppress an acceleration slip of the drive wheel based on a target slip ratio that is a target value of a slip ratio that is an acceleration slip ratio of the drive wheel relative to the vehicle body speed and {{{a target slip ratio setting portion 29 which sets the target slip ratio based on at least one of the wheel speed difference}}}, the vehicle body speed and the request drive amount or any combination thereof”); and
set, at least when the difference ωmax−ωmin exceeds the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller ([Abstract, 0059-0080]), wherein the modified slip target is determined as:
μtrgt=μreq/K
where K≥1 is a reduction factor, and wherein the reduction factor K is a function of the difference ωmax−ωmin and the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS (Please see Examiner Comments above).
Regarding claim 19, NONAKA discloses:
A computer program for determining a modified slip target μtrgt for a vehicle engine speed controller, the computer program comprising:
computer code which, when run on processing circuitry of a system, causes the system to: compare a difference between a maximum wheel speed ωmax and a minimum wheel speed ωmin for wheels of open differential and driven axles controlled by the vehicle engine speed controller to a preconfigured wheel speed offset Δs ([Abstract, 0059-0080]: “the vehicle control apparatus 20 includes a vehicle body speed deriving portion 23 which derives the vehicle body speed of the vehicle M, a wheel speed difference deriving portion 28 {{{which derives a wheel speed difference}}} that is {{{a deviation}}} between a {{{maximum wheel speed and a minimum wheel speed}}} among each wheel speed of wheels of the vehicle M, a request drive amount deriving portion 24 which derives a request drive amount to a drive source of the vehicle, a torque suppressing device 16 which suppresses torque of a drive wheel of the wheels of the vehicle M, a traction control portion 31 which controls the torque suppressing device 16 to suppress an acceleration slip of the drive wheel based on a target slip ratio that is a target value of a slip ratio that is an acceleration slip ratio of the drive wheel relative to the vehicle body speed and {{{a target slip ratio setting portion 29 which sets the target slip ratio based on at least one of the wheel speed difference}}}, the vehicle body speed and the request drive amount or any combination thereof”); and
set, at least when the difference ωmax−ωmin exceeds the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller ([Abstract, 0059-0080]), wherein the modified slip target is determined as:
μtrgt=μreq/K
where K≥1 is a reduction factor, and wherein the reduction factor K is a function of the difference ωmax−ωmin and the preconfigured wheel speed offset Δs (Please see Examiner Comments above).
Regarding claim 2, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 1, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the method further comprises:
setting, when the difference ωmax−ωmin is larger than 0, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 3, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 1, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the method further comprises:
setting, when the difference ωmax−ωmin fails to exceed the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to at most be equal to the requested slip target μreq ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 8, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 1, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the reduction factor K is limited to, over time, change differently depending on whether the difference ωmax−ωmin is increasing or decreasing over time ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 10, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 1, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the maximum wheel speed ωmax is determined as: ωmax=max (ω1, ω2, ω3, …) and the minimum wheel speed ωmin is determined as: ωmin=min (ω1, ω2, ω3, ...) where ωi is the wheel speed for wheel i of the open differential and driven axles of the vehicle ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 11, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 1, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: converting, with respect to a reference wheel speed ωref, the modified slip target μtrgt to an engine speed limit vlim ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 12, NONAKA disclose the method according to claim 11, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: controlling wheel speeds of the wheels of the open differential and driven axles according to the engine speed limit vlim ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 14, NONAKA disclose the system according to claim 13, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the system to: set, when the difference ωmax−ωmin is larger than 0, the modified slip target μtrgt to be lower than a requested slip target μreq for the vehicle engine speed controller ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 15, NONAKA disclose the system according to claim 13, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the system to: set, when the difference ωmax−ωmin fails to exceed the preconfigured wheel speed offset ΔS, the modified slip target μtrgt to at most be equal to the requested slip target μreq ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 16, NONAKA disclose the system according to claim 13, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the system to: convert, with respect to a reference wheel speed μreq, the modified slip target μtrgt to an engine speed limit vlim ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 17, NONAKA disclose the system according to claim 13, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the system to: control wheel speeds of the wheels of the open differential and driven axles according to the engine speed limit vlim ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 18, NONAKA disclose the system according to claim 13, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
a vehicle comprising the system of claim 13 ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Regarding claim 20, NONAKA disclose the computer program product according to claim 19, and further on NONAKA also discloses:
a computer program product comprising the computer program of claim 19, and a computer readable storage medium on which the computer program is stored ([Abstract, 0059-0080]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747