DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites, “the exhaust fan is direct communication with the outside of the housing” which is incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read, “the exhaust fan is in direct communication with the outside of the housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirota (JP 2019107291).
With respect to claim 1, Shirota teaches (In Figs 3-8) an electronic endoscope processor (1) comprising: a housing (2); a partition plate (24) that partitions an internal space of the housing into a first space (A) below and a second space (B) above (See Fig 5), the partition plate having a first aperture (Not called out but the notch in 24 as shown in Figs 3, 7) that is an aperture allowing the first space and the second space to communicate with each other (See Fig 5); a first intake hole (7) through which outside air is acquired into the first space and a second intake hole (6) through which outside air is acquired into the second space are formed in the housing (See Fig 6); and an exhaust fan (31) that is attached to the housing at and in communication with the first space (See Figs 3, 5), wherein all of the outside air acquired into the first intake hole (7) and the second intake hole (6) is exhausted by the exhaust fan to an outside of the housing (See Figs 6-7, “Thus, the cooling fan 31 exhausts the heat in both the lower space A and the upper space B alone (one unit).”).
With respect to claim 4, Shirota further teaches that the second intake hole (6) is larger than the first intake hole (7, see Fig 8, the collective area of intake holes of 6 are larger than the collective area of intake holes of 7).
With respect to claim 8, Shirota further teaches that the exhaust fan (31) is in direct communication with the outside of the housing (See Fig 7).
With respect to claim 10, Shirota further teaches that the housing is free of exhaust fans at the second space (See Fig A below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirota in view of Dalheimer (US 6,618,248).
With respect to claim 6, Shirota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 6.
Dalheimer, however, teaches a peripheral edge of a first aperture (31) has a turbulence generating structure (5) that generates turbulence in an air flow passing through the first aperture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dalheimer with that of Shirota such that, in Shirota a peripheral edge of a first aperture has a turbulence generating structure that generates turbulence in an air flow passing through the first aperture, as taught by Dalheimer, since doing so would increase heat transfer within the housing of Shirota.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirota in view of McQueen (US 2022/0389731).
With respect to claim 5, Shirota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a size of the first intake hole is set in such a manner than an air flow is fastest in the first space and the second space.
McQueen, however, teaches a size of an intake hole (132) is set in such a manner than a fluid flow is fastest in a space (¶ 0027, “The adjustable openings 132 may be allow for various flow rate configurations as desired, such as an unobstructed configuration (FIG. 4) allowing for a maximum flow rate through the housing 126 and a partially obstructed configuration (FIG. 5) in which the size of the openings is less than FIG. 4, and thereby the flow rate is decreased.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McQueen with that of Shirota such that, in Shirota a size of the first intake hole is set in such a manner than an air flow is fastest in the first space and the second space, as taught by McQueen, since doing so would allow for maximum heat transfer to the air.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirota in view of Kitahara (US 7,920,381).
With respect to claim 9, Shirota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 9.
Kitahara, however, teaches an exhaust system which includes a pair of exhaust fans (81, 82).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kitahara with that of Shirota such that the exhaust fan of Shirota includes a pair of exhaust fans, as taught by Kitahara, since doing so would provide redundancy to the exhaust system of Shirota so that, in the event one fan fails, the other would be able to remove heated air from the housing.
Further it is noted that duplication of parts, such as taking a single fan and duplicating it so that an exhaust system has two fans, has been held to be obvious1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claims 2-3, 7, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 2 and at least in part because claim 2 recites, “one or a plurality of heat generating components that are arranged in the first space and generate heat during operation; and an air flow adjusting plate that is arranged between the first aperture and each of the heat generating components in the first space and adjusts an air flow entering the first space through the first aperture to be directed to each of the heat generating components”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 2 are believed to render said claim 2 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Shirota teaches many of the limitations of claim 1 as per the above rejection thereto, Shirota fails to specifically teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 1. Further, the Examiner does not believe that Shirota lends itself to being modified to meet the limitations of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5-7, filed 9/17/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the previous rejection of claim 1 in view of Yasuyuki has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds 102(a)(1) rejection to claim 1 in view of Shirota is provided above where Shirota is believed to teach all the limitations of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)