DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-10 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita (JP2016033240, machine translation).
Claim 1: Fujita teaches a furnace for vacuum carburization (¶¶ 0001, 0033), comprising: a heating chamber (2) in which vacuum carburizing is performed (¶ 0033) on a workpiece (W) to be charged from outside the furnace (Fig. 2; ¶ 0016); and a charging port (3) for the workpiece at the bottom of the heating chamber (Figs. 2 and 6).
Claim 2: Fujita further teaches that the furnace includes an elevator (6) below the heating chamber that charges the workpiece into the chamber through the port (Figs. 2, 6; ¶ 0018).
Claim 3: Fujita teaches that the furnace includes a support table (10) that supports the workpiece (W); and a lift body (7) before the table that covers the charging port (Fig. 6; ¶ 0021), wherein the elevator raises the lid body (Figs. 2 and 6) and the lid body has a shape that comes into close contact with a bottom portion of the heating chamber (Fig. 6; ¶ 0021).
Claim 7: Fujita teaches that the heating chamber includes a gas supply port (¶ 0033). While Fujita does not expressly teach an oxidizing gas, claim 7 is an apparatus claim which is defined by the apparatus itself and not the intended use of the apparatus. In this case, the gas supply port of Fujita is capable of supplying an oxidizing gas to the chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in light of Gurnee et al. (US 2002/0144683).
Claim 4: Fujita does not discuss any mechanism which verifies that the lid is closed. Gurnee teaches a furnace and explains that a controller is included which monitors the open/closed status of the opening to the furnace in order to ensure that the door is correctly opened or closed in order to avoid hazardous conditions (¶ 0082). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included a controller which was configured to detect an open/closed lid and correct the undesired status in order to have avoided hazardous conditions when operating the furnace.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in light of Onishi (JP2001158955, machine translation).
Claim 5: Fujita teaches controlling the introduction of gases in the heating chamber, but fails to expressly teach use of a controller to do so. Onishi teaches a furnace for vacuum carbonization (¶ 0001) and explains that the furnace employs a controller configured to purge the furnace with an inert gas and raise the pressure to atmospheric before opening the charging port in order to ensure a pressure equilibrium (¶¶ 0039-0040). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have employed such a controller in Fujita in order to have ensured a pressure equilibrium during loading/unloading.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in light of Narita (JP2005179714).
Claim 6: Fujita teaches controlling the atmosphere inside the vacuum chamber (¶ 0033), but fails to expressly teach the use of a controller to do so. Narita teaches a vacuum heating chamber and explains that, during operation, a controller is used to maintain the temperature, pressure and atmosphere of the chamber (¶¶ 0020, 0032). Claim 6 is an apparatus claim which is defined by the apparatus itself and not the intended use of the apparatus. In this case, the controller used in Narita is capable of setting the chamber to the claimed settings. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized a controller to control the temperature, pressure and atmosphere of the chamber in Fujita with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in light of Kawata et al. (US 2002/0134467).
Claim 8: Fujita fails to teach a cooling chamber adjacent the heating chamber. Kawata teaches a heating chamber for carburization (Abst.) and explains that a cooling chamber is provided adjacent the heating chamber in order to cool the workpiece (¶ 0102, Fig. 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included a cooling chamber adjacent the heating chamber in Fujita in order to have cooled the workpiece.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712