DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritter et al. (US20100210753, hereinafter referred to as Ritter).
Regarding claim 1, Ritter discloses a glass composition (see Ritter at the Abstract, disclosing a glass), comprising: gadolinium (Gd), cesium (Cs), or both (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 8.41 wt.% Cs2O and 0% Gd2O3); and silicon (Si) (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 52.09 wt.% SiO2), wherein in terms of respective oxides thereof, a total content of a gadolinium oxide and a cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of a total mass of the glass composition (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 8.41 wt.% Cs2O and 0% Gd2O3), and a content of a silicon oxide is 30% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 52.09 wt.% SiO2).
Regarding claim 2, Ritter discloses the glass composition is in a powder form or in a plate form (See Ritter at [0035], disclosing a glass plate).
Regarding claim 4, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes cesium (Cs), and a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 8.41 wt.% Cs2O).
Regarding claim 6, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes cesium (Cs), and a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (see Ritter at Table 1, Example 11, disclosing a glass comprising 8.41 wt.% Cs2O).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter.
Regarding claim 1, Ritter discloses a glass composition (see Ritter at the Abstract, disclosing a glass), comprising: gadolinium (Gd), cesium (Cs), or both (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3. See also Ritter at claim 3, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O. Examiner notes this provides a range of Gd2O3+Cs2O from 0-9 wt.%, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05); and silicon (Si) (See Ritter at claim 1, claiming 51-<58 wt.% SiO2), wherein in terms of respective oxides thereof, a total content of a gadolinium oxide and a cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of a total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3. See also Ritter at claim 3, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O. Examiner notes this provides a range of Gd2O3+Cs2O from 0-9 wt.%, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and a content of a silicon oxide is 30% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 1, claiming 51-<58 wt.% SiO2).
Regarding claim 2, Ritter discloses the glass composition is in a powder form or in a plate form (See Ritter at [0035], disclosing a glass plate).
Regarding claim 3, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes gadolinium (Gd), and a content of the gadolinium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 4, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes cesium (Cs), and a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 5, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes gadolinium (Gd), and a content of the gadolinium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 6, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes cesium (Cs), and a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 7, Ritter discloses the glass composition includes cesium (Cs), and a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3. See also Ritter at claim 3, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O. Examiner notes this provides a range of Gd2O3+Cs2O from 0-9 wt.%, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 8, Ritter discloses a content of the cesium oxide is 1% by mass or more of the total mass of the glass composition (See Ritter at claim 6, claiming 0-3 wt.% Gd2O3. See also Ritter at claim 3, claiming 0-6 wt.% Cs2O. Examiner notes this provides a range of Gd2O3+Cs2O from 0-9 wt.%, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP2019131457A.
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731