DETAILED ACTION
Tittle
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
In line 4, the term “its” is unclear. Please, clarify.
Please, change “its electromagnetic wave” to - - an electromagnetic wave - - for proper reading.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Morioka et al. (U.S. 2018/0086949).
As to claim 1, Morioka9 discloses an electrically conductive adhesive layer (2) as shown in figures 1-5 comprising:
a binder component (20, para-0100); and
electrically conductive particles (4, para-0028)
wherein the electrically conductive particles (4) include first particles (4a) and second particles (4b) having a smaller median diameter than the first particles (4a), the second particles (4b) are flaky particles (circular particles) each including a core particle (41) covered with a metal layer (42), see figure 4, and
a percentage of a mass of the electrically conductive particles (4) relative to a mass of the electrically conductive adhesive layer (2) is 60 to 90 mass%, para-0036+.
As to claim 2, Morioka discloses an electrically conductive adhesive layer (2) as shown in figures 1-5 comprising:
a binder component (20); and
electrically conductive particles (4),
wherein the electrically conductive particles (4) include first particles (4a) and second particles (4b) having a smaller median diameter than the first particles,
the second particles (4b) are flaky particles (circular particles) each including a core particle (41) covered with a metal layer (42), and
the electrically conductive adhesive layer (2) has a thermal conductivity of 4 to 20
W/m K in a thickness direction (the epoxy-based polymer with silver particles, para-0063+, or filler has a thermal conductivity in a range from 1.5 to 9 W/m K).
As to claim 3, Morioka discloses wherein in a cross section parallel to a thickness direction of the electrically conductive adhesive layer (2),
when a contour of each first particle is enlarged 1.25 times centering on a center (at the radius r of the element 4a) of gravity of the contour into an enlarged contour, the second particles (4b) are located along the contour between the contour and the enlarged contour.
As to claim 4, Morioka discloses in a cross section parallel to a thickness direction of the electrically conductive adhesive layer (2),
a distance from a lower end to an upper end of each first particle (4a) in the thickness direction is 50% or more and less than 100% of a thickness of the electrically
conductive adhesive layer (2).
As to claim 5, Morioka discloses in a cross section parallel to a thickness direction of the electrically conductive adhesive layer (2),
the second particles (4b) are located at least one of between an upper end (top surface 22) of the electrically conductive adhesive layer and an upper end of each first particle or between a lower end (a bottom surface 22) of the electrically conductive adhesive layer and a lower end of each first particle.
As to claim 6, Morioka discloses a sum distance of a median diameter of the first particles (4a) and twice a median major axis diameter of the second particles (4b) is greater than the thickness of the electrically conductive adhesive layer.
As to claim 7, Morioka discloses the core particle (41) is a carbon particle, para-0037+, and the metal layer is a silver layer, para-0057+.
As to claim 8, Morioka discloses a ratio [vol% of first particles]/[vol% of second particles] of a volume percent of the first particles (4a) to a volume percent of the second particles (4b) in the electrically conductive adhesive layer is 0.2 to 10, para-0063+.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arifuku et al. (U.S. Patent 7,777,335) in view of Morioka (‘949).
As to claim 9, Arifuku discloses a heat dissipation structure as shown in figures 1a-1d comprising:
a printed board (11) provided with conductors (12) on a surface thereof;
an electrically conductive adhesive layer (15) disposed on the printed board (11) to be in contact with the conductors (12); and
a heat dissipation material (17, 18) disposed on the electrically conductive adhesive layer.
Arifuku does not specifically disclose the electrically conductive adhesive layer is the electrically conductive adhesive layer according to claim 1.
Morioka teaches an electrically conductive adhesive layer (2) comprising all the limitations in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Morioka employed in the heat dissipation structure of Arifuku in order to provide excellent mechanical bonding and reliable electrical interconnection between two faces connection structure.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847