DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 09/26/2024 has been entered into this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 09/26/22024, 03/19/2026 and 06/02/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/26/2024, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 25, Tapanes discloses an optical fiber-based monitoring method ([see abstract]- is An optical sensor and a method of producing the optical sensor is disclosed in which a singlemode fibre (14) is fusion spliced to a multimode fibre (18)), comprising:
generating a first light signal (pg. 14, In 31-33: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22);
receiving the first light signal in a fiber structure assembly that includes a number of multimode interferometric fiber structures (16, 18, 15) that are coupled in a manner such that each of the multimode interferometric fiber structures is configured to receive the first light signal (Fig. 5, pg. 7, In 6-12: by mirroring the end-face of the multimode fibre, the optical signal returned to the optical system components in the reverse direction resulted in a so called "multimode fibre optic interferometer"; pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 14, In 31-33: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22; pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated. A (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44; pg. 8, In 10-19: When the light source reaches the multimode waveguide the singlemode can branch out into multiplemodes within the multimode waveguide SO that when the multimode fibre experiences a change due to the change in the environment it is monitoring, properties of the electromagnetic radiation in the multimode waveguide can be altered. Light which has had its property altered in the multimode waveguide enters the singlemode fibre from the multimode waveguide for detection by the detecting device) and to output an output light signal indicative of a parameter associated with the multimode interferometric fiber structure (pg. 15, In 5-12: propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion);
converting each of the output signals into an electrical signal (pg. 14, In 31-34: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22, coupler 26 and a detector and signal processing unit 24).
Regarding claim 26, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 25, wherein each of a number of the multimode interferometric fiber structures includes an SMS fiber structure (Fig. 5; pg. 8, In 7-25: a singlemode of electromagnetic radiation is launched into the singlemode fibre from a light source such as a laser and propagates along the singlemode fibre. When the light source reaches the multimode waveguide the singlemode can branch out into multiplemodes within the multimode waveguide Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion).
Regarding claim 28, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26, wherein the number of multimode interferometric fiber structures is a plurality of multimode interferometric fiber structures (18) (Fig. 5, pg. 7, In 6-12; pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated. A (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44; pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 27, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 26. While Tapanes fails to specifically disclose wherein a number of the SMS fiber structures are part of an SMSMS fiber structure, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill that the number of SMS fiber structures disclosed in Tapanes are part of an SMSMS (16, 18, 14, 18, 16) fiber structure since Tapanes discloses the fibers can be SMSMS fibers (Fig. 3; pg 15, In 19-29).
Claims 1-6, 23, 24, 29, and 46-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Sappey et al. (2006/0133714 A1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Tapanes discloses an optical fiber-based monitoring system ([abstract]- An optical sensor and a method of producing the optical sensor is disclosed in which a singlemode fibre (14) is fusion spliced to a multimode fibre (18)), comprising:
a light source (22) structured and configured for generating a first light signal (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 31-33: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22);
a fiber structure assembly (16, 18) including a number of multimode fiber structures (18) (Fig. 5, pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated. A (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44; pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16), each of the multimode interferometric fiber structures being configured to receive the first light signal (pg 7, In 6-12; pg. 14, In 31-33: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22; pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated: A (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44; pg. 8, In 10-19: When the light source reaches the multimode waveguide the singlemode can branch out into multiplemodes within the multimode waveguide so that when the multimode fibre experiences a change due to the change in the environment it is monitoring, properties of the electromagnetic radiation in the multimode waveguide can be altered. Light which has had its property altered in the multimode waveguide enters the singlemode fibre from the multimode waveguide for detection by the detecting device) and to output an output light signal indicative of a parameter associated with the multimode interferometric fiber structure (pg. 15, In 5-12:
propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion); and
a photodetector coupled the fiber structure assembly for converting each output light signal into an electrical signal (pg. 14, In 31-34: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22, coupler 26 and a detector and signal processing unit 24).
Tapanes does not disclose a number or plurality of photodetectors.
However, Sappey, drawn to optical fiber sensing (abstract), discloses, a number of photodetectors (32) (Fig. 1, para [0034]- Each output optical fiber 30 in turn is optically coupled to a detector 32, which typically is a photodetector sensitive to one of the select frequencies of laser light generated and multiplexed to form the probe beam. The detectors 32 generate an electrical signal based upon the nature and quantity of light transmitted to the detector 32 at the detector frequency). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a number of photodetectors of Sappey with the photodetector of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 1, Tapanes further discloses wherein each of a number of the multimode interferometric fiber structures includes an SMS fiber structure (Fig. 5; pg. 8, In 7-25: a singlemode of electromagnetic radiation is launched into the singlemode fibre from a light source such as a laser and propagates along the singlemode fibre. When the light source reaches the multimode waveguide the singlemode can branch out into multiplemodes within the multimode waveguide Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion).
Regarding claim 3, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2. While Tapanes fails to specifically disclose wherein a number of the SMS fiber structures are part of an SMSMS fiber structure, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill that the number of SMS fiber structures disclosed in Tapanes are part of an SMSMS (16, 18, 14, 18, 16) fiber structure since Tapanes discloses the fibers can be SMSMS fibers (Fig. 3; pg 15, In 19-29).
Regarding claim 4, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 1, Tapanes further discloses wherein the number of multimode interferometric fiber structures is a plurality of multimode interferometric fiber structures (18) (Fig. 5, pg. 7, In 6-12; pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated. A (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44; pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16), the system including a coupler (26) coupled to the light source for receiving the first light signal and providing the first light signal to each of the multimode interferometric fiber structures (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 31-33: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22, coupler 26; pg. 16, In 12-16: a multiplexed fibre optic modalmetric sensor system 40 is illustrated. (1XN) star coupler 42 joins the singlemode optical fibre patch cords 16 to one individual singlemode optical fibre patch cord 44).
Regarding claim 5. Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2, Tapanes discloses wherein the output of each of the SMS fiber structures and the photodetector is a single photodetector coupled to an output for converting the selected one of the output signals currently being output an electrical signal (Fig. 5; pg. 14, In 31-34: The singlemode fibre patch cord 16 is coupled to instrumentation 20 which includes a light source 22, coupler 26 and a detector and signal processing unit 24; pg. 16, In 12 -17) and
Coupled Sappey further discloses comprising an optical switch (74) coupled to the fiber structure assembly (26) (Fig. 1, para [0034]- The catch optic 24 is optically-coupled to a catch side optical fiber 26 which transmits the portion of the multiplexed probe beam which is received by the catch optic 24 to a demultiplexer 28; para [0042]- A similar optical routing device which, in FIG. 1, is shown as a multimode optical switch 74 can be employed on the catch side of the system to route the portion of the multiplexed probe beam received by each catch optic 24 to the catch side demultiplexer 28), the optical switch (74) being structured and configured to selectively and individually connect to an output of each of the fiber structures as a function of time such that the optical switch outputs only a selected one of the output signals at any one time (para [0042]- A similar optical routing device which, in FIG.1, is shown as a multimode optical switch 74 can be employed on the catch side of the system to route the portion of the multiplexed probe beam received by each catch optic 24 to the catch side demultiplexer 28.
Although the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1 shows only two sets of pitch and catch optics, the system can employ any number of pitch and catch optical sets. The use of fiber coupling and a (de)multiplexed probe beam on both the pitch and catch sides of the system allows multiple sets of pitch and catch optics to be implemented with one set of lasers 12 and detectors 32).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine an optical switch coupled to the fiber structure assembly, the optical switch being structured and configured to selectively and individually connect to an output of each of the fiber structures as a function of time such that the optical switch outputs only a selected one of the output signals at any one time of Sappey with the system of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 4, Tapanes discloses each photodetector being coupled to an output of respective one of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5; pg 14, In 31-34; pg 16, In 12-17). Sappey further discloses wherein the photodetector is a plurality of photodetectors (32) (Fig. 1, para [0034]- Each output optical fiber 30 in turn is optically coupled to a detector 32 The detectors 32 generate an electrical signal based upon the nature and quantity of light transmitted to the detector 32 at the detector frequency), each photodetector (32) being coupled to an output of respective one of the fiber structures (30) (para [0034]- Within the demultiplexer 28 the portion of the multiplexed probe beam received by the catch optic 24 is demultiplexed and each wavelength of demultiplexed laser light is coupled to an output optical fiber 30. Each output optical fiber 30 in turn is optically coupled to a detector 32). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the photodetector is a plurality of photodetectors, each photodetector being coupled to an output of respective one of the fiber structures of Sappey with the photodetector and SMS fibers of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 1. Sappey further discloses wherein the light source is a DFB laser having a single wavelength output (para [0047]- This wavelength is produced using a 1340-nm distributed-feedback (DFB) laser frequency-doubled in a phase-matched periodically poled lithium Niobate waveguide). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the light source is a DFB laser having a single wavelength output of Sappey with the light source of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 24, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber based monitoring system according to claim 2. Tapanes discloses each of the SMS fiber structures is positionable at a distinct location (Fig. 5; pg. 16, In 12-17). Sappey further discloses wherein each of the fiber structures is positionable at a distinct location to allow for quasi-distributed measurement both temporally and in a spatially distributed mariner (para [0034]- Across the combustion chamber 22 in optical communication with the pitch optic 20 is a catch optic 24. The catch optic 24 is preferably substantially opposite the pitch optic 20 and is operatively associated with the combustion chamber 22. The catch optic 24 is positioned and oriented to receive the multiplexed probe beam projected through the combustion chamber 22. The catch optic 24 is optically coupled to a catch side optical fiber 26 which transmits the portion of the multiplexed probe beam which is received by the catch optic 24 to a demultiplexer 28). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide each of the fiber structures is positionable at a distinct location to allow for quasi-distributed measurement both temporally and in a spatially distributed mariner of Sappey with the system of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 29, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 28. Tapanes discloses an output of each. of the SMS fiber structures (Fig: 5; pg. 16, In 12-17), but fails to disclose wherein the converting comprises selectively and individually connecting to an output of each of the fiber structures as a function of time to provide only a selected one of the output signals at any one time, and converting the selected one of the output signals currently being output into an electrical signal.
However, Sappey discloses the converting comprises selectively and individually connecting to an output of each of the fiber structures as a function of time to provide only a selected one of the output signals at any one time (para [0042]- A similar optical routing device which, in FIG. 1. is shown as a multimode optical switch 74 can be employed on the catch side of the system to route the portion of the multiplexed probe beam received by each catch optic 24 to the catch side demultiplexer 28.
Although the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1 shows only two sets of pitch and catch optics, the system can employ any number of pitch and catch optical sets. The use of fiber coupling and a (de)multiplexed probe beam on both the pitch and catch sides of the system allows multiple sets of pitch and catch optics to be implemented with one set of lasers 12 and detectors 32), and converting the selected one of the output signals currently being output into an electrical signal (para [0034]- Each output optical fiber 30 in turn is optically coupled to a detector 32. The detectors 32 generate an electrical signal based upon the nature and quantity of light transmitted to the detector 32 at the detector frequency). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the converting comprises selectively and individually connecting to an output of each of the fiber structures as a function of time to provide only a selected one of the output signals at any one time, and converting the selected one of the output signals currently being output into an electrical signal of Sappey with the system of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 46. Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 25. Tapanes does not disclose wherein the first light signal a single wavelength signal. However, Sappey discloses the first light signal a single wavelength signal (para [0033]- The sensing apparatus 10 performs tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy (TDLAS) using laser light from a series of tunable diode lasers 12 lasing at select frequencies in the near-infrared or mid-infrared spectrum). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first light signal a single wavelength signal of Sappey with the system of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 47. Tapanes discloses the optical fiber based monitoring method according to claim 25. Tapanes discloses positioning each of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5; pg. 16, In 12-17), but fails to disclose further comprising positioning each of the SMS fiber structures at a distinct location to allow for quasi-distributed measurement both temporally and in a spatially distributed manner.
However, Sappey discloses positioning each of the fiber structures at a distinct location to allow for quasi-distributed measurement both temporally and in a spatially distributed manner (para [0034]- Across the combustion chamber 22 in optical communication with the pitch optic 20 is a catch optic 24. The catch optic 24 is preferably substantially opposite the pitch optic 20 and is operatively associated with the combustion chamber 22. The catch optic 24 is positioned and oriented to receive the multiplexed probe beam projected through the combustion chamber 22. The catch optic 24 is optically coupled to a catch side optical fiber 26 which transmits the portion of the multiplexed probe beam which is received by the catch optic 24 to a demultiplexer 28). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to position each of the fiber structures at a distinct location to allow for quasi-distributed measurement both temporally and in a spatially distributed manner of Sappey with the system of Tapanes, to improve the detection sensitivity of the system (see Sappey, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 48, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 4, Tapanes further discloses wherein each of a number of the plurality of multimode interferometric fiber structures is of unique construction and/or functionalization in order to realize a multiparameter sensing array (Fig. 5; pg. 16, In 37-pg. 17, In 5: The sensors were constructed in order to determine the feasibility of producing localised fibre optic modalmetric sensors with relatively short sensing lengths. Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic, emission, sound, temperature and proximity).
Claims 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of the document entitled "Refractive index sensing characteristic of single-mode-multimode-single-mode fiber structure based on self-imaging effect" by Bai et al. (Applicant cited reference)
Regarding claim 30, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26. Tapanes discloses each of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5; pg. 16, In 12-17), but fails to disclose wherein each of the fiber structures is an SNS fiber structure. However, Bai, drawn to fiber sensor (abstract), discloses, the SMS fiber structures is an SNS fiber structure (pg. 3, col 1: The sensing configuration proposed in this paper gives a new selectable parameter, i.e., MMF length, for improving the sensitivity in the process of fabricating the SMS-fiber-structure-based RI sensors. The SNS fiber structure contains lead-in single-mode fiber (SMF), NCF, and lead-out SMF). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the SMS fiber structures is an SNS fiber structure of Bai with the fibers of Tapanes, to improve sensitivity of the system as disclosed by Bai (see Bai, pg. 1, col 2).
Claims 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Frederick et al, (US 5,867,258 A, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 31, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26, wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion; pg 16, In 12-17), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal is a vibration or acoustic emission signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), quantifying the vibration or acoustic emission signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Tapanes does not disclose vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the SMS fiber structure which will cause a length of the SMS fiber structure to change, and wherein the method further includes demodulating vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal.
However, Frederick, drawn to fiber sensor (abstract), discloses, vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the fiber structure which will cause a length of the fiber structure (18) to change (Fig. 1, col 4, In 55-59: Doped fiber portion 18 is pressure sensitive, in that its length changes with the strain acting on it. Thus, strain from changes in pressure, acoustics, or temperature will change the length of doped fiber portion 18), and wherein the method further includes demodulating vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal (col 3, In 5-9: A demodulation unit is connected to the receiving interferometer for demodulating the output of the receiving interferometer to determine the phase shift of the interferometer intensity pattern. The demodulated phase shift is a representation of the strain acting on the acoustic sensor). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the fiber structure which will cause a length of the fiber structure to change, and wherein the method further includes demodulating vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal of Frederick with the system of Tapanes, to improve sensitivity of the system (see Frederick, col 1, In 60-col 2, in 20).
Claims 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Alemohammad et al. (US 2018/0364073 A1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 32, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26, wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (16, 18) (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion; pg. 16, In 12-17), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is temperature being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal comprises a temperature signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantify the temperature signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Tapanes does not disclose wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal.
However, AOMS, drawn to fiber optic sensor (abstract), discloses, the optical fiber- based monitoring system further includes a computing system (1902) structured (Fig. 19, para [0098]- System 1900 comprises a processing unit 1902 (e.g. one or more micro processors) to control light actuation and the processing of reflected light (signals) from the sensors) and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal (para [0005]- There is disclosed a combination of a fiber optic cable sensor, optical data acquisition system (ODAQ), and optical data analysis algorithm which is configured to measure and report environmental/physical parameters such as temperature; para [0089]- the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of one reflection spectrum and in the later case the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of multiple reflection spectrums; para [0090]- Each FBG reflection spectrum is analyzed based on the following parameters (FIG. 16); para [0094]- d. Intensity of side lobes in the reflection spectrum (11+,|1-)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal of AOMS with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability and sensitivity of the system (see AOMS, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 33, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26, wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is temperature being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal comprises a temperature signal (pg. 15, In 5-12: However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantifying the temperature signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Tapanes does not disclose wherein each of the SMS fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material, and wherein the method further includes demodulating temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal.
However, AOMS discloses the fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material (para [0005]- There is disclosed a combination of a fiber optic cable sensor, optical data acquisition system (ODAQ), and optical data analysis algorithm which is configured to measure and report environmental/physical parameters such as temperature; para [0012]- The fiber optic to be embedded, encapsulated, or bonded could be pre-coated with layers of polymer (polyimide or Acrylate coating), metal layer or a combination of both, called coating seed layer; para [0013]- The sensor sensitivity is a function of the geometry and material properties of the coating seed layers), and wherein the method further includes demodulating temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal (para [0089]- the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of one reflection spectrum and in the later case the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of multiple reflection spectrums; para [0090]- Each FBG reflection spectrum is analyzed based on the following parameters (FIG. 16); para [0094]- d. Intensity of side lobes in the reflection spectrum (|1+,|1-)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material, and wherein the method further includes demodulating temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal of AOMS with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability and sensitivity of the system (see AOMS, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 34. Tapanes in view of AOMS discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 33. AOMS further discloses wherein the temperature sensitive sensing material comprises a nanocomposite thin-film (para [0012]- The fiber optic to be embedded, encapsulated, or bonded could be pre-coated with layers of polymer (polyimide or Acrylate coating), metal layer or a combination of both, called coating seed layer; para [0079]- the sections of the fiber optic to be embedded are coated with a conductive thin-film layer (i.e., metal nano particle suspensions such as silver nano-particle suspension) and thermally cured The thickness of the coating on the fiber varies between 20 nanometer and 10 micrometer).
Claims 35 and 40-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of the document entitled "Magnetic-fluid-coated Photonic Crystal Fiber and FBG for Magnetic Field and Temperature Sensing" by Chen et al. (Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 35, Tapanes discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 26, wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end-face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion; pg. 16, In 12-17), wherein the electrical signal comprises a parameter signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantifying the parameter signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Tapanes does not disclose wherein each of the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material, the parameter associated with the fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength, chemical composition or gas concentration in a vicinity of the fiber structure, and wherein the method further includes demodulating parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal. However, Chen, drawn to fiber sensor (abstract), discloses, the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material,(pg. 1, col 2: Taking advantage of the outstanding magneto-optical properties of MF, such as tunable RI and absorption coefficient, birefringence, and Faraday effect, magnetic field sensors can be realized by infiltrating MF into the air-holes of a PCF or coating the PCF interferometer with MF), the parameter associated with the fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength, (pg. 2, col 1:
Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H); the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the method further includes demodulating parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal (pg. 3, col 2, As a result, the better choice is the intensity-based demodulation method because of the monotonic change of intensity for the wavelengths ranging from 1564 nm to 1571 nm, from 1579 nm to 1590 nm, etc. The 1567 nm was chosen for the demodulation due to its maximum sensitivity among all the wavelengths in spectra shown in Fig. 3(a)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material, the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength, and wherein the method further includes demodulating parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 40, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 35. Chen further discloses wherein the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength (pg. 2, col 1:
Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H), the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles dispersed in a liquid carrier (pg. 1, col 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed. In this Letter, to realize the simultaneous measurement of the magnetic field and temperature, we directly introduced an additional fiber Bragg grating (FBG) to an MF-coated PCF interferometer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles dispersed in a liquid carrier of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 41. Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 40. Chen further discloses wherein the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are Fe3O4 or gamma-Fe203 (pg. 3, col 2: The MF (EMG-605, Ferrotec Inc.), a highly stable aqueous solution of Fe304 nanoparticles with a complex RI, was filled into the glass capillary tube with an inner diameter of 0.3 mm).
Regarding claim 42, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 40. Chen further discloses wherein the liquid carrier is kerosene, heptane, or water (pg. 3, col 2: aqueous solution of Fe3O4 nanoparticles).
Regarding claim 43, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 40. Chen further discloses wherein the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the liquid carrier with the aid of a surfactant for homogeneous dispersion (pg. 1, col 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the liquid carrier with the aid of a surfactant for homogeneous dispersion of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 44, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 43. Chen fails to specifically disclose wherein the surfactant is oleic acid or lauric acid. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the surfactant is oleic acid or lauric acid, based on routine experimentation, for homogeneous dispersion of nano- particles (see Chen, pg. 1, coll 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed).
Regarding claim 45, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 35. Chen further discloses wherein the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength (pg. 2, col 1:
Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H), the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a magneto-optical material (pg. 1, col 1: Taking advantage of the outstanding magneto-optical properties of MF, such as tunable RI and absorption coefficient, birefringence, and Faraday effect, magnetic field sensors can be realized by infiltrating MF into the air-holes of a PCF or coating the PCF interferometer with MF).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a magneto-optical material of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Sappey et al. (2006/0133714 A1, Applicant cited reference) and further in view of the document entitled "Refractive index sensing characteristic of single-mode-multimode-single-mode fiber structure based on self-imaging effect" by Bai et al. (Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 7, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2. Neither Tapanes nor Sappey discloses wherein each of the SMS fiber structures is an SNS fiber structure.
However, Bai discloses the SMS fiber structure is an SNS fiber structure (pg. 3, col 1: The sensing configuration proposed in this paper gives a new selectable parameter, i.e., MMF length, for improving the sensitivity in the process of fabricating the SMS-fiber-structure-based RI sensors The SNS fiber structure contains lead-in single-mode fiber (SMF), NCF, and lead-out SMF). It it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the SMS fiber structures is an SNS fiber structure of Bai with the fibers of Tapanes, to improve sensitivity of the system as disclosed by Bai (see Bai, pg. 1, col 2).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (WO9608695A1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Frederick et al, (US 5,867,258 A, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 8, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2, Tapanes further discloses wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (16, 18) (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end- face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors Included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal is a vibration or acoustic emission signal (pg. 15, In 5- 12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantify the vibration or acoustic emission signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Neither Tapanes nor Sappey discloses vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the fiber structure which will cause a length of the fiber structure to change, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal.
However, Frederick discloses vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the fiber structure (18) which will cause a length of the fiber structure to change (Fig. 1, col 4, In 55-59: Doped fiber portion 18 is pressure sensitive, in that its length changes with the strain acting on it. Thus, strain from changes in pressure, acoustics, or temperature will change the length of doped fiber portion 18), and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured (note: a computing system and/or processor inherently included) and configured to demodulate vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal (col 3, In 5-9: A demodulation unit is connected to the receiving interferometer for demodulating the output of the receiving interferometer to determine the phase shift of the interferometer intensity pattern. The demodulated phase shift is a representation of the strain acting on the acoustic sensor).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide vibration or acoustic emission being experienced by the fiber structure which will cause a length of the fiber structure to change, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate vibration or acoustic emission induced intensity fluctuations in the vibration or acoustic emission signal of Frederick with the system of Tapanes, to improve sensitivity of the system (see Frederick, col 1, In 60-col 2, In 20).
Claims 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes in view of Sappey and further in view of AOMS (Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 9, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2. Tapanes further discloses wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (16, 18) (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end- face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is temperature being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal comprises a temperature signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light, in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantify the temperature signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Neither Tapanes nor Sappey discloses wherein the optical fiber based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal. However, AOMS discloses the optical fiber based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured (para [0098]- System 1900 comprises a processing unit 1902 (e.g. one or more micro processors) to control light actuation and the processing of reflected light (signals) from the sensors) and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal (para [0005]- There is disclosed a combination of a fiber optic cable sensor, optical data acquisition system (ODAQ), and optical data analysis algorithm which is configured to measure and report environmental/physical parameters such as temperature; para [0089]- the signal analysis will be based'on the demodulation of one reflection spectrum and in the later case the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of multiple reflection spectrums; para [0090]- Each FBG reflection spectrum is analyzed based on the following parameters (FIG. 16); para [0094]- d. Intensity of side lobes in the reflection spectrum (11+,11-)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the optical fiber based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal of AOMS with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability and sensitivity of the system (see AOMS, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2, Tapanes further discloses wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (16, 18) (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end- face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion), the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is temperature being experienced by the SMS fiber structure (pg. 17, In 3-6: Parameters monitored with the fibre optic modalmetric sensors included strain, vibration, structural resonance, frequency analysis, acoustic emission, sound, temperature and proximity), wherein the electrical signal comprises a temperature signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), quantify the temperature signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Neither Tapanes nor Sappey discloses wherein each of the fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal. However, AOMS discloses the fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material (para [0005]- There is disclosed a combination of a fiber optic cable sensor, optical data acquisition system (ODAQ), and optical data analysis algorithm which is configured to measure and report environmental/physical parameters such as temperature; para [0012]- The fiber optic to be embedded, encapsulated, or bonded could be pre-coated with layers of polymer (polyimide or Acrylate coating), metal layer or a combination of both, called coating seed layer; para [0013]- The sensor sensitivity is a function of the geometry and material properties of the coating seed layers), and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured (para [0098]- System 1900 comprises a processing unit 1902 (e.g. one or more micro processors) to control light actuation and the processing of reflected light (signals) from the sensors) and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal (para [0089]- the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of one reflection spectrum and in the later case the signal analysis will be based on the demodulation of multiple reflection spectrums; para [0090]- Each FBG reflection spectrum is analyzed based on the following parameters (FIG. 16); para [0094]- d. Intensity of side lobes in the reflection spectrum (11+,11-)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the fiber structures is coated with a temperature sensitive sensing material, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate temperature induced intensity fluctuations in the temperature signal of AOMS with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability and sensitivity of the system (see AOMS, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Tapanes in view of Sappey and AOMS discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 10. AMOS further discloses wherein the temperature sensitive sensing material comprises a nanocomposite thin-film (para [0012]- The fiber optic to be embedded, encapsulated, or bonded could be pre-coated with layers of polymer (polyimide or Acrylate coating), metal layer or a combination of both, called coating seed layer; para [0079]- the sections of the fiber optic to be embedded are coated with a conductive thin-film layer (i.e., metal nano particle suspensions such as silver nano-particle suspension) and thermally cured The thickness of the coating on the fiber varies between 20 nanometer and 10 micrometer).
Claims 12 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes (Applicant cited reference) in view of Sappey (Applicant cited reference) and further in view of Chen (Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 12, Tapanes in view of Sappey discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 2, Tapanes further discloses wherein for each of the SMS fiber structures (16, 18) (Fig. 5, pg. 14, In 27-29: a multimode fibre 18 which is mirrored on its end- face 15 and fusion spliced 17 to a singlemode fibre patch cord 16; pg. 8, In 19-25: Cleaving or polishing of the multimode waveguide for application of a mirroring material to reflect radiation back to a detector or fusion splicing of a singlemode fibre for enabling light to pass from the multimode waveguide to the singlemode fibre and then to a detector without reflection enables size of the sensing portion), wherein the electrical signal comprises a parameter signal (pg. 15, In 5-12:
However, in other embodiments the detecting unit 24 could be located at the end of the optical fibre and the transmitted wave could merely be detected by the unit 24 without the need for reflection. The propagated light in the multimode fibre 18 which is eventually detected by the detector unit 24 has its properties and characteristics altered by a change in a desired parameter which is to be monitored), and quantify the parameter signal in real-time (pg. 22, In 16-21: Fibre optic modalmetric sensors can easily be adhered to these structures to monitor temperature, vibrations, cracking, strains and stresses, and several other important parameters in real-time, without the noise limitations).
Neither Tapanes nor Sappey discloses wherein each of the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material, the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength, chemical composition or gas concentration in a vicinity of the fiber structure, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal. However, Chen discloses the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material (pg. 1, col 2: Taking advantage of the outstanding magneto-optical properties of MF, such as tunable RI and absorption coefficient, birefringence, and Faraday effect, magnetic field sensors can be realized by infiltrating MF into the air-holes of a PCF or coating the PCF interferometer with MF), the parameter associated with the fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength (pg. 2, col 1: Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are Influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H), the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured (note: a computing system inherently included, pg. 2, col 2: Based on the above analyses, we can see that the intensity of the transmission spectrum is influenced by the temperature and the magnetic field) and configured to demodulate parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal (pg. 3, col 2,; As a result, the better choice is the intensity-based demodulation method because of the monotonic change of intensity for the wavelengths ranging from 1564 nm to 1571 nm, from 1579 nm to 1590 nm, etc. The 1567 nm was chosen for the demodulation due to its maximum sensitivity among all the wavelengths in spectra shown in Fig. 3(a)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the fiber structures is coated with a parameter sensitive sensing material, the parameter associated with the fiber structure is one of magnetic field strength, and wherein the optical fiber-based monitoring system further includes a computing system structured and configured to demodulate parameter induced intensity fluctuations in the parameter signal of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 17, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 12. Chen further discloses wherein the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength (pg. 2, col 1: Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H), the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles dispersed in a liquid carrier (pg. 1, col 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed In this Letter, to realize the simultaneous measurement of the magnetic field and temperature, we directly introduced an additional fiber Bragg grating (FBG) to an MF-coated PCF interferometer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles dispersed in a liquid carrier of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 18, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 17. Chen further discloses wherein the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are Fe304 or gamma-Fe203 (pg. 3, col 2: The MF (EMG- 605, Ferrotec Inc.), a highly stable aqueous solution of Fe3O4 nanoparticles with a complex RI, was filled into the glass capillary tube with an inner diameter of 0.3 mm).
Regarding claim 19, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 17. Chen further discloses wherein the liquid carrier is kerosene, heptane, or water (pg. 3, col 2: aqueous solution of Fe3O4 nanoparticles).
Regarding claim 20, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 17. Chen further discloses wherein the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the liquid carrier with the aid of a surfactant for homogeneous dispersion (pg. 1, col 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the colloidal single domain magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the liquid carrier with the aid of a surfactant for homogeneous dispersion of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 20. Chen fails to specifically disclose wherein the surfactant is oleic acid or lauric acid. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the surfactant is oleic acid or lauric acid, based on routine experimentation, for homogeneous dispersion of nano- particles (see Chen, pg. 1, col 2: Magnetic fluid (MF) is a kind of stable colloidal suspension, in which the single domain magnetic nanoparticles dressed with suitable surfactant are uniformly dispersed).
Regarding claim 22. Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 12. Chen further discloses wherein the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength (pg. 2, col 1:
Although the RI and absorption coefficient of the surrounding MF are influenced by the ambient temperature and magnetic field strength (H), the light is still confined inside the fiber as it passes the FBG), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a magneto-optical material (pg. 1, col 1: Taking advantage of the outstanding magneto-optical properties of MF, such as tunable RI and absorption coefficient, birefringence, and Faraday effect, magnetic field sensors can be realized by infiltrating MF into the air-holes of a PCF or coating the PCF interferometer with MF).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is magnetic field strength, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a magneto-optical material of Chen with the system of Tapanes, to improve reliability of the system (see Chen, pg. 1, col 1).
Claims 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes in view of Chen and further in view of Ohodnicki Jr. et al. (US 10,345,279 B1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 36, Tapanes in view of Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 35. Neither Tapanes nor Chen discloses wherein the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is H2 concentration, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix.
However, Ohodnicki Jr., drawn to fiber sensor (col 7, In 34-36), discloses, the parameter associated with the fiber structure is H2 concentration (col 3, In 53-56: The hydrogen sensing material is in contact with gaseous constituents comprising the gas stream and periodically comprised of diatomic hydrogen H2, having a concentration which may vary over time), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix (col 4, In 47-53: Exemplary inert matrix materials also include zeolitic and zeolite-derivative structures which are microporous and/or nanoporous such as the alumino-silicates and the dealuminated zeolite NaA structures. Sensing layers may be comprised of (1) a single "nanocomposite" layer comprised of Pd- or Pt- based particles dispersed within an inert matrix; col 8, In 39-41: FIG. 4 illustrates results for a similar PdAu/SiO2 coated optical fiber).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is H2 concentration, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix of Ohodnicki Jr. with the system of Tapanes, to reliability and life-time of the sensor (see Ohodnicki Jr., col 1, In 36- 65).
Regarding claim 37, Tapanes in view of Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 36, Ohodnicki Jr. further discloses wherein the porous dielectric matrix is a porous polymer or a metal organic framework (MOF) (col 10, In 26-30: FIG. 13 illustrates an alternative matrix structure comprised of polyaniline nanofibers, which were prepared by in-situ polymerization. PANI is not only a gas sensitive material but also used as the porous matrix that brings about good dispersion quality of the Pt- or Pd-nanoparticles).
Regarding claim 38, Tapanes in view of Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 36. Ohodnicki Jr. further discloses wherein the metallic nanoparticles include precious/noble metal nanoparticles (col 10, In 26-30: FIG. 13 illustrates an alternative matrix structure comprised of polyaniline nanofibers, which were prepared by in-situ polymerization. PANI is not only a gas sensitive material but also used as the porous matrix that brings about good dispersion quality of the Pt- or Pd-nanoparticles).
Regarding claim 39. Tapanes in view of Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring method according to claim 38. Ohodnicki Jr. further discloses wherein the nanoparticles are Pd, Pt, Au, or Ag nanoparticles (col 10, In 26-30: FIG. 13 illustrates an alternative matrix structure comprised of polyaniline nanofibers, which were prepared by in-situ polymerization. PANI is not only a gas sensitive material but also used as the porous matrix that brings about good dispersion quality of the Pt- or Pd-nanoparticles).
Claims 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapanes in view of Sappey and in view of Chen in further view of Ohodnicki Jr..
Regarding claim 13, Tapanes in view of Sappey and Chen discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 12. None of Tapanes, Sappey or Chen discloses wherein the parameter associated with the SMS fiber structure is H2 concentration, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix.
However, Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the parameter associated with the fiber structure is H2 concentration (col 3, In 53-56: The hydrogen sensing material is in contact with gaseous constituents comprising the gas stream and periodically comprised of diatomic hydrogen H2, having a concentration which may vary over time), and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix (col 4, in 47-53: Exemplary inert matrix materials also include zeolitic and zeolite-derivative structures which are microporous and/or nanoporous such as the alumino-silicates and the dealuminated zeolite NaA structures. Sensing layers may be comprised of (1) a single "nanocomposite" layer comprised of Pd- or Pt-based particles dispersed within an inert matrix; col 8, In 39-41: FIG. 4 illustrates results for a similar PdAu/SiO2 coated optical fiber). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the parameter associated with the fiber structure is H2 concentration, and wherein the parameter sensitive sensing material includes a nanocomposite coating layer comprising metallic nanoparticles in a porous dielectric matrix of Ohodnicki Jr. with the system of Tapanes, to reliability and life-time of the sensor (see Ohodnicki Jr., col 1, In 36-65).
Regarding claim 14, Tapanes in view of Sappey, Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 13. Ohodnicki Jr. further discloses wherein the porous dielectric matrix is a porous polymer or a metal organic framework (MOF) (col 10, In 26-30: FIG. 13 illustrates an alternative matrix structure comprised of polyaniline nanofibers, which were prepared by in-situ polymerization. PANI is not only a gas sensitive material but also used as the porous matrix that brings about good dispersion quality of the Pt- or Pd- nanoparticles).
Regarding claim 15, Tapanes in view of Sappey, Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 13. DOE further discloses wherein the metallic nanoparticles include precious/noble metal nanoparticles (col 7, In 6-9: The hydrogen sensing material comprises a plurality of Pd-based nanoparticles, Pt-based nanoparticles, or a combination thereof dispersed in an inert matrix).
Regarding claim 16, Tapanes in view of Sappey, Chen and Ohodnicki Jr. discloses the optical fiber-based monitoring system according to claim 15. Ohodnicki Jr. further discloses wherein the nanoparticles are Pd, Pt, Au, or Ag nanoparticles (col 7, In 6-9: The hydrogen sensing material comprises a plurality of Pd-based nanoparticles, Pt-based nanoparticles, or a combination thereof dispersed in an inert matrix).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art Optical fiber-based monitoring system.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877