DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9-6-2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) XXXX is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0319900, published December 20, 2012.
As per claims 1, 15 and 29, Johansson discloses a method for beam forming using an antenna array (240) comprising N > 1 dual-polarized elements (242(0):242(N-1)), each dual-polarized element (242(0):242(N 1)) comprising a first element having a first polarization A and a second element having a second polarization B, each first and second element having an individually controllable phase (Johansson, Fig. 3), the method comprising:
generating (S104) a dual-polarized beam (260) by applying a first beamformer wA and a second beamformer wB to individually control the phase of the dual-polarized elements (242(0):242(N 1)), (Johansson, ¶51)
wherein the first beamformer wA is formed from a first base beamformer wi of the first polarization A by an additional individual phase having been added to the first base beamformer wj for each element of the first polarization A, and the second beamformer wB is formed from a second base beamformer wB of the second polarization B by an additional individual phase having been added to the second base beamformer wB for each element of the second polarization B. (Johansson, ¶54-55).
Johansson fails to explicitly state a “base beamformer” however Johansson shows distribution networks from which the phase shifts originate. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a base beamformer, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Johansson in providing the proper output beam.
As per claims 2 and 16, Johansson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a beam offset A or AA,AB is applied to at least one of the first beamformer wA and the second beamformer wB (Johansson, ¶62).
As per claim 3, Johansson further discloses the method according to claim of claim 2, wherein the beam offset A or AA,AB is applied to the at least one of the first beamformer wA and the second beamformer wB by being applied to at least one of the base beamformers before the first beamformer wA and the second beamformer wB are formed from the base beamformers (Johannson, ¶62).
As per claims 4 and 18, Johansson further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein one of the base beamformers has a pointing direction 01 relative a boresight pointing direction of the antenna array (240), and wherein the beam offset A is related to said pointing direction 0 (Johansson, ¶54-55 and 62).
Although Johansson fails to explicitly disclose the same formula, it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine how pointing direction and offset should be related to achieve a desired beam.
As per claim 5, Johansson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second base beamformer wb is different from the first base beamformer wb (Johansson, ¶50).
As per claim 13, Johansson further discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein the additional individual phase for each element of the first polarization A and the additional individual phase for each element of the second polarization B are determined according to a target function, wherein the target function at least specifies Half Power Beam Width of a target antenna radiation pattern (Johansson, ¶59).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Goransson, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0149907, filed April 11, 2019.
As per claim 6, Johansson discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose selecting from DFT base beam vectors.
Goransson teaches selection from DFT vectors (¶6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use DFT vectors in order to gain the benefit of maximum gain as taught by Goransson.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12, 14, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646