DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, line 2, either “wherein the pressure sensor (20)” or “wherein the microsensor” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “a first adapter”. It is unclear as to whether or not the claimed first adapter is referring to wherein the adapter of claim 3 is considered as the “first adapter”, or if the first adapter is a completely separate adapter from the adapter of claim 3, from which claim 4 depends upon.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “a second adapter”. It is unclear as to whether or not the claimed second adapter is referring to wherein the adapter of claim 3 is considered as the “second adapter”, or if the first adapter is a completely separate adapter from the adapter of claim 3, from which claim 5 depends upon.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux et al. (DE 10 2008 054 382 A1) (hereinafter Lux) (cited in IDS dated 26 September 2024, citations from attached English Machine Translation) in view of Kang et al. (US 2024/0182006 A1) (hereinafter Kang)
Regarding claim 1, Lux teaches a pressure measuring module [pressure sensor module 1] for a pressure container [can be inserted into an insertion opening of a wall; pressure medium to be measured within said wall] (Pg. 3), the pressure measuring module comprising:
a pressure sensor [pressure sensor 7], a mechanical interface [case back 5 and mounting flange 8] configured to mechanically connect the pressure sensor to the pressure container directly or indirectly [fixed to the wall of a pipe in which the measuring medium is contained] (Pgs. 3-4),
a pneumatic interface [adapter 2] that records a pressure of the pressure container [pressure sensor 7 for measuring pressure of medium through adapter 2] and an electrical interface [connection elements 30] (Pg. 3, see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the mechanical interface includes a plate-shaped carrier [mounting flange 8], wherein the pressure sensor is arranged on the plate-shaped carrier (see Fig. 1), wherein the carrier includes at least a first retaining feature configured to mechanically connect the carrier to an associated retaining feature of the pressure container [bottom-most flange of mounting flange 8] (Pgs. 3-4, see Fig. 2),
wherein the first retaining feature includes at least two extensions formed on the carrier and respectively provided with a through-bore (see Fig. 2), in that wherein the extensions of the carrier are spaced from one another and from the pressure sensor (see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the pneumatic interface [2] is arranged on a first carrier side [bottom side], wherein the pneumatic interface protrudes from the first carrier side and is provided with a sealing feature [sealing ring 24] such that, when mechanically connecting the carrier to the pressure container, a pressure-tight connection of the pneumatic interface to the pneumatic device is established [adapter 2 can be inserted into an insertion opening of the wall and by means of a sealing ring 24 seals against the insertion] (Pg. 3, see Fig. 1),
wherein the electrical interface [30] is arranged on a second carrier side which is opposite from the first carrier side [top side] (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the electrical interface includes an electrical spring contact device [spring-elastic connection element 30 made in two parts with first connection element 30a and second pin-shaped connecting element 30b], which protrudes from the second carrier side and which has at least one electrical contact spring formed as a compression spring [spring element 30c] (Pg. 4, see Figs. 1-3).
Lux fails to teach wherein the pressure container is a pneumatic device of a vehicle, wherein the electrical interface is configured to electrically connect to an electronic control device of the pneumatic device directly or indirectly by way of an adapter, and wherein the electrical interface passes on an electrical pressure measuring signal concerning the recorded pneumatic pressure and generated by the pressure sensor. Kang teaches a pressure sensing system of a pneumatic system for a vehicle (see Abstract), wherein a pressure measuring module [700, 800] comprises an adapter [200] for interfacing with the pneumatic system and an electrical interface configured to electrically connect to an electronic control device of the pneumatic device directly or indirectly by way of an adapter, and wherein the electrical interface passes on an electrical pressure measuring signal concerning the recorded pneumatic pressure and generated by the pressure sensor [control box 610 coupled to the pressure sensors in a wired electrical communication method] (Para [0033-0037], see Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lux with Kang such that the pressure measuring module of Lux is utilized with a pneumatic device of a vehicle, wherein the electrical interface is configured to electrically connect to an electronic control device of the pneumatic device directly or indirectly by way of an adapter, and wherein the electrical interface passes on an electrical pressure measuring signal concerning the recorded pneumatic pressure and generated by the pressure sensor, in order to automatically monitor pressure of the vehicle’s pneumatic system during operation.
Regarding claim 3, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the carrier has a second retaining feature [connecting part 4, contact elements 91] configured to mechanically connect the carrier to a retaining feature of an adapter for the electrical interface [plug 3], wherein the second retaining feature has at least two detent pins or connecting elements [connecting part 4 and/or contact elements 91], which are spaced from one another and from the pressure sensor, wherein the mechanical connection of the carrier to the adapter by the second retaining feature establishes an electrical connection of the electrical interface to the adapter (Lux Pg. 4, see Fig. 1).
As best understood regarding claim 4, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the adapter is a first adapter is formed as a transmitter connection [plug 3], wherein the first adapter has a cover [31] configured to be fastened on the second retaining feature of the carrier and wherein a pressure signal transmitter which is electrically connected to the electrical spring contact device in the fitted state is integrated in the cover [plug housing part 31 over molded on connecting part 4] (Lux Pg. 3, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the pressure sensor is releasably fastened on the carrier as a module part. Kang additionally teaches wherein the pressure sensor is releasably fastened on the carrier as a module part (Para [0037]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Lux in view of Kang such that the pressure sensor is releasably fastened on the carrier as a module part, in order to provide system modularity.
As best understood regarding claim 9, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above teaches a vehicle with a pressure measuring module for measuring a pneumatic pressure of a pneumatic device of the vehicle, with the pressure measuring module being constructed as claimed in claim 1 (see Rejection of Claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the detent pins project axially from the second carrier side [91] (see Lux Fig. 1).
Claims 5-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in view of Kang, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Colombo et al. (WO 2009/153737 A1) (hereinafter Colombo) (cited in IDS dated 26 September 2024).
As best understood regarding claim 5, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the adapter is a second adapter formed as a plug connection, wherein the second adapter has a plate configured to be fastened on the second retaining means of the carrier, wherein the plate has an extension extending geometrically beyond the carrier, wherein the electrical plug-in contact device is arranged on the extension, wherein the plug-in contact device has at least a number of electrical plug-in contacts corresponding to the number of electrical contact springs of the spring contact device, and wherein in the fitted state in each case at least one plug-in contact is electrically connected to a contact spring. Colombo teaches a pressure sensor device having an adapter formed as a plug connection, the adapter having a plate configured to be fastened to retaining means of a carrier [2a, 3a] with an extension [25] extending geometrically beyond the carrier with an electrical plug-in contact device [26] arranged on the extension, the contact device having at least a number of contacts corresponding to the number of springs of the spring contact device [27], wherein in the fitted state, at least one plug in contact is electrically connected to a contact spring (see Claims 1-3, Figs. 7-10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lux in view of Kang with Colombo such that the adapter is a second adapter formed as a plug connection, wherein the second adapter has a plate configured to be fastened on the second retaining means of the carrier, wherein the plate has an extension extending geometrically beyond the carrier, wherein the electrical plug-in contact device is arranged on the extension, wherein the plug-in contact device has at least a number of electrical plug-in contacts corresponding to the number of electrical contact springs of the spring contact device, and wherein in the fitted state in each case at least one plug-in contact is electrically connected to a contact spring, in order to provide an easier electrical connector to access.
Regarding claim 6, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the pressure sensor is formed with a pressure-sensitive membrane that is pneumatically connected to the pneumatic interface, and is electrically connected to evaluation electronics via the electrical spring contact device (Lux Pg. 3, see Figs. 1-2). Lux in view of Kang fails to teach wherein the pressure sensor is formed as a piezoelectric microsensor with a pressure-sensitive piezoresistive membrane. Colombo teaches a pressure sensor device having a pressure sensor formed as a piezoelectric microsensor with a pressure-sensitive piezoresistive membrane (Pg. 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lux in view of Kang with Colombo such that the pressure sensor is formed as a piezoelectric microsensor with a pressure-sensitive piezoresistive membrane, for the predictable result of sensing the pneumatic pressure through the adapter.
Regarding claim 11, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the membrane is disposed at the end of a pneumatic opening or bore in the carrier, which is part of the pneumatic interface (Lux Pg. 3, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 11 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the pneumatic interface [2] is formed a cylindrical body that axially protrudes out of the first carrier side (see Lux Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the pneumatic sealing feature is an O-ring that annularly surrounds the opening (see Lux Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the O-ring is disposed in a groove of the carrier (see Lux Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the sensor is disposed at an axially opposite end of the cylindrical body from the pneumatic sealing feature (see Lux Fig. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in view of Kang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alfes et al. (DE 10 2014 005 953 A1) (hereinafter Alfes).
Regarding claim 8, Lux in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above teaches a pneumatic device of a vehicle with a pressure measuring module for recording a pneumatic pressure of the device, with the pressure measuring module being constructed as claimed in claim 1 (see Rejection of Claim 1 above). Lux in view of Kang fails to teach wherein the pneumatic device is one that serves for the actuation of switching actuators and/or selecting actuators of an automated manual transmission, with an electropneumatic switching device. Alfes teaches usage of pressure sensors for monitoring actuators of an automated manual transmission (Pg. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lux in view of Kang with Alfes such that the pneumatic device is one that serves for the actuation of switching actuators and/or selecting actuators of an automated manual transmission, with an electropneumatic switching device, in order to monitor pressure in the actuators of the AMT.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in view of Kang and Colombo, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Bailly et al. (US 2018/0292281 A1) (hereinafter Bailly).
Regarding claim 10, Lux in view of Kang and Colombo as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the pressure sensor includes multiple piezoresistors interconnected to form a Wheatstone bridge. Bailly teaches a pressure-measuring device comprising a membrane having piezoelectric strain gauges arranged as a Wheatstone bridge (Para [0002]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lux in view of Kang and Colombo with Bailly such that the pressure sensor includes multiple piezoresistors interconnected to form a Wheatstone bridge in order to improve sensor sensitivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding the electrical spring contact device being arranged off-center on the second carrier side with three electrical contact springs arranged in the shape of a triangle and formed as helical or spiral compression springs, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in claim 1, from which it depends upon.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855