Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Pattan Priority Document does not discuss any separate Binding Server or any entity corresponding to Determiner 225. As such, Pattan fails to teach all of the claimed features.” The examiner disagrees as the priority document directly supports and discloses the cited subject matter relied upon in the rejection. A print out of the priority document from the India patent database is provided as evidentiary support. A mapping of cited paragraphs is provided below.
2025/0212099
Priority Document 202241018532
Paragraphs 58-67
Fig 1, 2, 3
Paragraph 52-61
Fig. 1 description begins Paragraph 37
Fig. 2 description begins Paragraph 44
Fig. 3 description begins Paragraph 66
Paragraphs 38-42
Paragraphs 32-36
Paragraph 71
Paragraph 65
Paragraphs 17-18, 86
Paragraph 11-12, 80
Paragraph 8-9
Paragraph 2-3
Fig 2 – EES memory 221
Paragraph 56 – EES memory 221
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, and 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0212099 by Pattan et al. (Pattan).
With respect to claim 1, Pattan teaches a method performed by a first network function implementing a Binding Server (BS), comprising:
- receiving , from a second network function implementing an Edge Enabler Server (EES) within an Edge Data Network (EDN) , a request message including information related to an application in a User Equipment (UE) and a UE group which hosts the same application as the UE, and information related to a predetermined Edge Application Server (EAS) for the application of the UE ; (Paragraph 58-61, 67, Fig. 1 and 2 – EES receives discovery request including UE group and UE application information and at least one predetermined common EAS, discovery request is forwarded to EES’ binding server function in the form of a Edge Application servers determiner function (225)). and
- determining a binding EAS to be used for the UE or the UE group based on the request message; and (Paragraph 58-61, 67, Fig. 1 and 2 – Edge Application servers determiner 225 determines a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information)
- transmitting, to the second network function, a response message, wherein the response message explicitly or implicitly indicates the binding EAS. (Paragraph 58-61, 67, Fig. 1 and 2 – Edge Application servers determiner 225 determines a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information and returns the response via EES to the EEC/UE )
With respect to claim 2, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 1, determining a binding EAS to be used for the UE or the UE group further comprising at least one of:- creating a binding EAS or determining a binding EAS as the predetermined EAS, in response to determining that there is no existing binding EAS, - replacing the existing binding EAS with a binding EAS, in response to determining that there is the existing binding EAS and the binding EAS has better performance than the existing binding EAS. (Paragraph 38-42 – EAS selection (binding) is performed such that latency is reduced for all or a specific application client)
With respect to claim 4, Pattan teaches the method (500) according to claim 3, wherein the binding EAS is the same as the predetermined EAS, and the response message indicates that the predetermined EAS is used as the binding EAS. (Paragraph 58-61, 67, Fig. 1 and 2 – Edge Application servers determiner 225 determines a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information which includes a EAS that is in common to the group)
With respect to claim 5, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the binding EAS is different from the predetermined EAS, and the response message indicates the binding EAS and a fourth network function implementing EES associated with the binding EAS. (Paragraph 58-61, 67, 71, Fig. 3a-3b – Edge Application servers determiner 225 determines a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information which includes a EAS that is in common to the group. EAS announcer acts for announcing the selected in-common EAS both in a condition of already selected and not already selected))
With respect to claim 6, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:- transmitting, to a third network function implementing an EES which are serving at least one UE in the UE group, a notification message, wherein the notification message indicates the binding EAS and a fourth network function implementing EES associated with the binding EAS. (Paragraph 58-61, 67, 71, Fig. 3a-3b – Edge Application servers determiner 225 determines a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information which includes a EAS that is in common to the group. EAS announcer acts for announcing the selected in-common EAS both in a condition of already selected and not already selected))
With respect to claim 7, Pattan teaches the method (500) according to claim 2, wherein the binding EAS (122) has better average latency performance than the existing binding EAS (122). (Paragraph 38-42 – EAS selection (binding) is performed such that latency is reduced for all or a specific application client)
With respect to claim 8, Pattan teaches the method (500) according to claim 1,wherein the request message further includes at least one of a fourth parameter indicating identity of the UE(101), and a fifth parameter indicating information regarding the EDN (102). (Paragraph 17-18, 86 – group information, e.g. same ACIDs within the same EDN)
With respect to claim 9, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 1,wherein the request message is a group binding request message; wherein the response message is a group binding response message; and/or wherein the notification message is a group binding notification message. (Paragraph 58-61, 67 – purpose of the EAS selection is for finding a common EAS for a group)
With respect to claim 10, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 1,wherein the first network function is located inside the EDN or outside the EDN. (Paragraph 8 Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 11, Pattan teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising:- storing, in the first network function, the first parameter, the second parameter, the third parameter, the fourth parameter, the fifth parameter, and information regarding the second network function. (Fig. 2 – EES has memory 221 for storage)
With respect to claim 12, Pattan teaches the method (500) according to any one of claims 1-11 claim 1,wherein the UE group includes two or more UEs (101) cooperating with each other to support a same function. (Paragraph 9 – a real time communication session)
With respect to claim 22, Pattan teaches a method performed by a functional component implementing an enabler function in a User Equipment (UE), comprising:- receiving, from a second network function implementing an Edge Enabler Server (EES), a first message, wherein the first message explicitly or implicitly indicates a binding Edge Application Server (EAS) to be used for a UE group including the UE. (Paragraph 58-61, 67, Fig. 1 and 2 – UE triggers a discovery request and receives a response from the EES. The response includes a plurality of EAS based on the received grouping information of the discovery request)
Claims 23-29 are similar in scope to claims 1, 2, and 4-12 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455