DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 & 15-16 in the reply filed on 2/10/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-14 & 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/10/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected as indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0061390; hereafter ‘390).
Claims 1 & 15: ‘390 is directed towards a method for producing a dental restoration (title), comprising the following steps:
providing a molded part for dental restoration (¶ 22), in which said molded part has a basic color value FW(F) (abstract & ¶ 22), and wherein the basic color value FW(F) of the molded part has a maximum difference value ΔE from a target color value FW(Z) of the dental restoration (abstract);
applying a glaze to the molded part (¶ 29), wherein said glaze has a defined color value FW(Gx) (see abstract);
heat-treating said glazed molded part to obtain the dental restoration (¶ 5),
characterized in that the defined color value FW(Gx) of the glaze corresponds to the difference ΔE between the color values FW(Z) and FW(F), said color values being CIEL*a*b* values (see abstract; the Examiner notes the colors of ‘390 inherently have a CIEL*a*b* values).
‘390 further teaches the number of differently shaded base ingots (molded part basic colors) is less than the total number of shades associated with the shade guide (abstract & ¶ 10) and the combination is used to closely match the shade of a tooth by applying only one glazing to the molded part (abstract & ¶s 8, 13, 16, 18).
‘390 does not explicitly teach that the maximum ΔE is 5.
However, as noted above, ‘390 discloses using a selected number of molded parts (FW(Fi), wherein i=0-infinity and glazes (FW(Gx) to shade between the FW(Fi) molded parts with only one glazing application to obtain the desired shade.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a number of ingots in the shade guide FW(Fi) such that ΔE is less than 5 because ‘390 teaches minimizing the shade difference between ingots such that only one glazing is required to obtain the matching shade and since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 2: ‘390 teaches using a number of glazes having defined color values (abstract).
Claim 3: The molded part is provided by selecting from a set of molded parts each having a defined basic color value FW(F) by comparing with the teeth neighboring the restoration in the patient’s mouth (¶ 18).
Claim 4: The basic color values are those that correspond to the color values in the standardized color scales for tooth color determination (see ¶ 17).
Claim 5: ‘390 does not teach that the determination of the ΔE and/or the selection of the molded part is effected with computer assistance.
However, it is prima facie obvious to automate a manual activity. MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Claims 6 & 16: ‘390 does not teach a thickness for the glaze.
However, the thickness of the glazing is a result effective variable based on the desired tinting/shading and it is prima facie obvious to optimize a result effective variable to obtained a desired result.
"Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759