DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is direction to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 63-64 are to be construed as a computer program product of software per se. The term " computer program product " in the claimed invention for claim 63-64 can be purely software of the claimed invention, which directed towards non-statutory subject matter. Applicant must indicate at least one tangible hardware components such as a memory for storage of program instructions, which can be retrieved and executed by a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the value" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33 – 36, 38 – 41, 43 – 44, 46 – 51, 53 – 56, 58 – 59 and 61 – 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OPPO: "UE power Consumption Reduction in RRM Measurements", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-1903351, 22 February 2019, XP051601027 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report), hereinafter Oppo.
Regarding claim 33, Oppo teaches apparatus comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform:
(Oppo: page 2 gNB and page 7 section 2.3)
determine a function (Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration) based on radio signal change characteristics (moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ))
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
at a cell border between a source cell and a target cell;
(Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover. For example, when the UE’s serving cell is cell 1 when the UE is near the gNB as shown in Figure 1a, its measured RSRP of its serving cell 1 is above a configured RSRP threshold 1, the UE can just need to measure its serving cell 1. When the UE is not too far away from or too near to the gNB as shown in Figure 1b, its measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 1 but still above than another RSRP threshold 2, which means the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE just needs to measure the most adjacent cells such as cell 2/3/4/5/6/7 besides its serving cell 1. When the UE moves to the cell edge as shown in Figure 1c, the measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 2, as shown in figure , which means the channel condition becomes bad, the UE may needs to measure more cells including cell 8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19 besides cell 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)
inform a terminal on the function, (Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration (correspond to claim limitation “function”) for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions)
wherein
the values of the function are sampling rates (RRM measurement and reporting large or small periodicities) for measurements of a reference signal of the source cell and for measurements of the reference signal of the target cell or soft values corresponding to the sampling rates; and wherein
the function depends on one or more pieces of information (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity) used for preparing and/or performing a handover and/or a conditional handover from the source cell to the target cell. (Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover)
Regarding claim 34, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform obtain the radio signal change characteristics based on at least one of historical knowledge on the radio signal change characteristics and historical mobility events (history of mobility state) related to at least one of the source cell (UE's visited cells) and the target cell.
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreement - gNB controlled RRM measurement operation with UE assistance information reported to gNB, e.g.,
o mobility related information (e.g., mobility state, history of mobility state, UE's visited cells and cells not reselected due to the ping-pong effect, the number of handovers for certain period, etc.)
o channel condition (e.g. change in serving RS/signal))
Regarding claim 35, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the one or more pieces of information comprise at least one of
- results of one or more radio measurements to be performed by the terminal, (Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover. For example, when the UE’s serving cell is cell 1 when the UE is near the gNB as shown in Figure 1a, its measured RSRP of its serving cell 1 is above a configured RSRP threshold 1, the UE can just need to measure its serving cell 1. When the UE is not too far away from or too near to the gNB as shown in Figure 1b, its measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 1 but still above than another RSRP threshold 2, which means the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE just needs to measure the most adjacent cells such as cell 2/3/4/5/6/7 besides its serving cell 1. When the UE moves to the cell edge as shown in Figure 1c, the measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 2, as shown in figure , which means the channel condition becomes bad, the UE may needs to measure more cells including cell 8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19 besides cell 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)
- one or more parameter values (threshold) provided to the terminal by at least one of the source cell and the target cell;
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreement - gNB controlled threshold to support UE autonomous RRM measurement adaptation based on e.g., signal measurements (e.g., RSRP); UE mobility state (e.g., low/medium/high mobility); UE location in the cell (e.g., cell-center/cell-edge); S-measure enhancement (e.g. S-measure for SCell, CSI-RS))
- one or more derived values derivable by the terminal based on at least one of the results of the one or more radio measurements
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreement - gNB controlled RRM measurement operation with UE assistance information reported to gNB, e.g.,
o mobility related information (e.g., mobility state, history of mobility state, UE's visited cells and cells not reselected due to the ping-pong effect, the number of handovers for certain period, etc.)
o channel condition (e.g. change in serving RS/signal))
and the one or more parameter values provided to the terminal. (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreement - gNB controlled threshold to support UE autonomous RRM measurement adaptation based on e.g., signal measurements (e.g., RSRP); UE mobility state (e.g., low/medium/high mobility); UE location in the cell (e.g., cell-center/cell-edge); S-measure enhancement (e.g. S-measure for SCell, CSI-RS))
Regarding claim 36, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 35, wherein at least one of:
- the results of the one or more radio measurements comprise at least one of a signal power of the reference signal of the source cell, a signal power of the reference signal of the target cell, a signal quality of the reference signal of the source cell, and a signal quality of the reference signal of the target cell;
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover. For example, when the UE’s serving cell is cell 1 when the UE is near the gNB as shown in Figure 1a, its measured RSRP of its serving cell 1 is above a configured RSRP threshold 1, the UE can just need to measure its serving cell 1. When the UE is not too far away from or too near to the gNB as shown in Figure 1b, its measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 1 but still above than another RSRP threshold 2, which means the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE just needs to measure the most adjacent cells such as cell 2/3/4/5/6/7 besides its serving cell 1. When the UE moves to the cell edge as shown in Figure 1c, the measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 2, as shown in figure , which means the channel condition becomes bad, the UE may needs to measure more cells including cell 8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19 besides cell 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)
- the one or more parameter values provided by at least one of the source cell and the target cell comprise at least one of an identifier of the source cell, an identifier of the target cell, a time to trigger a handover from the source cell to the target cell, and an indication whether or not the target cell is prepared for a conditional handover of the terminal to the target cell; and
- the one or more derived values comprise at least one of a timer value indicating for how long a handover condition from the source cell to the target cell has been fulfilled, a difference between the timer value and the time to trigger, a difference between the signal power of the reference signal of the source cell and the signal power of the reference signal of the target cell, a difference between the signal quality of the reference signal of the source cell and the signal quality of the reference signal of the target cell, a speed of the terminal, and any logical and/or arithmetical combination of the one or more radio measurements and the one or more parameter values.
Regarding claim 38, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the one or more pieces of information are known to be available (moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ) or threshold) to the terminal without the terminal having to request any of the pieces of information from one of the source cell and the target cell only for determining the value of the function. (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity. page 2 3rd Agreement - gNB controlled threshold to support UE autonomous RRM measurement adaptation based on e.g., signal measurements (e.g., RSRP); UE mobility state (e.g., low/medium/high mobility); UE location in the cell (e.g., cell-center/cell-edge); S-measure enhancement (e.g. S-measure for SCell, CSI-RS))
Regarding claim 39, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein the values of the function are sampling rates and/or wherein the values of the function are soft values for determining respective sampling rates (RRM measurement and reporting large or small periodicities).
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
Regarding claim 40, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, wherein, according to information known to the apparatus, the terminal is being served by the source cell. (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
Regarding claim 41, Oppo teaches apparatus comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform:
(Oppo: page 2 UE and page 7 section 2.3 - UE)
monitor whether a terminal receives a function
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
depending on one or more pieces of information (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity) used for preparing and/or performing a handover and/or a conditional handover from a source cell to a target cell; (Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover)
obtain the one or more pieces of information; (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
determine a value (RRM measurement and reporting large or small periodicities) of the function based on the obtained one or more pieces of information (moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ)) if the function is received; (Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
set a first sampling rate for measurements, by the terminal,
(Oppo: page 2 3rd Agreements, and page 7 section 2.3 - gNB can Pre-configure the UE different RRM measurement and reporting configuration for different UE’s moving states or channel conditions. UE can adjust its RRM measurement and report configuration autonomously based on its moving states (e.g., velocity) or channel condition (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ). For example, the UE can adjust its RRM measurement and reporting periodicity based on its moving velocity. When UE stays in static states or move slowly, the UE can perform RRM measurement and reporting with large periodicity. When the UE moves with high speed, the UE needs to perform RRM measurement and reporting more frequently, i.e., with small measurement and reporting periodicity)
of a reference signal of the source cell and
(Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover. For example, when the UE’s serving cell is cell 1 when the UE is near the gNB as shown in Figure 1a, its measured RSRP of its serving cell 1 is above a configured RSRP threshold 1, the UE can just need to measure its serving cell 1. When the UE is not too far away from or too near to the gNB as shown in Figure 1b, its measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 1 but still above than another RSRP threshold 2, which means the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE just needs to measure the most adjacent cells such as cell 2/3/4/5/6/7 besides its serving cell 1. When the UE moves to the cell edge as shown in Figure 1c, the measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 2, as shown in figure , which means the channel condition becomes bad, the UE may needs to measure more cells including cell 8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19 besides cell 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)
for measurements, by the terminal, of the reference signal of the target cell based on the value of the function. (Oppo: page 7 section 2.3 - UE can also adjust its RRM measurement parameters based on its channel condition. For example, when the UE’s channel condition is good enough, the UE can measure only its serving cells. When the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE needs to measure the most adjacent cells. When the UE has a bad channel condition, it may needs to measure much more cells to prepare for a proper handover. For example, when the UE’s serving cell is cell 1 when the UE is near the gNB as shown in Figure 1a, its measured RSRP of its serving cell 1 is above a configured RSRP threshold 1, the UE can just need to measure its serving cell 1. When the UE is not too far away from or too near to the gNB as shown in Figure 1b, its measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 1 but still above than another RSRP threshold 2, which means the UE has a medium channel condition, the UE just needs to measure the most adjacent cells such as cell 2/3/4/5/6/7 besides its serving cell 1. When the UE moves to the cell edge as shown in Figure 1c, the measured RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold 2, as shown in figure , which means the channel condition becomes bad, the UE may needs to measure more cells including cell 8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19 besides cell 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)
Regarding claims 43 – 44 and 46 – 47, Oppo teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 35 – 36 and 38 – 39, and therefore apparatus claims 43 – 44 and 46 – 47 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 48 – 51 and 53 – 55, Oppo teaches method comprising: (Oppo: page 2 gNB and page 7 section 2.3) and Oppo teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 33 – 36 and 38 – 40, and therefore method claims 48 – 51 and 53 – 55 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 56, 58 – 59 and 61 – 62, Oppo teaches method comprising: (Oppo: page 2 UE and page 7 section 2.3 - UE) and Oppo teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 41, 35 – 36 and 38 – 39, and therefore method claims 56, 58 – 59 and 61 – 62 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 63, Oppo teaches method according to claim 48, a computer program product comprising a set of instructions which, when executed on an apparatus, is configured to cause the apparatus to carry out the method according to claim 48. (Oppo: pages 2-3 gNB and page 7 section 2.3)
Regarding claim 64, Oppo teaches method according to claim 48, the computer program product according to claim 63, embodied as a computer readable medium or directly loadable into a computer. (Oppo: pages 2-3 gNB and page 7 section 2.3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37, 45, 52 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppo in view of Tseng et al. US20170026861A1, hereinafter Tseng.
Regarding claim 37, Oppo teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, Oppo does not explicitly teach: wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform the informing on the function by at least one of a dedicated signaling to the terminal and a broadcasting in the source cell.
However, Tseng from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform the informing on the function by at least one of a dedicated signaling to the terminal and a broadcasting in the source cell. (Tseng: para. [0035] eNB may request UE to feedback assistance information and then configure smart measurement parameters for the UE. Referring back to FIG. 3, in step 321, UE 301 sends assistance information to eNB 302. In step 322, eNB 302 provides smart measurement configuration parameters (corresponds to claim limitation “dedicated signaling”) to UE 301 (e.g., triggering criteria and conditions, measurement intervals)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Tseng in the apparatus of Oppo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the mobility robustness, a smart measurement procedure is desired so that more frequent measurements are applied when needed. If the smart measurement procedure is properly designed, then the UE is able to detect upcoming connection problems and perform corresponding handover procedures in time. To improve the mobility robustness, a smart measurement procedure is desired so that more frequent measurements are applied when needed. If the smart measurement procedure is properly designed, then the UE is able to detect upcoming connection problems and perform corresponding handover procedures in time (Tseng: para. [0006]), and modifications on RRM measurements as well as mobility control procedures in order to improve mobility performance for UE configured with longer connected mode DRX cycle. Since the poor mobility performance when applying extended DRX cycle mainly results from reduced number of measurements, one solution is to dynamically adjust the measurement interval so as to trigger the measurement reporting in time (Tseng: para. [0007 & 0022 & 0027]).
Regarding claim 45, Oppo and Tseng teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 37, and therefore apparatus claim 45 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 52, Oppo and Tseng teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 37, and therefore apparatus claim 52 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 60, Oppo and Tseng teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 37, and therefore apparatus claim 60 is rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42 and 57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Laselva et al. US 20220361019 A1 teaches provides an efficient way for the UE to scale up and scale down the measurement rate and scope of measurements (by selecting the appropriate set of cell, Rx beam, and antenna panel), which allows for scaling going from the smallest rate/scope to the largest rate/scope in a gradually incremental fashion, with clearly defined incremental steps as needed based on the UE radio state.
CN 116965085 A teaches measurements of slower measurement rates and/or delays may be tolerated when the serving cell signal is relatively strong.
Kazmi et al. US 20240080728 A1 teaches in para. [0042] periodic reporting the UE reports the measurement results for a cell with the configured periodicity e.g., once every 640 ms. In case of event triggered reporting the UE reports the measurement results for a cell only when the configured event is triggered e.g., when RSRP of that cell falls below certain threshold, when RSRP of that cell increases above certain threshold, when RSRP of that cell compared to RSRP of serving cell increases above certain threshold etc.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418