DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/26/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the lined-through information referred to therein has not been considered. Specifically, a machine translation of Item 10 has not been provided.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the and/or” should instead recite –and/or--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging optical system” in claims 1 and 3, “irradiation unit” in claims 1 and 6, “ultrasonic elements” in claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, “support member” in claims 1, 3, and 5, “second optical system” in claim 3, “light receiving system” in claim 3, “light projecting system” in claim 3, “deformation detection unit” in claim 6, and “calculation unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent 5,636,635 (“Massie”).
Regarding claim 1, Massie discloses [a]n ultrasonic ophthalmic tonometer that measures an intraocular pressure of a subject eye by using an ultrasonic wave (col. 1, lines 8-14), the ultrasonic ophthalmic tonometer (Figs. 1A-1D) comprising: an imaging optical system (20) configured to image the subject eye (col. 6, lines 4-20); and an irradiation unit including a plurality of ultrasonic elements (14a, 14b, 15a, 15b, etc.) and a support member (9) configured to support the ultrasonic elements, and irradiating the subject eye with an ultrasonic wave (col. 6, lines 4-52), wherein an opening portion (at lens 19) is provided with the support member (9), the opening portion configured to allow an optical axis of the imaging optical system to pass therethrough (Figs. 1A, 1B, 1D, 1E, 1F).
Regarding claim 2, Massie discloses all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Massie further discloses wherein a diameter of each of the ultrasonic elements is smaller than a diameter of the opening portion (as shown in Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 5, Massie discloses all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Massie further discloses wherein the plurality of ultrasonic elements are arranged in a manner that sound source areas are symmetrical in left and right regions on the support member the and/or in upper and lower regions on the support member, the left and right regions provided in a case where the support member is divided by a vertical plane including the optical axis, the upper and lower regions provided in a case where the support member is divided by a horizontal plane including the optical axis (as shown in Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 6, Massie discloses all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Massie further discloses a deformation detection unit configured to detect that a cornea of the subject eye is deformed into a predetermined state by an ultrasonic wave from the irradiation unit; and a calculation unit configured to calculate the intraocular pressure of the subject eye based on an ultrasonic wave output of the irradiation unit when the cornea is deformed into the predetermined state (col. 8, line 10 – col. 9, line 15, applanation/flattening/deformation leading to IOP calculation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,636,635 (“Massie”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0275820 (“Miwa”) and US Patent 6,082,860 (“Takagi”).
Regarding claim 3, Massie teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Massie does not appear to explicitly teach a second optical system different from the imaging optical system, wherein a light projecting system and a light receiving system of the second optical system are disposed obliquely with respect to the optical axis of the imaging optical system, and a first hole and a second hole different from the opening portion are provided with the support member, the first hole configured to allow a light projecting optical axis of the second optical system to pass therethrough, the second hole configured to allow a light receiving optical axis of the second optical system to pass therethrough (although Massie does teach using additional transducers 14a and 14b to measure alignment and distance (col. 6, lines 13-18, col. 15, lines 55-63), and that the transducers are arranged in alignment with the support (Fig. 1D-1F)).
Miwa teaches using a separate optical system comprising light projecting and receiving components to perform Z-alignment (Figs. 2 and 8, ¶¶s 0025, 0039-0043, etc.). Miwa teaches using an aperture to allow outward and inward signals to pass through a lens unmodified by the lens (¶¶s 0033, 0039).
Takagi teaches using an aperture stop 63 and pinhole plate 64 in a Z-alignment optical system (Fig. 1 and related description).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Z-alignment optical system of Miwa into Massie, using holes/apertures to control the light, as in Miwa and Takagi, for the purpose of achieving a proper alignment state to thereby improve measurement accuracy (Miwa: Abstract, ¶¶s 0004, 0005, etc.), including in a manner that does not unduly interfere with the optical system (Miwa: ¶¶s 0033, 0039; Takagi: Fig. 1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,636,635 (“Massie”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2023/0122713 (“Macia”).
Regarding claim 4, Massie teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Massie does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a distance between centers of the plurality of ultrasonic elements is equal to or less than a wavelength of an ultrasonic wave to be emitted to the subject eye.
Macia teaches using an ultrasound transducer that can transmit and receive pulses (¶ 0025), the transducer including an array of sensors whose distance center-to-center is less than approximately half the wavelength of the signal (¶¶s 0027, 0071).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the spacing of Macia in Massie, as the simple substitution of one known ultrasound transducer arrangement for another with predictable results (using ultrasound for detection), and for the purpose of implementing phased array operation (Macia: ¶ 0071).
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791