Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-17, and 19-20 remain pending. Claims 3-4, 13, and 18 have been cancelled. New claim 21 has been added.
The amendments to the claims have overcome the objection to the claims made in Non-Final Rejection mailed 09/23/2025 and that objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating modified grounds of rejection. Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claims, notably the limitation “wherein the aft end of the turbine vane carrier extends over a plurality of rotating turbine blades of the last stage of a turbine section”, since “Dibenedetto teaches the passageways 66 and the flow area 80 and/or insert 82 are disposed in the compressor 48 section”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The subject limitation is disclosed by Eastwood and the rejections do not require Dibenedetto to teach the subject limitation.
For the reasons above, the rejections are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim recites “the second cooling flow pipe … passes through the inner casing to define the cooling hole” however parent claim 1 requires the “cooling hole … to direct the cooling flow from the casing cavity” and Applicant’s disclosure makes no description of any second cooling flow pipe defining a cooling hole which directs cooling flow from the casing cavity. The Applicant suggests support for the amendment may be found in Paragraphs [0023], [0027], [0031] and Figures 2-3 however none of the cited paragraphs nor drawings support an amendment wherein the second cooling flow pipe defines the cooling hole which directs cooling flow from the casing cavity; rather, the second cooling flow pipe described in the cited sections directs cooling flow from a blower (208), i.e. as shown in Figure 3, and not from the casing cavity (206). For the reasons above, Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed would not disclose to one of ordinary skill in the art that the Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5779436 to Glezer.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Glezer discloses a gas turbine engine (see abstract) comprising:
an outer casing (outer housing 22, Fig 2);
an inner casing (nozzle support case 100, Fig 3) surrounded by the outer casing (Figs 2-3),
the inner casing and the outer casing defining a casing cavity therebetween (main cavity 130, Fig 3);
a blower (compressor section 26, Fig 2) disposed external of the outer casing (Fig 2) and operable to blow into a cooling flow (cooling fluid flow arrows 66, Fig 3);
a turbine vane carrier (nozzle and shroud assembly 124, Fig 3) disposed internal of the inner casing (Fig 3); and
a turbine vane carrier cooling flow path (cooling fluid 144/66, through perforated shield 131, then passages 134 to cavity 132 of nozzle and shroud assembly 124; Fig 3) arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3),
wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a cooling hole (passages 134, Fig 3) that is arranged on the inner casing to direct the cooling flow from the casing cavity into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3),
wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the turbine vane carrier with respect to a working flow (aftward of nozzle vane 90, Fig 3), and
wherein the aft end of the turbine vane carrier extends over a plurality of rotating turbine blades of the last stage of a turbine section (turbine blades 14, Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10612466 to Eastwood in view of US 11293298 to DiBenedetto.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Eastwood discloses a gas turbine engine (20, Fig 1) comprising:
an outer casing (manifold 82, Fig 3);
an inner casing (turbine case 68, Fig 3) surrounded by the outer casing (Fig 3),
the inner casing and the outer casing defining a casing cavity therebetween (space radially outward of manifold 82, Fig 3);
a blower (52, Fig 2) disposed external of the outer casing and operable to blow into a cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3);
a turbine vane carrier (hooks 70 comprising apertures 94/96, Fig 3) disposed internal of the inner casing (Fig 3); and
a turbine vane carrier cooling flow path (flow through holes 92 to apertures 94/96, Fig 3) arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3),
wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a cooling hole (holes 92, Fig 3) that is arranged on the inner casing (Fig 3) to direct the cooling flow from the casing cavity into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3), and
wherein the aft end of the turbine vane carrier extends over a plurality of rotating turbine blades of the last stage of a turbine section (downstream-most rotor blades 76, Fig 3).
(ii) Eastwood does not disclose wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the turbine vane carrier with respect to a working flow.
(iii) DiBenedetto is also in the field of gas turbine engines (Col 1 Ln 12) and teaches a vane carrier (supports/baffles/connector 64 and associated abutting casing surfaces 58, Fig 2) and a second cooling flow pipe (passageways 66, Fig 2) comprising a cooling hole (hole of flow area 80 and/or insert 82, Fig 2), wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the vane carrier with respect to a working flow (Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling hole as disclosed by Eastwood with the above aforementioned cooling hole as taught by DiBenedetto for the purpose of enhancing and better controlling the cooling effect across the turbine vane carrier thus control tip clearance between the inner case and a turbine blade tip (Col 6 Lns 57-59/63-65).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses a first cooling flow pipe (inlet tube 88, Fig 3) that is in flow connection with the blower to receive the cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3) and arranged to direct the cooling flow into the casing cavity (Fig 3).
(c) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the cooling hole is one of a plurality of cooling holes circumferentially distributed around the inner casing (Col 5 Lns 5-7).
(d) Regarding claim 6:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a second cooling flow pipe (either one of inlet tube 88 and holes 87, Fig 3) that is in flow connection with the blower to receive the cooling flow and arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Fig 3).
(e) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 6.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a flow control valve (valve 81, Figs 2-3) that is in flow connection with the second cooling flow pipe (both inlet tube 88 and holes 97 in flow connection with valve 81, Col 4 Lns 43-47, Fig 3), and wherein the flow control valve is movable between an open position and a closed position to control the cooling flow passing through the second cooling flow pipe into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Col 4 Lns 45-54, Col 5 Lns 1-4).
(f) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 6.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the second cooling flow pipe is one of a plurality of second cooling flow pipes circumferentially distributed around the outer casing and the inner casing (Col 5 Lns 5-7, Fig 3).
(g) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses a filter (inlet particle separator 50, Figs 2-3) that is in flow connection with the blower (via inlet 56, Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3).
(h) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the cooling flow comprises ambient air that is outside of the gas turbine engine (via inlet duct 22, Col 4 Lns 12-13 and Col 5 Lns 30-31).
(i) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Eastwood discloses a gas turbine engine (20, Fig 1) comprising:
an outer casing (manifold 82, Fig 3);
an inner casing (turbine case 68, Fig 3) surrounded by the outer casing (Fig 3),
the inner casing and the outer casing defining a casing cavity therebetween (space radially outward of manifold 82, Fig 3);
a blower (52, Fig 2) disposed external of the outer casing and operable to blow into a cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3);
a first cooling flow pipe (inlet tube 88, Fig 3) in flow connection with the blower to receive the cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3) and arranged to direct the cooling flow into the casing cavity (Fig 3);
a turbine vane carrier (hooks 70 comprising apertures 94/96, Fig 3) disposed internal of the inner casing (Fig 3); and
a turbine vane carrier cooling flow path (flow through holes 92 to apertures 94/96, Fig 3) comprising a cooling hole (holes 92, Fig 3) that is arranged on the inner casing to direct the cooling flow from the casing cavity into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3),
wherein the aft end of the turbine vane carrier extends over a plurality of rotating turbine blades of the last stage of a turbine section (downstream-most rotor blades 76, Fig 3).
(ii) Eastwood does not disclose wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the turbine vane carrier with respect to a working flow.
(iii) DiBenedetto is also in the field of gas turbine engines (Col 1 Ln 12) and teaches a vane carrier (supports/baffles/connector 64 and associated abutting casing surfaces 58, Fig 2) and a second cooling flow pipe (passageways 66, Fig 2) comprising a cooling hole (hole of flow area 80 and/or insert 82, Fig 2), wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the vane carrier with respect to a working flow (Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling hole as disclosed by Eastwood with the above aforementioned cooling hole as taught by DiBenedetto for the purpose of enhancing and better controlling the cooling effect across the turbine vane carrier thus control tip clearance between the inner case and a turbine blade tip (Col 6 Lns 57-59/63-65).
(j) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 12.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the cooling hole is one of a plurality of cooling holes circumferentially distributed around the inner casing (Col 5 Lns 5-7).
(k) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 12.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses a filter (inlet particle separator 50, Figs 2-3) that is in flow connection with the blower (via inlet 56, Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3).
(l) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Eastwood discloses a gas turbine (20, Fig 1) engine comprising:
an outer casing (manifold 82, Fig 3);
an inner casing (turbine case 68, Fig 3) surrounded by the outer casing (Fig 3),
the inner casing and the outer casing defining a casing cavity therebetween (space radially outward of manifold 82, Fig 3);
a blower (52, Fig 2) disposed external of the outer casing and operable to blow into a cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3);
a turbine vane carrier (hooks 70 comprising apertures 94/96, Fig 3) disposed internal of the inner casing (Fig 3); and
a turbine vane carrier cooling flow path (flow path through any one and/or another one of holes 87/92 to apertures 94/96, Fig 3) comprising a second cooling flow pipe (any of holes 87/92, numbering being arbitrary) that is in flow connection with the blower to receive the cooling flow (Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3) and arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Fig 3),
wherein the aft end of the turbine vane carrier extends over a plurality of rotating turbine blades of the last stage of a turbine section (downstream-most rotor blades 76, Fig 3).
(ii) Eastwood does not disclose wherein the second cooling flow pipe is positioned at an aft end of the turbine vane carrier with respect to a working flow.
(iii) DiBenedetto is also in the field of gas turbine engines (Col 1 Ln 12) and teaches a vane carrier (supports/baffles/connector 64 and associated abutting casing surfaces 58, Fig 2) and a second cooling flow pipe (passageways 66, Fig 2) comprising a cooling hole (hole of flow area 80 and/or insert 82, Fig 2), wherein the cooling hole is positioned at an aft end of the vane carrier with respect to a working flow (Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second cooling flow pipe as disclosed by Eastwood with the above aforementioned second cooling flow pipe as taught by DiBenedetto for the purpose of enhancing and better controlling the cooling effect across the turbine vane carrier thus control tip clearance between the inner case and a turbine blade tip (Col 6 Lns 57-59/63-65).
(m) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 16.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a flow control valve (valve 81, Fig 3) that is in flow connection with the second cooling flow pipe (both holes 87/92 receive cooling air from valve 81, Fig 3), and wherein the flow control valve is movable between an open position and a closed position to control the cooling flow passing through the second cooling flow pipe into contact with the turbine vane carrier (Col 4 Lns 45-54, Col 5 Lns 1-4).
(n) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 16.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses wherein the second cooling flow pipe is one of a plurality of second cooling flow pipes circumferentially distributed around the outer casing and the inner casing (Col 5 Lns 5-7, Fig 3).
(o) Regarding claim 20:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 16.
(ii) Eastwood further discloses a filter (inlet particle separator 50, Figs 2-3) that is in flow connection with the blower (via inlet 56, Col 4 Lns 43-47, Figs 2-3).
(p) Regarding claim 21:
(i) Eastwood as modified by DiBenedetto teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 2.
(ii) Eastwood does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cooling flow pipe is one of a plurality of first cooling flow pipes circumferentially distributed around the outer casing.
(iii) The Applicant has disclosed no new or unexpected results from having the first cooling flow pipe be one of a plurality of first cooling flow pipes circumferentially distributed around the outer casing. Eastwood already discloses a first cooling flow pipe at an outer circumference of the outer casing therefore modifying the first cooling flow pipe of Eastwood to be one of a plurality of first cooling flow pipes as claimed is mere duplication of parts which supports a prima face obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first cooling flow pipe as disclosed by Eastwood to be one of a plurality of first cooling flow pipes as claimed through mere duplication of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5779436 to Glezer in view of US 9598974 to Gekht.
(a) Regarding claims 6 and 8:
(i) Glezer discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 1.
(ii) Glezer does not disclose:
wherein the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprises a second cooling flow pipe that is in flow connection with the blower to receive the cooling flow and arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with the turbine vane carrier; nor
wherein the second cooling flow pipe is positioned at the aft end of the turbine vane carrier with respect to the working flow and passes through the inner casing to define the cooling hole.
(iii) Gekht is also in the field of gas turbine engines (see abstract) and teaches:
a turbine vane carrier cooling flow path comprising a second cooling flow pipe (transfer tubes 82, Fig 3) in flow connection with a casing cavity (annular cavity 64, Figs 2-3) to receive the cooling flow (second flow 84, Fig 3) and arranged to direct the cooling flow into contact with a turbine vane carrier (outer ring 42, Fig 3); and
wherein the second cooling flow pipe passes through an inner casing (support case 40, Fig 3) to define a cooling hole (hole receiving transfer tube 82 and through which second air flow 84, Fig 3).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the turbine vane carrier cooling flow path with the above aforementioned second cooling flow pipe as taught by Gekht for the purpose of forming an air passage isolated from an intermediary cavity and connecting the casing cavity with the cooling hole (Col 4 Lns 48-52).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745