DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a construction data storage unit that stores a plurality of design surfaces” in claim 1;
“an expansion surface creation unit that creates…an expansion surface” in claim 1;
“a working equipment control unit that controls…working equipment” in claim 1;
“a toe of slope determination unit that determines whether a toe of slope is present” in claim 2;
“a input data acquisition unit that acquires input data from an input device” in claim 4;
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The Examiner interprets these limitations in light of ¶ [0028] and [0035-0036] where the “construction data storage unit”, “expansion surface creation unit”, and “input data acquisition unit” are part of a controller; the “working equipment control unit” and “toe of slope determination unit” are part of a control device; and the “input device” can be “a button switch, a computer keyboard, and[/or] a touch panel.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 recites “A work machine comprising the control system of a work machine according to claim 1.” As structured, this claim is dependent on claim 1; however, no new limitations are introduced that further limit claim 1. Both a work machine and corresponding control system are introduced in claim 1, and claim 5 does not further limit those features with new limitations. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (JP 2014148893 A) in view of DenBraber et al. (US 6131061 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Nomura discloses a control method (claim 6) and system of a work machine (claim 1; see at least ¶ [0018] and [0023] of the machine translation), the control system comprising:
a construction data storage unit that stores a plurality of design surfaces set as an excavation object of the work machine (see at least ¶ [0006] and [0029] of the machine translation disclosing a storage unit for the display controller that holds a plurality of design surfaces for a design topography);
an expansion surface creation unit that creates, in a top-of-slope direction, an expansion surface obtained by expanding a target construction surface indicating a target shape of a slope of the excavation object designated from among the plurality of design surfaces (see at least ¶ [0033-0034] and [0046-0048] of the machine translation and Figs. 5-6 disclosing calculating and displaying an extension line of a target surface line that extends it beyond the top of a slope a hydraulic shovel is working);
and a working equipment control unit that controls, when the expansion surface is created in the top-of-slope direction, working equipment provided in the work machine based on the expansion surface in the top-of-slope direction and the target construction surface (see at least ¶ [0029], [0034], and [0046] of the machine translation disclosing controlling the hydraulic shovel in accordance to the target surface line and extension line calculated and presented in the display controller).
Nomura does not explicitly disclose the expansion surface creation unit that creates an expansion surface in a toe of slope direction,
and, when the expansion surface is created in the toe-of-slope direction, controlling the working equipment without using the expansion surface in the toe-of-slope direction.
However, DenBraber teaches an apparatus to prevent underdigging of a work machine operating on a slope, where an underdigging boundary is set up along the slope and/or underneath the work machine with corresponding half planes where the work machine is not permitted to excavate (see at least abstract; columns 3-4, lines 37-67 and 1-2; columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7; and Figs. 4, 6, and 8).
While DenBraber does not disclose an expansion line following a toe of slope direction of a target construction surface, what DenBraber demonstrates is that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious not to dig underneath the work machine to avoid destabilizing it or damaging the machine (see BACKGROUND OF ART in column 1 of DenBraber). While DenBraber demonstrates this at the top of a construction surface, this consideration is applicable to Nomura to avoid the work machine underdigging at the bottom of a construction surface to promote the same stability and avoid damage as taught. Therefore this suggests controlling the working equipment without using the expansion surface in the toe-of-slope direction and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the underdigging prevention measures of DenBraber into the target construction surface of Nomura with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions use virtual lines to construct parallel planes to design surfaces that prevents a work machine from excavating beyond the design surfaces. This would prevent the work machine from taking damage caused by underdigging beneath the work machine in the toe-of-slope direction.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Nomura does not explicitly disclose determining whether a toe of slope is present at a boundary between the target construction surface and an adjacent design surface connected to the target construction surface among the plurality of design surfaces based on a relative position between the adjacent design surface and the expansion surface;
and controlling, when it is determined that the toe of slope is present, the working equipment based on the target construction surface and the adjacent design surface.
However, DenBraber teaches an apparatus to prevent underdigging of a work machine operating on a slope, where an underdigging boundary is set up along the slope and/or underneath the work machine with corresponding half planes where the work machine is not permitted to excavate (see at least abstract; columns 3-4, lines 37-67 and 1-2; columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7; and Figs. 4, 6, and 8), including the underdigging boundary being beneath a secondary boundary and/or a top periphery where adjacent half planes intersect (see at least column 3, lines 37-60 and columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7).
While DenBraber does not disclose an expansion line following a toe of slope direction of a target construction surface, what DenBraber demonstrates is that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious not to dig underneath the work machine to avoid destabilizing it or damaging the machine (see BACKGROUND OF ART in column 1 of DenBraber). While DenBraber demonstrates this at the top of a construction surface, this consideration is applicable to Nomura to avoid the work machine underdigging at the bottom of a construction surface to promote the same stability and avoid damage as taught. Additionally, DenBraber places adjacent half planes to form the underdigging boundary and one of the half planes is adjacent to the plane the work vehicle travels on. Therefore this suggests determining whether a toe of slope is present at a boundary between the target construction surface and an adjacent design surface connected to the target construction surface among the plurality of design surfaces based on a relative position between the adjacent design surface and the expansion surface; and controlling, when it is determined that the toe of slope is present, the working equipment based on the target construction surface and the adjacent design surface and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the underdigging prevention measures of DenBraber into the target construction surface of Nomura with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions use virtual lines to construct parallel planes to design surfaces that prevents a work machine from excavating beyond the design surfaces. This would prevent the work machine from taking damage caused by underdigging beneath the work machine in the toe-of-slope direction.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Nomura does not explicitly disclose the toe of slope determination unit determines that the toe of slope is present when determining that the adjacent design surface is present at a position higher than the expansion surface at a same point in a horizontal direction.
However, DenBraber teaches an apparatus to prevent underdigging of a work machine operating on a slope, where an underdigging boundary is set up along the slope and/or underneath the work machine with corresponding half planes where the work machine is not permitted to excavate (see at least abstract; columns 3-4, lines 37-67 and 1-2; columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7; and Figs. 4, 6, and 8), including the underdigging boundary being beneath a secondary boundary and/or a top periphery where adjacent half planes intersect (see at least column 3, lines 37-60 and columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7).
While DenBraber does not disclose an expansion line following a toe of slope direction of a target construction surface, what DenBraber demonstrates is that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious not to dig underneath the work machine to avoid destabilizing it or damaging the machine (see BACKGROUND OF ART in column 1 of DenBraber). While DenBraber demonstrates this at the top of a construction surface, this consideration is applicable to Nomura to avoid the work machine underdigging at the bottom of a construction surface to promote the same stability and avoid damage as taught. Additionally, DenBraber places adjacent half planes to form the underdigging boundary and one of the half planes is adjacent to the plane the work vehicle travels on. Therefore this suggests the toe of slope determination unit determines that the toe of slope is present when determining that the adjacent design surface is present at a position higher than the expansion surface at a same point in a horizontal direction and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the underdigging prevention measures of DenBraber into the target construction surface of Nomura with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions use virtual lines to construct parallel planes to design surfaces that prevents a work machine from excavating beyond the design surfaces. This would prevent the work machine from taking damage caused by underdigging beneath the work machine in the toe-of-slope direction.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Nomura discloses acquiring input data from an input device (see at least ¶ [0027-0029] and [0056] of the machine translation disclosing and input unit of the display device receiving operator input).
While Nomura suggests controlling, based on the input data, the working equipment based on the expansion surface in the top-of- slope direction and the target construction surface (see at least ¶ [0027-0029], [0034], [0046], and [0056] of the machine translation disclosing controlling the hydraulic shovel in accordance to the target surface line and extension line calculated and presented in the display controller and input to the display device from the operator), it does not explicitly disclose controlling the working equipment based on and an adjacent design surface connected to a lowermost portion of the target construction surface among the plurality of design surfaces without using the expansion surface in the toe-of-slope direction.
However, DenBraber teaches an apparatus to prevent underdigging of a work machine operating on a slope, where an underdigging boundary is set up along the slope and/or underneath the work machine with corresponding half planes where the work machine is not permitted to excavate (see at least abstract; columns 3-4, lines 37-67 and 1-2; columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7; and Figs. 4, 6, and 8), including the underdigging boundary being beneath a secondary boundary and/or a top periphery where adjacent half planes intersect (see at least column 3, lines 37-60 and columns 4-5, lines 40-67 and 1-7).
While DenBraber does not disclose an expansion line following a toe of slope direction of a target construction surface, what DenBraber demonstrates is that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious not to dig underneath the work machine to avoid destabilizing it or damaging the machine (see BACKGROUND OF ART in column 1 of DenBraber). While DenBraber demonstrates this at the top of a construction surface, this consideration is applicable to Nomura to avoid the work machine underdigging at the bottom of a construction surface to promote the same stability and avoid damage as taught. Additionally, DenBraber places adjacent half planes to form the underdigging boundary and one of the half planes is adjacent to the plane the work vehicle travels on. Therefore this suggests controlling the working equipment based on and an adjacent design surface connected to a lowermost portion of the target construction surface among the plurality of design surfaces without using the expansion surface in the toe-of-slope direction and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the underdigging prevention measures of DenBraber into the target construction surface of Nomura with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions use virtual lines to construct parallel planes to design surfaces that prevents a work machine from excavating beyond the design surfaces. This would prevent the work machine from taking damage caused by underdigging beneath the work machine in the toe-of-slope direction.
Regarding claim 5, Nomura discloses a work machine comprising the control system of a work machine according to claim 1 (see at least ¶ [0018] of the machine translation).
Conclusion
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669