DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 filed in a preliminary amendment on 9/27/2024 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the use of dried malted cereals without method steps of using, rendering the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US2006/008995A1) cited in an IDS, in view of generally known method steps in making malt.
Regarding claims 1,2 and 13, Smith discloses a method of comprising providing cereals (barley for example), adding an infusible material (tea) which is an aromatic flavoring herb and malting comprising at least one steeping step, at least one germination step and at least one drying step (Fig 1) to produce flavored malted cereal.
Smith does not specifically disclose separating at least one solid infusible material from the dried flavored malted cereals. However, solid materials such as rootlets are routinely separated from dried malt (deculming) in preparing malt for use in making beverages. As Smith discloses flavoring cereals during a steeping and germination step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using solid infusible materials to flavor malt to have included a separation step to remove spent materials after flavor is extracted into the malt during steeping and germination, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, 15, Smith discloses adding infusible material at an exemplary ½ lb per 5 lb of barley [0048] , corresponding to a ratio of 0.1:1 which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4,16, 17,18 Smith discloses that the infusible material is added either in any of the steps of steeping, germination and drying (Fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses adding tea extract (infused tea).
Regarding claim 7, pre-treatment as claimed is a routine step in preparing cereals for malting.
Regarding claims 8-12,19 and 20 the claimed methods of separation in separator devices having a set of sieves with varied pore sizes, are routinely applied in the art and would have been applied in separating infusible solids from malted barley in Smith with a reasonable expectation of success, absent a showing of unexpected results of such a separation step.
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses a beverage comprising flavored malted grains (abstract, figures).
Claims 1-20 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Correspondence
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793