DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2015/0068399 A1) in view of Holland et al. (U.S. Pat. 7,438,534) and Owaki et al. (JP 2019-157257 A1)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Kosters et al. teach a chemical vapor deposition apparatus for providing a surface of a substrate with a layer, the apparatus comprising: a reactor (1) having a chamber (10) for accommodating at least one substrate; a pressure unit (6) configured to generate, in an inner portion of the chamber (10), a first predetermined pressure and comprising a first pumping stage (60) having at least one liquid ring vacuum pump (601), and a second pumping stage (61) having at least one dry screw vacuum pump (611). (Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0021-0029)
The difference between Kosters et al. and claim 1 is that the apparatus further comprising a pressure regulation unit configured to control the first predetermined pressure generated by the pressure unit (6) is not discussed (Claim 1), a first valve and a second valve each configured to reduce the intersection of at least one connection to the chamber (10) is not discussed (Claim1), wherein the second valve has a size different to that of the first valve and is connected in parallel to the first valve is not discussed (Claim 1), an opening degree of the second valve and an opening degree of the first valve are controlled by the pressure regulation unit is not discussed (Claim 1) and the first predetermined pressure is adjustable in the entire range covering 0.1 kPa (1 mbar) to 90 kPa (900 mbar) is not discussed (Claim 1).
Regarding the apparatus further comprising a pressure regulation unit configured to control the first predetermined pressure generated by the pressure unit (6) (Claim 1), Holland et al. teach a pressure regulation unit configured to control the first predetermined pressure generated by a pressure unit (6). In other words Holland teaches that a pressure regulation unit controls the pressure of a vacuum processing chamber by controlling the opening degree of vacuum valves. Because the valves regulate the coupling between the chamber and the pumping system, the pressure regulation unit controls the pressure generated by the pressure unit. (See Abstract; Column 5 lines 29-67; Column 6 lines 1-30)
Regarding a first valve and a second valve each configured to reduce the intersection of at least one connection to the chamber (10) (Claim1), Owaki et al. teach a first valve and a second valve each configured to reduce the intersection of at least one connection to a chamber. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding wherein the second valve has a size different to that of the first valve and is connected in parallel to the first valve (Claim 1), Owaki et al. teach the second valve has a size different to that of the first valve and is connected in parallel to the first valve. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding an opening degree of the second valve and an opening degree of the first valve are controlled by the pressure regulation unit (Claim 1), Owaki et al. teach adjusting the exhaust conductance via a plurality of valves. (See Machine Translation) Holland teaches that pressure control can be improved by using a pressure control apparatus unit to control valves based on chamber pressure. (See Holland discussed above) It therefore would be obvious to combine the teachings of Owaki and Holland to control the pressure by controlling parallel valves through a pressure control unit.
Regarding the first predetermined pressure is adjustable in the entire range covering 0.1 kPa (1 mbar) to 90 kPa (900 mbar) (Claim 1), since the apparatus of Kosters et al. teaches the same structure for the pumps and the pressures of 20 mbar and 120 mbar in Applicant’s range the control of pressure would have been obvious to be within the range.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Kosters et al. teach in Fig. 1 teaches that the first pumping stage (60) and the second pumping stage (61) are connected in series.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
Regarding claim 3, Kosters et al. teach that a suction side of the second pumping stage (61) is connected to the chamber (10) of the reactor (1) and a discharge side of the second pumping stage (61) is connected to a suction side of the first pumping stage (60). (See Fig. 1)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Holland et al. is that it allows for operating in a stable operating pressure. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Owaki et al. is that it allows for varying exhaust conductance. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kosters et al. by utilizing the features of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. because it allows for operating in a stable pressure with varied exhaust conductance.
6. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laguilharre (U.S. Pat. 4,505,645).
The difference not yet discussed is where the first pumping stage (60) further comprises a second liquid ring vacuum pump (601) connected in parallel with the liquid ring vacuum pump (601).
Regarding claim 4, Laguilharre teach coupling two liquid ring pumps in parallel to accelerate evacuation. (Column 6 lines 5-9)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Laguilharre is that it allows for accelerating evacuation. (Column 6 lines 5-9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Laguilharre because it allows for accelerating evacuation.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. and further in view of Laguilharre as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Rousseau et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,419,455).
The difference not yet discussed is the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump.
Regarding claim 13, Rousseau et al. teach the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Rousseau et al. is that it allows for regulating the pressure. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Rousseau et al. because it allows for regulating the pressure.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. and further in view of Laguilharre and further in view of Rousseau et al. as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Steffens (U.S. Pat. 6,497,563).
The difference not yet discussed is the one dry screw vacuum pump (611) has a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump (611).
Regarding claim 14, Steffens et al. teach the dry screw pump having a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Steffens et al. is that it allows for cooling the pump. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Steffen et al. because it allows for cooling the pump.
9. Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rousseau et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,419,455).
The difference not yet discussed is the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump.
Regarding claim 5, Rousseau et al. teach the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Rousseau et al. is that it allows for regulating the pressure. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Rousseau et al. because it allows for regulating the pressure.
10. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Owaki et al. and Holland et al. and further in view of Rousseau et al. as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Steffens (U.S. Pat. 6,497,563).
The difference not yet discussed is the one dry screw vacuum pump (611) has a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump (611).
Regarding claim 15, Steffens et al. teach the dry screw pump having a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Steffens et al. is that it allows for cooling the pump. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Steffen et al. because it allows for cooling the pump.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Steffens (U.S. Pat. 6,497,563).
The difference not yet discussed is the one dry screw vacuum pump (611) has a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump (611).
Regarding claims 6, 9, 12, Steffens et al. teach the dry screw pump having a liquid cooling system configured to transfer heat between a liquid and the at least one dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Steffens et al. is that it allows for cooling the pump. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Steffen et al. because it allows for cooling the pump.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Laguilharre (U.S. Pat. 4,505,645).
The difference not yet discussed is where the first pumping stage (60) further comprises a second liquid ring vacuum pump (601) connected in parallel with the liquid ring vacuum pump (601).
Regarding claims 7, 10, Laguilharre teach coupling two liquid ring pumps in parallel to accelerate evacuation. (Column 6 lines 5-9)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Laguilharre is that it allows for accelerating evacuation. (Column 6 lines 5-9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Laguilharre because it allows for accelerating evacuation.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosters et al. in view of Holland et al. and Owaki et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Rousseau et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,419,455).
The difference not yet discussed is the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump.
Regarding claims 8, 11, Rousseau et al. teach the pressure regulation unit is configured to control the first predetermined pressure by at least varying a rotational speed of the dry screw vacuum pump. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Rousseau et al. is that it allows for regulating the pressure. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Rousseau et al. because it allows for regulating the pressure.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
August 7, 2026