DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Para. [0008], the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
In Para. [0020], the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
In Para. [0040], the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
In Para. [0074], the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
In Para. [0139], the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1- On Line 5, the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
Claim 11- On Line 5, the Examiner assumes that “side of the sample than the single first irradiation area” should instead be --side of the sample relative to that single first irradiation area--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregor et al. (“Laser-raster spectrometer for time-resolved recording of transient absorption”, Appl. Opt. 38 (36), 1999, pp. 7468-7474, disclosed in IDS 06 April 2026), hereinafter Gregor.
Claims 1,11: Gregor discloses an optical measurement apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first irradiator (el) configured to irradiate, with excitation light, a single first irradiation area on a movement path of a moving sample (S) (“in the plane of the flowing sample”, P. 7469, R. col, 2nd ¶; evident from Fig. 2);
a second irradiator (pl) configured to irradiate, with probe light, a second irradiation area that is located on a movement direction side of the sample (S) relative to the single first irradiation area on the movement path (evident from Fig. 2: movement path is downwards in the X-direction, and the probe beam is incident further in the X-direction relative to the point of incidence of the excitation beam);
a detection unit (pd) configured to detect the probe light with which the second irradiator (pl) has irradiated the sample (S) (P. 7470, L. col, 5th ¶); and
a controller (“computer system”, P. 7471, L. col, 5th ¶) configured to
calculate an optical parameter at a plurality of time points (Fig. 6; P. 7473, R. col, 8th ¶), based on detection intensity of the probe light (pl) that has been transmitted through the sample (S) at each of the plurality of time points different from each other (P. 7471, R. col, 5th ¶) in a transient response of the optical parameter of the sample (S) due to excitation by the excitation light (el) (“The excitation causes a distinct population of transient states in the sample”, P. 7469, R. col, 2nd ¶) and has been detected by the detection unit (pd) at different timings, and
calculate a physical property parameter (“lifetime”, P. 7474, L. col, 1st ¶) of the sample (S) based on the calculated optical parameter.
Claim 2: Gregor further discloses wherein
the second irradiation area includes a single area (evident from Fig. 2),
the detection unit (pd) includes a single detector (P. 7470, L. col, 4th ¶), and
when a movement speed (vjet) of the sample (S) varies, the controller is configured to calculate the optical parameter for each of a plurality of movement speeds (vjet) different from each other (P. 7473, R. col, 3rd ¶).
Claim 5: Gregor further discloses a memory (inherent part of a “computer system”, P. 7471, L. col, 5th ¶) configured to store detection information from the detection unit (pd) and information regarding a movement speed of the sample (S).
Claim 6: Gregor discloses:
the optical measurement apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection); and
a flow-type distribution cell in which the sample (S) flows inside a channel in one direction (evident from Fig. 2).
Claim 7: Gregor further discloses:
a control apparatus (“computer system”, P. 7471, L. col, 5th ¶) configured to control the optical measurement apparatus (P. 7469, R. col, 2nd ¶); and
a pump (implicit cause of “a fast-flowing jet stream”, Abstract) configured to vary a flow rate of the sample (S) under control of the control apparatus (P. 7473, R. col, 3rd ¶).
Claim 9: Gregor further discloses:
the optical measurement apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection); and
a rotating body (“rotary dye cell”, P. 7469, L. col, 6th ¶) in which the sample (S) is deposited on a substrate, the rotating body configured to rotate in one direction (inherent to “rotary”).
Claim 10: Gregor further discloses:
a control apparatus (“computer system”, P. 7471, L. col, 5th ¶) configured to control the optical measurement apparatus (P. 7469, R. col, 2nd ¶); and
a motor (implicit in “rotary dye cell” since it cannot move on its own) configured to vary a rotational speed (vjet) of the rotating body under control of the control apparatus (P. 7473, R. col, 3rd ¶).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martin et al. (US 2004/0159798), hereinafter Martin.
Claim 3: Gregor further discloses wherein
the second irradiation area includes a single area (evident from Fig. 2).
Gregor does not explicitly disclose the detection unit including a plurality of detectors.
However, the Examiner takes Official notice that it is well known to use an array of detectors in place of a single detector (Martin et al. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gregor’s optical measurement apparatus with a plurality of detectors arranged in an array along the movement path for the purpose of performing temporal detection.
In Gregor’s modified apparatus, the controller is configured to calculate the optical parameter at the plurality of time points (Fig. 6; P. 7473, R. col, 8th ¶), based on the detection intensity detected by the plurality of detectors different from each other (evident since the same calculation is done multiple times).
Claim 4: Gregor further discloses wherein the second irradiation area includes a plurality of areas (under broadest reasonable interpretation, the diameter ϕ of the probe beam may be wide enough to irradiate a plurality of (adjacent) areas (evident from Fig. 2)).
Gregor does not explicitly disclose the detection unit including a detector corresponding to each of the plurality of areas.
However, the Examiner takes Official notice that it is well known to use an array of detectors in place of a single detector (Martin et al. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gregor’s optical measurement apparatus with a plurality of detectors arranged in an array along the movement path for the purpose of performing temporal detection.
In Gregor’s modified apparatus, the controller is configured to calculate the optical parameter at the plurality of time points (Fig. 6; P. 7473, R. col, 8th ¶), based on the detection intensity detected by the plurality of detectors different from each other (evident since the same calculation is done multiple times).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregor as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sebok et al. (US 6,104,483), hereinafter Sebok.
Claim 8: Gregor is silent with respect to a mask configured to limit the single first irradiation area and the second irradiation area on the distribution cell.
Sebok, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical flow cells, discloses an optical measurement system (Fig. 3) comprising a mask (78) configured to limit an irradiation area on a distribution cell (16) (Col. 5, Lines 45-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gregor’s optical measurement system with a mask for the purpose of “enhance[ing] the viewing and imaging of any particles flowing through the gap” (Sebok, Col. 5, Lines 48-53).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Tarifur Chowdhury can be reached on 571-272-2287. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Hina F Ayub/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877