DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ham (US 20240206120 A1).
As to Claim 1, Ham discloses:
A mobile computing device 200 comprising:
a housing (housing 210 of Figs. 2-3);
a battery 600 (Par. 0074 “Referring to FIGS. 5 to 7, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 200 of FIGS. 2 to 4) may include a heat dissipation structure 10. The heat dissipation structure 10 may include a bracket 300, a vapor chamber 400, a circuit board 500, and a battery 600, and be provided as a combination thereof”);
one or more electronic components (heat source 501; Par. 0074 and Fig. 12); and
a chassis assembly (bracket 300; Par. 0074 “The description of the bracket 300, the battery 600, and the circuit board 500 of FIGS. 5 to 7 may be identical in whole or part to the bracket 232 (refer to FIG. 4), the battery 250 (refer to FIG. 4), and the printed circuit board 240 (refer to FIG. 4) of FIGS. 2 to 4”) removably connected to the housing 200 (bracket 300, corresponding to 232 of Figs. 2-4 capable of being removed from 200), wherein the battery 600 is connected to the chassis assembly 300 (see Fig. 12) and the chassis assembly 300 provides a heat path from the one or more electronic components 501 to the battery 600 (see Fig. 12, heat path from 501 to 600 through 300).
As to Claim 2, Ham discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly includes:
a metal chassis 300 configured to retain the battery 600 (300 corresponds to 232; Par. 0065 “The bracket 232 may be formed of, e.g., a metal”; 600 disposed in 300).
As to Claim 3, Ham discloses:
wherein the metal chassis 300 includes material that provides at least a portion of the heat path (see Fig. 12, heat transfer path is through 300).
As to Claim 4, Ham discloses:
wherein the metal chassis 300 further includes flanges in contact with sides of the battery 600 (see Figs. below, highlighted portions of 300 are thermally connected to top side and sides of 600 and comprises portion of heat transfer path on left side of 314).
As to Claim 5, Ham discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly 300 further includes:
a vapor chamber 400 that provides at least a portion of the heat path (vapor chamber 400 provides portion of heat transfer from component 501 to battery 600).
As to Claim 6, Ham discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber 400 extends over both the one or more electronic components 501 and the battery 600 (vapor chamber 400 extends over both 501 and 600).
As to Claim 7, Ham discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber 400 is integrated into the metal chassis 300 (Par. 0075 “a receiving area 302 may be formed in a portion of the first surface 301, and the vapor chamber 400 may be disposed in the receiving area 302”; vapor chamber 400 integrated with bracket 300 when assembled).
As to Claim 8, Ham discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber 400 is a discrete component from the metal chassis 300 (Par. 0075 “a receiving area 302 may be formed in a portion of the first surface 301, and the vapor chamber 400 may be disposed in the receiving area 302”; vapor chamber 400 is a discrete component from 300).
As to Claim 10, Ham discloses:
wherein the battery 600 is attached to the chassis assembly 300 via adhesive 640 (Par. 0087 “The battery 600 may be attached to the second area 313 through the adhesive member 640”; Par. 0107 “the heat dissipation structure 10 may comprise an adhesive (e.g. adhesive tape) 640 to attach the second component 600 to the support component 300”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hill (US 20230224389 A1).
As to Claim 9, Ham does not disclose:
wherein the chassis assembly further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader.
However, Hill discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly (chassis 323; Fig. 3) further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader (Par. 0235 “The circuit board assembly 320 may be thermally coupled to the chassis 323 via one or more thermal bridges, such as a graphite structure, a graphite-wrapped foam”);
in order to remove heat from the circuit board assembly (Par. 0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham as further suggested by Hill e.g., providing:
wherein the chassis assembly further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader;
in order to remove heat from the circuit board assembly.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bhopte (US 20190006649 A1).
As to Claim 11, Ham does not disclose:
wherein the chassis assembly is attached to the housing via screws.
However, Bhopte discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly (battery enclosure 100; see Figs. 1-3) is attached to the housing (housing 166) via screws 170 (Par. 0051 “A screw 170 may pass through a grommet or eyelet 172 attached to a surface of the battery enclosure 100 and screwed into the screw boss, thereby securing the battery enclosure 100 to the chassis or housing 166”);
in order to allow the battery enclosure 100 to be removably secured to the housing 166 without damage (Par. 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham as further suggested by Bhopte e.g., providing:
wherein the chassis assembly is attached to the housing via screws;
in order to allow the chassis to be removably secured to the housing without damage.
As to Claim 13, Ham does not disclose:
wherein the chassis assembly and battery are removable from the housing without requiring removal of the one or more electronic components.
However, Bhopte discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly (battery enclosure 100; see Figs. 1-3) and battery 110 are removable from the housing (housing 166) without requiring removal of the one or more electronic components (components of board 202; Par. 0051 “The combination of grommets 172, screws 170, and screw bosses 168 is advantageous in allowing the battery enclosure 100 to be removably secured (i.e., attached and detached) to the chassis or housing 166. In other words, the battery enclosure 100 can be installed, removed, and replaced without damage to the chassis 166 or battery enclosure 100”; battery enclosure 100 and battery 110 capable of being removed from housing 166 without removal of board 202 or components on board);
in order to allow the battery enclosure 100 to be removably secured to the housing 166 without damage (Par. 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham as further suggested by Bhopte e.g., providing:
wherein the chassis assembly and battery are removable from the housing without requiring removal of the one or more electronic components;
in order to allow the chassis to be removably secured to the housing without damage.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saeidi (US 20170163302 A1).
As to Claim 12, Ham does not disclose:
wherein the one or more electronic components comprise a system on a chip (SoC).
However, Saeidi discloses:
wherein the one or more electronic components (IC 212) comprise a system on a chip (SoC) (Par. 0029 “the IC 212 may be a SoC that integrates all components of a computer or other electronic system into a single chip”);
in order to integrate all components of an electronic system into a single chip (Par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham as further suggested by Saeidi e.g., providing:
wherein the one or more electronic components comprise a system on a chip (SoC);
in order to integrate all components of an electronic system into a single chip.
Claims 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) in view of Saeidi (US 20170163302 A1).
As to Claim 14, Ham discloses:
A mobile computing device 200 comprising:
a housing (housing 210 of Figs. 2-3);
a battery 600 (Par. 0074 “Referring to FIGS. 5 to 7, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 200 of FIGS. 2 to 4) may include a heat dissipation structure 10. The heat dissipation structure 10 may include a bracket 300, a vapor chamber 400, a circuit board 500, and a battery 600, and be provided as a combination thereof”);
one or more electronic components (heat source 501; Par. 0074 and Fig. 12); and
a chassis assembly (bracket 300; Par. 0074 “The description of the bracket 300, the battery 600, and the circuit board 500 of FIGS. 5 to 7 may be identical in whole or part to the bracket 232 (refer to FIG. 4), the battery 250 (refer to FIG. 4), and the printed circuit board 240 (refer to FIG. 4) of FIGS. 2 to 4”) removably connected to the housing 200 (bracket 300, corresponding to 232 of Figs. 2-4 capable of being removed from 200), wherein the battery 600 is connected to the chassis assembly 300 (see Fig. 12) and the chassis assembly 300 provides a heat path from the one or more electronic components 501 to the battery 600 (see Fig. 12, heat path from 501 to 600 through 300), wherein the chassis assembly includes:
a metal chassis 300 (300 corresponds to 232; Par. 0065 “The bracket 232 may be formed of, e.g., a metal”) configured to retain the battery 600 (600 disposed in 300), the metal chassis 300 including flanges in contact with sides of the battery 600 that form a first portion of the heat path (see Figs. below, highlighted portions of 300 are thermally connected to top side and sides of 600 and comprises portion of heat transfer path on left side of 314); and
a vapor chamber 400 that provides at least a second portion of the heat path (vapor chamber 400 provides portion of heat transfer path on right side of 314, from component 501).
Ham does not disclose:
one or more electronic components including a system on a chip (SoC).
However, Saeidi discloses:
one or more electronic components (IC 212) including a system on a chip (SoC) (Par. 0029 “the IC 212 may be a SoC that integrates all components of a computer or other electronic system into a single chip”);
in order to integrate all components of an electronic system into a single chip (Par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham as further suggested by Saeidi e.g., providing:
one or more electronic components including a system on a chip (SoC);
in order to integrate all components of an electronic system into a single chip.
As to Claim 15, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber (400 of of Ham) extends over both the one or more electronic components 501 and the battery 600 (400 extends over 501 and 600, see Fig. 12 of Ham).
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber (400 of Ham) is integrated into the metal chassis 300 (Par. 0075 “a receiving area 302 may be formed in a portion of the first surface 301, and the vapor chamber 400 may be disposed in the receiving area 302”; vapor chamber 400 integrated with bracket 300 when assembled; Ham).
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi discloses:
wherein the vapor chamber (400 of Ham) is a discrete component from the metal chassis 300 (Par. 0075 “a receiving area 302 may be formed in a portion of the first surface 301, and the vapor chamber 400 may be disposed in the receiving area 302”; vapor chamber 400 is a discrete component from 300 of Ham).
As to Claim 19, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi discloses:
wherein the battery (600 of Ham) is attached to the chassis assembly 300 via adhesive 640 (Par. 0087 “The battery 600 may be attached to the second area 313 through the adhesive member 640”; Par. 0107 “the heat dissipation structure 10 may comprise an adhesive (e.g. adhesive tape) 640 to attach the second component 600 to the support component 300”; Ham).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) in view of Saeidi (US 20170163302 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hill (US 20230224389 A1).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi does not disclose:
wherein the chassis assembly further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader.
However, Hill discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly (chassis 323; Fig. 3) further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader (Par. 0235 “The circuit board assembly 320 may be thermally coupled to the chassis 323 via one or more thermal bridges, such as a graphite structure, a graphite-wrapped foam”);
in order to remove heat from the circuit board assembly (Par. 0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham in view of Saeidi as further suggested by Hill e.g., providing:
wherein the chassis assembly further includes:
a graphite thermal spreader;
in order to remove heat from the circuit board assembly.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (US 20240206120 A1) in view of Saeidi (US 20170163302 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bhopte (US 20190006649 A1).
As to Claim 20, the obvious modification of Ham in view of Saeidi does not disclose:
wherein the chassis assembly is attached to the housing via screws.
However, Bhopte discloses:
wherein the chassis assembly (battery enclosure 100; see Figs. 1-3) is attached to the housing (housing 166) via screws 170 (Par. 0051 “A screw 170 may pass through a grommet or eyelet 172 attached to a surface of the battery enclosure 100 and screwed into the screw boss, thereby securing the battery enclosure 100 to the chassis or housing 166”);
in order to allow the battery enclosure 100 to be removably secured to the housing 166 without damage (Par. 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ham in view of Saeidi as further suggested by Bhopte e.g., providing:
wherein the chassis assembly is attached to the housing via screws;
in order to allow the chassis to be removably secured to the housing without damage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin (US 20230019481 A1) discloses a mobile terminal with a vapor chamber.
Sun (US 11864350 B2) discloses a heat conductive apparatus within a mobile terminal.
Fu (US 20240147679 A1) discloses a vapor chamber within an electronic device.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841