DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BELLIARD (US 2017/0246770 A1).
Re: 1, the EP3210746A1 reference teaches of a device, in particular an inclined ejector (see Figs. 6, 7, see element 26), for demolding a cast component (2) with an undercut from a casting mold for a casting process or an injection molding process with an ejector (see teaching of the ejector device and includes the inclined ejector and formation of undercut, see Figs. 6, 7), comprising:
- an ejector head (28) with a profile which is complementary to the cast component (2) with the undercut and is mounted in a recess (Figs. 1, 6, 7) so as to be displaceable between a casting position and an ejection position (see Fig. 6) (see [0013] of the USPGPub document, wherein, allowing for separation to eject pieces of complex shape),
- an ejector base (8, 10) movable in a translational direction;
- a link chain (26), which mechanically connects the ejector head (28, 30) with the ejector base (8, 10) in order to implement a force and movement deflection, wherein the link chain (26) has a plurality of chain segments (see Figs. 3-5) engaging in one another in a longitudinal direction, which in particular have low backlash with respect to pull and push in the longitudinal direction and permit tilting relative to one another in at least a first transverse direction (see movement of the base 8, 10 that allows for push/pull of the link chains, and wherein, allow for tilting to one another, see Figs. 3-4).
Re: 2 (upon 1), (see EP3210746 A1, see Figs. 1-4, see chain segments with heads, see also Fig. 5) wherein at least one of the chain segments (26) has one or two chain segment heads (50, 52) projecting opposite one another in the longitudinal direction, which engages without play/backlash with a correspondingly complementary chain segment head receptacle (see Fig. 5) of a further one of the chain segments (26), so that tilting of the chain segments (see Figs. 3-4) in only the first transverse direction is made possible.
Re: 3 (upon 2), (see Figs. 3-5 of EP3210746 A1) wherein at least one of the engaging chain segments (26) has at least one chain segment head (52) projecting in the longitudinal direction, which is cylindrical in shape and has an at least partially segment-like, circular-cylindrical lateral surface, wherein a tapered chain segment neck (52) is provided with respect to the longitudinal direction, so that two engaging chain segments (see Figs. 3-5) are each held together by the engagement of one of the chain segment heads (52) in the corresponding chain segment head receptacle (see Fig. 5) and are pivotable with respect to the first transverse direction (see Figs. 3-4).
Re: 4 (upon 3), (see Fig. 5 of EP3210746 A1) wherein the chain segment neck (52) is received in a chain segment head receptacle (see Figs. 3-4) with play/ backlash in the first transverse direction to allow tilting of the chain segments (see Figs. 3-5) by a predetermined angle.
Re: 5 (upon 2), (see Figs. 3-4 of EP3210746 A1) wherein at least one of the chain segment heads (52) is arranged between two chain segment shoulders (see Fig. 5) extending in the first transverse direction and/or facing one another, wherein a chain segment head receptacle (see Fig. 5), in which the at least one chain segment head (52) is received, is arranged between two chain segment bases (see Fig. 5) extending in the first transverse direction and/or facing one another, the chain segment shoulders and chain segment bases facing one another and enclosing an angle within which tilting of the chain segments by a predetermined angle is possible.
Re: 6 (upon 1), (see Figs. 3-4 of EP3210746 A1) wherein at least two of the engaging chain segments (see Fig. 5) are configured to be joined by inserting a chain segment head (52) of one of the chain segments (26) into a chain segment head receptacle (see Fig. 5) of a further chain segment (26) in a second transverse direction, in particular perpendicular to the first transverse direction.
Re: 9 (upon 1), (see Figs. 3-4, element 4 that guides the chain of EP3210746 A1) wherein the link chain (26) is guided in a feed-through (38) and/or a guide (4) in order to redirect a force and movement acting on the ejector base (22, 10) to the ejector head (28, 30, 42) in the main demolding direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELLIARD as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of JPS59-169829A (from IDS).
Re: 7 (upon 2), wherein the chain segments have a circular cylindrical base body with respect to the longitudinal direction and an axial through-opening in the longitudinal direction, wherein a bendable fixing element is guided through the through-openings of the chain segments in order to hold the chain segment head of one of the chain segments in the corresponding chain segment head receptacle of the further chain segment.
The BELLIARD reference fails to teach of the bendable fixing element that passes through the through openings of the chain segments.
However, this concept is known in the mold ejector arts, as seen in the JP reference. Here, in the JP reference, see flexible piston rod 18 that extends through the members 19, see the through openings in the elements, and wherein, a bendable fixing element allows for push and pull through.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the chain links of BELLIARD with the bendable fixing element as taught by the JP reference as a known configuration for connecting the adjacent members of the segments in the push/pull operations in the mold, see under KSR, under MPEP2143, as this is seen as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Re: 8 (upon 7), wherein the fixing element is additionally slidably mounted in the through openings in order to secure a base part of the link chain and the chain segments and a head part of the link chain against mutual shearing in the second transverse direction. (see JPS59-169829A of the fixing element as taught in Fig. 7 above.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form, of particular note:
HOONG (US 2015/0375427 A1) teaches of balls instead of the chain links.
BELLIARD (US 2017/0246771 A1) teaches of the linkages.
SUTTER (US 11400659 B2) teaches also of the linkages.
BELLIARD (US 2023/0312876 A1) teaches of linkages.
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744