FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed drive motor, drive motor shaft, first inverter, second inverter, and input shaft (of the electrically drivable axle module) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the axle module" in lines 2, 9, 11, 15, and 17 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the axle module" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a first loading motor" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a second loading motor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a test stand base" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a first sliding carriage" in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a second sliding carriage" in line 9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation) in view of Hell et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0230467.
With respect to claims 1, 3, 6, 7, Choi teaches a test stand (test apparatus, figure 1) for testing an electrically drivable axle module (interpreted as EPS module, page 1) for a motor vehicle, comprising at least a first loading motor (left rod unit 100) and a second loading motor (right rod unit 100’) and a test stand base (base of the test apparatus, figure 1) with a test object holder (jig 2, figure 1) for holding the axle module (EPS module, pages 1 and 2), wherein a first motor shaft having a first connecting rod (first rod shaft 130 and first rod shaft end 131 of left rod unit 100, figures 1 and 2) of the first loading motor (left rod unit 100) can be (can be means that the following limitations only have to be possible and not actually implement) connected with no transmission ratio and rotationally fixed to a first drive output shaft (interpreted as an input of the EPS module from the load rod units that have no gearing between, pages 2-3, figure 1) of the axle module (EPS module) and a second motor shaft having a connecting shaft (the corresponding first rod shaft 130 and first rod shaft end 131 of right rod unit 100’, figures 1 and 2) of the second loading motor (right rod unit 100’) can be (can be means that the following limitations only have to be possible and not actually implement) connected with no transmission ratio and rotationally fixed to a second drive output shaft of the axle module (interpreted as an input of the EPS module from the load rod units that have no gearing between, pages 2-3, figure 1), characterized in that the first loading motor is arranged on a first sliding carriage in the form of a first clamping angle (rail brackets 161 and rails 162, page 3, figure 2) on the test stand base (test apparatus, figures 1 and 2) and can be (can be means that the following limitations only have to be possible and not actually implement) moved toward the axle module (the load units move along rails toward the EPS module, page 3, figure 1 and 2) and the second loading motor is arranged on a second sliding carriage in the form of a second clamping angle (rail brackets 161 and rails 162, page 3, figure 2) on the test stand base (test apparatus, figures 1 and 2) and can be (can be means that the following limitations only have to be possible and not actually implement) moved toward the axle module (the load units move along rails toward the EPS module, page 3, figure 1 and 2).
Chois fails to teach and wherein the first loading motor and the second loading motor are each in the form of permanently excited synchronous motors with at least twelve magnetic pole pairs.
Hell teaches a powertrain test stain wherein at least one loading motor is in the form of a permanently excited synchronous motor having twelve or more magnetic pole pairs (paragraph 12).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Choi with the load motors taught by Hell in order to provide a load motor that is compact and short (paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 2, Choi teaches a drive motor having a drive shaft configured to be connected to the input shaft of the axle module (driving motor 210 having a coupling unit 220 connected to the EPS module, pages 3-4).
With respect to claim 4, Choi teaches wherein the first and second slide carriages have adjacent first and second motor holders (interpreted as the part of the test apparatus that supports the load units 100,100’, figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 7, Choi teaches the first motor shaft is connected rotationally fixed by way of a first torque sensor (load sensor 140, figures 1 and 2) to the first connecting shaft (page 3, figures 1 and 2) and the second motor shaft is connected rotationally fixed by way of a second torque sensor (the load sensor 140 of the right rod unit 100’, figures 1 and 2) to the second connecting shaft (page 3, figures 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation) in view of Hell et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0230467 and further in view of Reinisch et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0023483.
With respect to claim 5, Choi as modified by Hell teaches the claimed invention except wherein a vertical adjustment module configured for adjusting the first loading motor and/or fir the second loading motor and/or for the drive motor.
Reinisch teaches a drive tester and transmission tester where a drive module comprises a frame module 20 having a very stiff adjusting module 22 that allows, together with an adjustment slide unit, a displacement of upper surface 24 in X-direction, Y-direction and Z-direction (paragraphs 38-39, figure 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Choi as modified by Hell with the vertical adjusting module of Reinisch in order to easily adjustable test stand.
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation) in view of Hell et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0230467 and further in view of Klinger et al. 3,796,092.
With respect to claims 8, 9, and 11 Choi teaches the first motor shaft and second shafts arranged at the end of the motors (first rod shafts 130, figures 1 and2 ) is connected rotationally fixed by way of a first torque sensor (load sensor 140, figures 1 and 2) to the first connecting shaft (load sensor 140 connected to first rod shaft 130 and first rod shaft end 131, page 3, figures 1 and 2) and the second motor shaft is connected rotationally fixed by way of a second torque sensor (the load sensor 140 of the right rod unit 100’, figures 1 and 2) to the second connecting shaft (the corresponding load sensor 140 connected to first rod shaft 130 and first rod shaft end 131 of the right load unit 100’, page 3, figures 1 and 2), but fails to teach the first and second connecting shafts in the form of universal joint shafts and first and second motor shafts being hollow shafts.
Klinger teaches a torsion test stand wherein a test section containing two test specimens 1 may be a universal-joint shaft which can be deflected laterally by a guide section 11, and the test section is connected at one side rigidly with a gear 5a of one reversing transmission 3a and the rotor 8 of a drive motor 9. On the other side, the test section is connected, through a measuring device 10 and a shaft 13, to a rotating piston 6 of a torque transmission coupling 2a which also rotates, and the torque transmission coupling 2a has a housing 7 that is connected to a gear 4a of the second reversing transmission 3b by means of a hollow shaft 14a, in which the shaft 13 is rotatably supported as well as the gear 4a meshes with a like gear 4b of the same reversing transmission 3b which is also connected by means of a hollow shaft 14b to the housing 7 of a second similarly rotating torque transmission coupling 2b (col. 2 line 65 – col. 3 line 29).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the connecting shafts of Choi as modified by Hell with the universal shaft and hollow connecting shafts as taught by Klinger in order to provide a more versatile and reliable test stand.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation) in view of Hell et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0230467 and further in view of Pfeiffer er al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0310162.
With respect to claim 12, Choi as modified by Hell teaches the at least a first loading motor and a second loading motor, the first and second loading motors each from a common power category (the modified invention of Choi as modified by Hell is teaches the same motor therefore having a common power category); a test stand base (test apparatus, figure 1); a first sliding carriage and a second sliding carriage (rail brackets 161 and rails 162, page 3, figure 2).
Choi as modified by Hell fails to teach a first inverter and a second inverter, the first and second inverters each from a common power category.
Pfeiffer teaches a load machine for drivetrain where variables of the dynamometer 8i are converted in the power electronics (e.g. an inverter) of the dynamometer 8i in a known manner into an electric motor current (paragraph 38).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Choi as modified by Hell and provide a corresponding inverter with the motor as taught by Pfeiffer with the motors and inverters having a common power category in order to provide a more reliable testing system.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/25/2026