Rejections Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-9, of copending Application No. (18/853,759). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of (‘759) encompasses claim 1 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2014/0137367) to Li et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Li et al. discloses a robot body (10); a driving system (See Annotated FIG. on next page) comprising a first driving wheel module (See annotated first wheel) and a second driving wheel module (See annotated second wheel) disposed along a transverse axis of the robot body (10), the transverse axis being perpendicular to a movement direction of the cleaning robot (10) (See paragraph [0017]); and a cleaning system (13) disposed on the robot body (10), including a cleaning head (14), a preset included angel being formed between the cleaning head (14) and the transverse axis (See paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Lid discloses a recovery system (11) disposed on the robot body (10), comprising a collecting part (12), the collecting part (12) being configured to collect residues on the cleaning head (14) and/or a surface to be cleaned (See paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses that the cleaning system (13) further includes an auxiliary cleaning head (15), a part of the auxiliary cleaning head (15) overlapping with the cleaning head (15) (See Annotated FIG. above).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses an outer edge of the auxiliary cleaning head (15) extends beyond an outer edge of the robot body (10) (See Annotated FIG. above).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 2, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .S. Patent Publication (2014/0137367) to Li et al. in view of U.S. Patent Publication (2021/0267428) to Scholten et al.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. is silent regarding a wet cleaning head; and the cleaning system further includes a liquid supply part configured to feed a washing liquid to the wet cleaning head. However, Scholten et al. teaches a vacuum cleaner (810) includes a liquid supply part (12) that is configured to a feed a washing liquid to the inlet. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Li et al. with Scholten et al. to include a liquid supply part (12) in order to clean difficult surfaces.
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. is silent regarding that the auxiliary cleaning head (15) comprises a wet auxiliary cleaning head; and the cleaning system (11) further includes a liquid supply part configured to feed a washing liquid to the wet auxiliary cleaning head. However, Scholten et al. teaches a vacuum cleaner (810) includes a liquid supply part (12) that is configured to a feed a washing liquid to the inlet. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Li et al. with Scholten et al. to include a liquid supply part (12) in order to clean difficult surfaces.
Regarding claim 15, Li et al. is silent regarding a detection system disposed on the robot body, at least part of the detection system extending from an outer edge of the robot body. However, Scholten et al. teaches a vacuum cleaner (810) that includes a liquid detection system (898). The liquid detection system (898) is useful with determining amount of liquid in the container. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Li et al. with Scholten et al. to include a liquid detection system (898) in addition to the liquid supply part (12) in order to clean difficult surfaces (See FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 16, the combination the Li et al. as modified with Scholten et al teaches claim 16. In particular, Scholten et al. teaches least part of the detection system (898) is movably disposed relative to the robot body (10) (See FIG. 13).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723